Burial Untrue
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jefflebowski
January 16th 2014


8257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review, but am i the only one who finds quoting song lyrics as review summaries is kinda hackneyed?

PunchforPunch
January 16th 2014


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YEA IT'S "God can you whisper in her ear?" JACOB NOT GOD PLEASE HURRY HURR DURR

ShitsofRain
January 16th 2014


5956 Comments


oops

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@ Jeff, I think that has more to do with what the purposes of summaries is. Most would say it's to give a brief glimpse
into what the review is about, but to be honest with you, i don't like that- i prefer the pleasant, and possibly
disillusioned, thought that people will get the message of my review from reading the damned thing.

so in that light you're right that it's a cop-out of sorts, but since the formatting of the site begs for summaries (srsly,
it will kill any sense of grammar your first sentence has if that shit shows up on the front page and your review lacks
a summary,) i find it necessary to at least put something that's meaningful to me. and more often than not lyrics
paint an important picture for an album's context

with this record, that quote i listed - maybe i got the exact words wrong but i'd argue the specifics don't matter
toooo much - shows what this record is about. it works off the emotions of the quote, and of the moment of the
album from which it stems

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

that post fuckin' kills my eyes, sry

jefflebowski
January 16th 2014


8257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

when you put it like that it makes more sense, thanks for the explanation

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2014


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ Jeff, I think that has more to do with what the purposes of summaries is. Most would say it's to give a brief glimpse
into what the review is about, but to be honest with you, i don't like that- i prefer the pleasant, and possibly
disillusioned, thought that people will get the message of my review from reading the damned thing.

That's why usually I don't bother with them at all.

aok
January 17th 2014


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

heyman awesome review. i know you get bashed on here and in mezz or whatever a lot and we disagree about lots of things but this was incredibly well written and i find myself rethinking your statement that we do in fact agree more than we think

aok
January 17th 2014


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

except my perfect unbiased opinion is that this is a 5 and you're so wrong for disagreeing with me

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hahahaha thanks a ton dude! I'm glad you're willing to reevaluate =]

and this is one of those records that very well could be a 5 in enough time. I just know I'll have a moment where I'm listening to it and it hits me even harder, so I guess I'm waiting out for that.

Gwyn.
January 18th 2014


15321 Comments


I remember when you used to have this at a 3 or smth

ENLIGHTENMENT HITS US ALL SOONER OR LATER


(And good review ;] )

ShitsofRain
January 18th 2014


5956 Comments


review clubroot's debut next pls

thisisivy
January 21st 2014


113 Comments


kind of new to Burial. Is there possibly a better place to start than Untrue?

aok
January 21st 2014


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

KINDRED =]

treeqt.
January 21st 2014


11565 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

is ass

Digging: Zhu Xiao-Mei - Scarlatti: Piano Sonatas

Cygnatti
January 21st 2014


22293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the good kind tho

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Rival Dealer is a good introduction to Burial if you want to get hooked from the get-go

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well I was put off by a lot of his music until I heard Rival. it def can inspire some people to check out his other works, but Kindred is a great start too. It depends on how much of this kind of music the listener has heard

thisisivy
January 21st 2014


113 Comments


I can safely say I have not delved into this type of music much, if any. But I'm willing to give anything a try.

thisisivy
January 21st 2014


113 Comments


haha I started listening to Untrue last night and some of it put me off a little so I'm hoping I can find a good starting point that will warm me up to some of it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy