Death Grips Government Plates
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ticsand
November 16th 2013


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I absolutely understand people who just don't like DG. I also understand why someone might not like this album if compared to TMS. If you want to believe what the band said in an interview, the sounds and structure on NLDW and GP are what they wanted DG to be. They are sure proud of TMS but I guess for them it was/is just too likeable, to easy. Just a thought.

But "Its other major defect is that many tracks attempt to pack too much into an intensely terse runtime, changing quickly from one theme to the next, leaving many an idea unexcavated and unadorned"....I would argue this is not due to a lack of musicianship, skill or whatever. Many of the sounds and structures on DG's new album remind me of Oneohtrix Point Never. The final track sounds like DG's R+7 to me.

Yes, I am aware that this may not be true for everyone. But for me, it is. I really enjoy this album.

(side-note: I think Birds perfectly fits the album. It makes even more sense than it did without the album surrounding it.)

Kman418
November 16th 2013


11340 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

what sucks is the first 3 tracks go so fucking HARRDDDDDD but after that its just like ehhh

Digging: Xiu Xiu - Fabulous Muscles

Gwyn.
November 16th 2013


15323 Comments


I only got 5 (6? iunno) tracks before turning it off but shit felt more like a really fucking long intro to something

just a lot of random shit

I mean it don't matter what I think of tms at least the songs felt like songs

Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2013


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

"I would argue this is not due to a lack of musicianship, skill or whatever. Many of the sounds and structures on DG's new album remind me of Oneohtrix Point Never. The final track sounds like DG's R+7 to me."

I'm not saying its a lack of musicianship or anything; I was moreso trying to say that I hoped that they'd flesh things out a bit more, like how they did on the closer. Instead of having 11 three minute songs with a few filler tracks it would have been better to just make 5 songs like "Whatever I Want," where they take the time to figure everything out rather than jump quickly from idea to idea.

Also agreed Kman the first three tracks are awesome. I also like "Big House" a lot though, and the closer is pretty tight too.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2013


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Also thanks for the love everybody!

Decay
November 16th 2013


685 Comments


I prefer the money store, but this is good.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013


21817 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this sucks copious amounts of ass


good review tho

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

ticsand
November 16th 2013


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I'm not saying its a lack of musicianship or anything; I was moreso trying to say that I hoped that they'd flesh things out a
bit more, like how they did on the closer."

I can understand how some people might feel that. Then this is maybe just not your DG-Album.
The things you don't like about it make it interesting/different for me. To me this album sounds more "nervous" than any
of their previous releases. And I really like that!

I think some people may also not like this album because, compared to others, MC Ride is just not that present on GP.

(Btw: except for the part I quoted: splendid review! a good read!)

Phlegm
November 16th 2013


5594 Comments


love it but the first half definitely rules over the second i m o

Digging: Raresh - Fabric 78

ScuroFantasma
November 16th 2013


2535 Comments


great review

Digging: Kyuss - Blues for the Red Sun

ConscienceAC
November 16th 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah if the second half went as good as the first i'd be a happy camper

those fucking cheesy synths especially destroyed everything and just made me laugh at how horrid they were, especially on the last track and big house

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2013


3543 Comments


holy crap this is a fantastic review

Digging: Nicki Minaj - The Pinkprint

MalleusMaleficarum
November 16th 2013


14396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


"idk how they made the money store but then everything else they put out is like 3 verging on 3.5 material"


well obviously its because you can only handle the studio glossed up version of dg cuz ur a bitch???????

XingKing
November 16th 2013


11078 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"Zach Hill and Flatlander kept the album’s vertebral column erect"

I see what you did there hehehehehehehehehehehehe

Gyromania
November 16th 2013


16089 Comments


very good review, but this album blows

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013


22059 Comments


starting to think the money store was a fluke

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

ILJ
November 16th 2013


6741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i really dig the experimentation and disjointedness of this album, but I feel like it could have been executed a hell of a lot better. for once, i think the short time between album releases actually affected the quality of the product. it feels too haphazard and rushed.

that said, i still dig it.

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

MalleusMaleficarum
November 16th 2013


14396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol fish

Simsalabim462
November 16th 2013


159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This album is EXACTLY what I needed to balance my Death Grips discog shuffle!

MO
November 16th 2013


19078 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

poop



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy