Young the Giant Mind Over Matter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
infinitetcetera
January 21st 2014


38 Comments


Only one minor qualm: first paragraph, the phrase "rubbing soldiers"; did you mean "rubbing shoulders"?

Otherwise, awesome review. You hit on my favorite points, YtG's excellent rhythm section and Sameer's vocals. Looking forward to hearing this.

Funeralopolis
January 21st 2014


12761 Comments


this sounds good so far

Digging: Radiohead - Kid A

Green Baron
January 21st 2014


21727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Crystallized is so good

kmace
January 21st 2014


161 Comments


Just listened for the first time. Overall thought it was pretty good but lacked any song that was as immediately catchy as Cough Syrup. Definitely much more cohesive and I didn't think there were any terrible tracks unlike a few from their debut. Awesome review Davey!

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2014


1718 Comments


"accessible indie-rock style"

I'm out.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


21956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"Only one minor qualm: first paragraph, the phrase "rubbing soldiers""



Officially cannot believe that I wrote that. In fact, I'm gonna blame spell-check or something. I can assure everyone that I knew the phrase was rubbing shoulders... Because rubbing soldiers, well, that could mean anything... LOL. Thanks for the pickup infinitetcetera.

Digging: Westkust - Last Forever

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


21956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks Trey. You're my not-so-local IT expert.... And God knows, I need one.



Way too long cyg... Now if I can only get that 'Best of 2013' list of mine up!



Thanks RadicalEd. I don't think this album will win over many of the haters of their self-titled, but I think they will see that they tried to improve on their deficiencies.



No probs Henry. Like I said in an earlier comment, 'Anagram' has been the real grower for me. It may not have initially caught my notice due to it preceding the 3 singles.



Thanks again infinitetcetera. I absolutely love the way the bass is mixed on both of their albums. I have mixed feelings on the vocals. The guy is obviously very talented & has an excellent range, but I just hope he doesn't become a (for want of a better term) jack of all trades & master of none. There's still some work to be done imo.



You're spot on kmace. There are not as many highlights here as on their self-titled, but it's more consistent & cohesive. If there is any filler, it's more a by-product of the album being slightly overlong, resulting in a little redundancy.

zakalwe
January 21st 2014


11319 Comments


I'm looking at that cover thinking that bird has an unfortunate facial growth, is tangling with the mother of all mussels, being amorous with a baby manatee or is plain and simply gone in for a shit hair cut.
Anyway intriguing stuff.

Digging: The Wake - Here Comes Everybody

Green Baron
January 21st 2014


21727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i see a girl making out with a bird

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


10482 Comments


First review in over 5 months! Can you feel the rust?

Nah man, only thing I can feel is an overwhelming urge to finally check these guys out.

TooLateToGoBack
January 21st 2014


1836 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great writing as always, Davey.



I didn't mind nor hate their debut as much as Pitchfork, but it was definitely pretty lackluster -- thankfully this sounds much improved (especially "Crystallized", so I'll check it out.



Oh, and when's the "Best of 2013 list by Davey" coming out?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


21956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I thought that was Skrillex on the cover!



Give both their albums a go Omaha. They're a tricky band to predict whether someone will like them or not, because they tend to cause indifference. But I'm certain you'll like them to some extent.



Thanks TLTGB. List has been ordered & written for a while, I just need to edit & stuff. Then this review got in the way. Tonight an Arcade Fire (with support from Diplo... WTF) concert gets in the way. So it should be up later this week.

JWT155
January 21st 2014


10527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review Davey. I've seen Young the Giant a handful of times, would consider them more of an alternative rock band then indie rock.

Green Baron
January 21st 2014


21727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what JTW said. More harder than your average poppy indie band

PostMesmeric
January 21st 2014


454 Comments


I'm interested in this because I really liked their first album. "It's About Time" sounded so much heavier than their self-titled album, so I'm certainly curious.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


21956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

As Sputnik used to attest, I think a band can be both alt & indie. They've definitely got a bit of both imo.



What are they like live JWT?



'It's About Time' is indeed the heaviest thing here, but there's 2 or 3 other tracks that follow the template.

silentstar
January 21st 2014


2346 Comments


the title track is so tasty

also, it's so nice to see you again, Davey!! I was actually thinking in the car earlier whether you still like Emery as much as you did when you wrote that mammoth of a review for ISSWS

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


21956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Of course I do. Which reminds me, they're due another album this year.

Cygnatti
January 21st 2014


25073 Comments


I dug their earlier stuff. maybe I'll dig this one too.

Digging: Carly Rae Jepsen - E MO TION

Green Baron
January 21st 2014


21727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cyg I thought you would hate this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy