Young the Giant Mind Over Matter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Green Baron
January 22nd 2014



17607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

anyways Davey, when I first heard "It's About Time", I thought it was a Cage the Elephant song. Mainly because "Come a Little Closer" is now Cage's biggest hit ever and radio plays the crap out of it

Digging: Rise Against - The Black Market

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yeah, pairing 'Firelight' & 'Camera' together is just strange... Even though I like the latter. As I mentioned in the review, both of their LPs have been front-loaded with the singles & I think that leads to some late-album flow issues.

Just on cage the Elephant, I was surprised how much I liked their most recent album.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2014



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Classic DaveyBoy rec'd by reviewer section

I liked the first one a lot, excited for this.

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I could have thrown a few more bands in, but I figured 10 other albums are enough. Still unsure why other reviewers don't use this section to help readers out with what a band/album sounds similar to.

skoopy48
January 22nd 2014



1425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Melophobia was awesome, I did think that the production had too much distortion though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I agree, but - for better or worse - I guess they are a distortion type of band.

Waior
January 23rd 2014



11425 Comments


their self titled i still enjoy the crap out of

i am excited to hear this, really! nice review, davey

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Holy Waior sighting. Hope you've been well Mr. McAlpine. I thought this band may have ended your hibernation. Definitely keen to know what you think of this. It's not exactly the same style as their earlier stuff.

Green Baron
January 23rd 2014



17607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cage's debut will always be their best - Rest for the Wicked, Back Against the Wall, Back Stabbing Betty, In One Ear all great tracks

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I have their debut & newie about equal. Lord knows what happened with their middle album; Drugs, probably.

Green Baron
January 23rd 2014



17607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shake Me Down is still a great song, regardless of the album that spawned it

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Meh, I prefer 'Aberdeen'.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

... & still is.

Actually, I always find it interesting with January releases, whether or not they demand you coming back to them later on in the year.

toxin.
January 24th 2014



11984 Comments


welcome back davey! missed you homie

i need to check this out, it's always cool to see a hometown band getting widespread recognition!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks toxin. I'm always lurking, even if I'm not reviewing.

AlexTM510
January 26th 2014



1398 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this album didnt grab me like the first one did on the first listen, but the more listens the more i enjoy this. And Sameer's improved vocals are certainly nice to delve into.

Solid review

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks Alex. And yeah, I think a lot of people will feel the same way as you do about this album.

loveisamixtape
January 29th 2014



5901 Comments


soundcloud song is fuckin awesome

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

It's the best song here, although there are a couple close behind.

Green Baron
January 29th 2014



17607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd have Crystallized is my favorite, then t/t and It's About Time close behind.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy