Alcest Shelter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PunchforPunch
January 19th 2014


6277 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

http://bortysworld.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/modern-amusement-cardigan-21.jpg

Tyrael
January 19th 2014


21005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'But like many of the tracks like this album it simply passes by like a breeze, with every breeze feeling like the last aside from the occasional invigorating gust of wind.'



I disagree but very well written review noctus, one of your best



Crysis
Emeritus
January 19th 2014


17090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

aside from a few moments that fly by so quickly you can barely grasp them, Shelter almost entirely abandons the idea of seemingly opposing moods to create an entirely new atmosphere




More or less sums up my feelings about this record

SadAndHolyGlow
January 19th 2014


1607 Comments


Awesome review. You raised some good points. Though I haven't heard it yet, a lot of what you said exactly matches my thoughts on Alcest as a whole.

Digging: How to Dress Well - Care

Apollo
January 19th 2014


10667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was waiting for a noctus review of this...

Alastor
January 19th 2014


1473 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The first Alcest record to do absolutely nothing for me. Really good review.

Digging: Horn - Naturkraft

Lambda
January 19th 2014


2652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Very good review. I agree that Voix Sereines and Delivrance are the best tracks here. That vocal melody on Delivrance which first appears around the 4 minute mark is absolutely incredible.

minty901
January 19th 2014


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

interested in what you'd think of the new there will be fireworks album, noctus.

zaruyache
January 19th 2014


13843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

You liked the last song, Noctus? I thought the last half was sort of aggravating--it's basically just the same vocal melody over and over. As an individual piece it can be a good song, but it burned me out after only a few listens.

Digging: Imbaru - Vigias

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 19th 2014


53503 Comments


the cover is a lens flare creating the star trek logo?

Does this guy love j.j. abrams or something

DarkNoctus
January 19th 2014


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

You liked the last song, Noctus? I thought the last half was sort of aggravating--it's basically just the same vocal melody over and over. As an individual piece it can be a good song, but it burned me out after only a few listens.




but that melody is sooo gorgeoussss

Digging: Insomnium - Winter's Gate

Mewcopa0
January 19th 2014


1874 Comments


This album really wasn't as colourful as I expected, but it's another good addition to my hangover music.

zaruyache
January 19th 2014


13843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It *is* gorgeous, but when that's the only thing it has to offer...

DarkNoctus
January 20th 2014


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i still love it [:

Wizard
January 20th 2014


20045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is easily one of the best reviews you've written Noctus. Your ideas are focused and it's why I take your harsh criticisms seriously. The only thing I don't agree on is 'Deliverance' being one of his best pieces of music. Too long, too boring, yadda yadda yadda. I'm done giving this album attention.

Digging: Neurosis - Fires Within Fires

Dr7
January 20th 2014


180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, although a 2.5 seems harsh.



I particularly enjoyed your descriptions for Les Voyages de L'Ame. It doesn't seem to be as well-loved as it should be.

Tyrael
January 20th 2014


21005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

BigPleb
January 20th 2014


47327 Comments


Interesting array of ratings here.

Digging: Every Time I Die - Low Teens

osmark86
January 20th 2014


5332 Comments


indeed, makes me all the more curious if anything

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Skeleton Tree

feanaro
February 2nd 2014


1052 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty much completely spot on, though I don't really think voix sereines or delivrance are that

special.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy