Hammock Oblivion Hymns
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
droueche0059
November 27th 2013



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Musically this sounds similar to material in Kinetic and Stranded Under Endless Sky, but this time around it just feels more mature and fleshed out. Choral bits show up twice, and are spot on and more clearly pronounced than in previous albums. The bonus tracks are excellent too - "Sleep" sounds like the spiritual successor to "In the Nothing of a Night".
The highlight of this album for me is "Hope Becomes a Loss" - 8-ish minutes of a truly glorious wall of orchestral sound. The last few minutes are heaven.
This one probably won't change your mind on Hammock, but to someone who's been listening since Kenotic, this is one of their finest.
4.5

Edit: review is a bit sappy, but honestly, if I was going to try to describe what it does to my ears it would be similar. I tend to get a very "deep south" feel to Hammock's music - I feel like I'm looking over the remains of an old farm, with rusting equipment and dilapidated buildings in sight, nature overrunning everything. Beautiful and a sad, but it's just life. Life maaaaaaaaaaan.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2013



3163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is what I imagined when I first listened to the record. I was reluctant to include it in the review, but then I thought what the hell, it's my opinion and my view. Any other scenarios are okay since anyone associates the music with different backgrounds.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

aircycle
November 28th 2013



661 Comments


someone gimme an album ranking i'm curious

i've only heard raising your voice... and departure songs

Amphoteric
November 28th 2013



1058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listen to Raising Your Voice... Trying to Stop an Echo, it's probably their best.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2013



3163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What Amphoteric said, plus Departure Songs.

JS19
November 28th 2013



3653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bump it everyone

Digging: The Dillinger Escape Plan - Calculating Infinity

minty901
November 28th 2013



1915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

maybe they will sing for us tomorrow >>> all

Drummerboy123
November 28th 2013



2172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"maybe they will sing for us tomorrow >>> all" [2]

Seriously, the title track is one of the best ambient songs I've ever heard.

RadicalEd
November 28th 2013



2438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is considerably better than departure songs. Less bloated, no filler tracks. And I don't see how this is more cheesy than any of their other stuff.

JS19
November 28th 2013



3653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this is probably a solid 4-4.5 for most people. I only ever bump to 5 if I really connect with something.

Plus the video for I Could Hear The Water is amazing as usual....

http://vimeo.com/79524279

Amphoteric
November 28th 2013



1058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will probably end up bumping it up to a 4.5, I Could Hear the Water at the Edge of All Things and Hope Becomes a Loss are so good.

AdolfChrist
November 29th 2013



1404 Comments


this is so fucking good. Tres Domine sucks on its own but its a perfect closer after hearing the whole thing.

Adabelle
November 29th 2013



4170 Comments


Top album on sput for 2013, interesting

JS19
November 29th 2013



3653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It only came out a couple days ago though

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2013



5923 Comments


yeah it'll stay like that until more non hammock stans listen to it

JS19
November 29th 2013



3653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nothing wrong with Hammock stans dude, we just like our feels

CK
November 29th 2013



4551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Personal ranking:
Chasing > Kenotic > Departure Songs > Maybe They Will Sing > Raising your Voice > This (might change, it's pretty early for this album)

Order you should listen to them is the order they were released

JS19
November 29th 2013



3653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thought you might like this a tiny bit better than that dude, but it's early yet.

Oh and they're making The Sleepover Series Pt 2 right now... Thought you might be interested

zaruyache
November 30th 2013



4847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is like woah so pretty. Gotta tie an anchor to my feet so I won't float away on a dream.

Digging: Paramnesia - Paramnesia

CK
November 30th 2013



4551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ik I'm sooooooooooooooooooooooooo damn happy. And yeah it's strange, these guys are my favorite band, but each time they release a record it takes like a month for it to grow on me. Departure Songs was last when it came out too, same with Chasing After Shadows



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy