Alcest Shelter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
January 7th 2014



44164 Comments


And what is rule #1? That's right, never trust a guy with a ponytail.

PunchforPunch
January 7th 2014



6225 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is black pop right

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not black at all. it's a straight up dream pop record.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You can trust Noctus's musical opinion about as much as a guy with a ponytail.


I used to have ponytail....

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

key word, used to. we all make mistakes.

TheBarber
January 7th 2014



1834 Comments


cover is alright. and yep my comment was pointed towards the singles (sorry i forgot to mention it) and I dunno they were just massive letdowns and no I didn't try to save time and gave them more listens and it just ended up feeling stale to me

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I felt that way about their last album and was hoping from the start that they would move more towards this direction. But I can understand that if you want more of the low key melancholy.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd still like the bm to make some appearance.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



21788 Comments


can I enjoy this if I wasn't particularly into their other stuff? I'm not much of a bm fan

Digging: Gesaffelstein - Aleph

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



21788 Comments


cover reminds me of the cover for katy perry's last album

bach
January 7th 2014



12331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no bm in this at all

Digging: Orange - Orange

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



21788 Comments


ok I listened to a bit of Délivrance and it seemed tentatively promising so I'll give this a go

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



8780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i was hoping for something that wasn't quite this restrained, it's like he sucked the energy out of these songs because he didn't want anyone to call it metal

when you watch live recordings of opale and délivrance they're fucking huge and quite frankly fantastic but they just don't translate to a studio recording whatsoever

not to mention the drums suck - winterhalter is fine when he's doing blasts but as soon as he has to do anything with more subtlety he just sounds so wooden.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't agree with a single word of that. I don't think it sounds restrained at all. To me it does
sound huge. The music, and the entire mood there-of, is massive. For the style that it is and with
what he is trying to accomplish it surprised me by actually demanding my attention and how it didn't
just float by as background music which is my problem with a lot of the newer shoegaze/dream pop
bands (as well as the last Alcest record). I think the intensity is still there in how it goes from
subtlety to bombast in a very natural fashion instead of it being like, say, a Russian Circles song
where they only have stark contrast and nothing else.

But take that as a grain of salt because I don't think I've ever agreed with you on anything.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



8780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i just don't hear it, sorry. to me it just sounds limp and it doesn't reach the intensity, size or emotional power of the live recordings that preceded it. well written review though, it clearly means something very personal to you and that's awesome.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



8780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

will say this though - i do u-turns on music a lot. really hoping i do it with this!

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2014



16310 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I thought this sucked pretty hard (surprise surprise) but to me it felt like the entire record sounded
the same. It's one mood, little movement in large quantities. If there was at least some sort of
emotional variation it would be miles better.

inb4 crysis you can't shoegaze

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

titanslayer
January 7th 2014



1597 Comments


This sounds interesting

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think for me this came a long at the right time. I've been massively into a lot of Ride, Cocteau
Twins, Nothing, Slowdive and Spiritualized and less and less into metal as of late. I didn't approach
this at all as a metal record or even from the standpoint that they used to be a metal band when
listening to it. I kept myself in the same mindset as if I was listening to just another
shoegaze/dream pop record and it hit all the points I was looking for on the first listen. Especially
in the production and the layers since I've basically geared my entire rig to the style and I found
myself enamored by it in dissecting and parsing out every aspect of the record. So there is some
massive bias in my appreciation of it.

Hawks
January 7th 2014



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gotta listen.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy