Alcest Shelter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Evreaia
January 19th 2014


4045 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

1 really good song, 1 good song, 5 boring songs, 1 bad song.

Yup, a 2.5 sounds about right.

PunchforPunch
January 19th 2014


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

http://bortysworld.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/modern-amusement-cardigan-21.jpg

Tyrael
January 19th 2014


20901 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'But like many of the tracks like this album it simply passes by like a breeze, with every breeze feeling like the last aside from the occasional invigorating gust of wind.'

I disagree but very well written review noctus, one of your best


Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2014


16440 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

aside from a few moments that fly by so quickly you can barely grasp them, Shelter almost entirely abandons the idea of seemingly opposing moods to create an entirely new atmosphere


More or less sums up my feelings about this record

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

SadAndHolyGlow
January 19th 2014


1526 Comments


Awesome review. You raised some good points. Though I haven't heard it yet, a lot of what you said exactly matches my thoughts on Alcest as a whole.

Digging: Envy - A Dead Sinking Story

Apollo
January 19th 2014


10336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was waiting for a noctus review of this...

Alastor
January 19th 2014


295 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The first Alcest record to do absolutely nothing for me. Really good review.

Lambda
January 19th 2014


2455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Very good review. I agree that Voix Sereines and Delivrance are the best tracks here. That vocal melody on Delivrance which first appears around the 4 minute mark is absolutely incredible.

minty901
January 19th 2014


2073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

interested in what you'd think of the new there will be fireworks album, noctus.

zaruyache
January 19th 2014


6926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

You liked the last song, Noctus? I thought the last half was sort of aggravating--it's basically just the same vocal melody over and over. As an individual piece it can be a good song, but it burned me out after only a few listens.

Digging: Ardour Loom - Demo

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 19th 2014


50597 Comments


the cover is a lens flare creating the star trek logo?

Does this guy love j.j. abrams or something

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 19th 2014


8899 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

You liked the last song, Noctus? I thought the last half was sort of aggravating--it's basically just the same vocal melody over and over. As an individual piece it can be a good song, but it burned me out after only a few listens.


but that melody is sooo gorgeoussss

Mewcopa0
January 19th 2014


1800 Comments


This album really wasn't as colourful as I expected, but it's another good addition to my hangover music.

zaruyache
January 19th 2014


6926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It *is* gorgeous, but when that's the only thing it has to offer...

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2014


8899 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i still love it [:

Wizard
January 20th 2014


19524 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is easily one of the best reviews you've written Noctus. Your ideas are focused and it's why I take your harsh criticisms seriously. The only thing I don't agree on is 'Deliverance' being one of his best pieces of music. Too long, too boring, yadda yadda yadda. I'm done giving this album attention.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Dr7
January 20th 2014


119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, although a 2.5 seems harsh.

I particularly enjoyed your descriptions for Les Voyages de L'Ame. It doesn't seem to be as well-loved as it should be.

Tyrael
January 20th 2014


20901 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

BigPleb
January 20th 2014


37247 Comments


Interesting array of ratings here.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

osmark86
January 20th 2014


4424 Comments


indeed, makes me all the more curious if anything

Digging: Falls of Rauros - Believe in No Coming Shore



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy