Death Grips Government Plates
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
November 16th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

"I would argue this is not due to a lack of musicianship, skill or whatever. Many of the sounds and structures on DG's new album remind me of Oneohtrix Point Never. The final track sounds like DG's R+7 to me."



I'm not saying its a lack of musicianship or anything; I was moreso trying to say that I hoped that they'd flesh things out a bit more, like how they did on the closer. Instead of having 11 three minute songs with a few filler tracks it would have been better to just make 5 songs like "Whatever I Want," where they take the time to figure everything out rather than jump quickly from idea to idea.



Also agreed Kman the first three tracks are awesome. I also like "Big House" a lot though, and the closer is pretty tight too.

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
November 16th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Also thanks for the love everybody!

Decay
November 16th 2013


685 Comments


I prefer the money store, but this is good.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013


24105 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this sucks copious amounts of ass





good review tho

ticsand
November 16th 2013


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I'm not saying its a lack of musicianship or anything; I was moreso trying to say that I hoped that they'd flesh things out a

bit more, like how they did on the closer."



I can understand how some people might feel that. Then this is maybe just not your DG-Album.

The things you don't like about it make it interesting/different for me. To me this album sounds more "nervous" than any

of their previous releases. And I really like that!



I think some people may also not like this album because, compared to others, MC Ride is just not that present on GP.



(Btw: except for the part I quoted: splendid review! a good read!)

Phlegm
November 16th 2013


7202 Comments


love it but the first half definitely rules over the second i m o

ScuroFantasma
November 16th 2013


8245 Comments


great review

Digging: Shining (SWE) - Redefining Darkness

ConscienceAC
November 16th 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah if the second half went as good as the first i'd be a happy camper



those fucking cheesy synths especially destroyed everything and just made me laugh at how horrid they were, especially on the last track and big house

Brostep
Emeritus
November 16th 2013


4255 Comments


holy crap this is a fantastic review

MalleusMaleficarum
November 16th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5



"idk how they made the money store but then everything else they put out is like 3 verging on 3.5 material"





well obviously its because you can only handle the studio glossed up version of dg cuz ur a bitch???????

XingKing
November 16th 2013


11966 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"Zach Hill and Flatlander kept the album’s vertebral column erect"



I see what you did there hehehehehehehehehehehehe

Gyromania
November 16th 2013


21275 Comments


very good review, but this album blows

anarchistfish
November 16th 2013


25501 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

starting to think the money store was a fluke

Digging: $uicideboy$ and Getter - Radical $uicide

ILJ
November 16th 2013


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i really dig the experimentation and disjointedness of this album, but I feel like it could have been executed a hell of a lot better. for once, i think the short time between album releases actually affected the quality of the product. it feels too haphazard and rushed.



that said, i still dig it.

MalleusMaleficarum
November 16th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol fish

Simsalabim462
November 16th 2013


181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This album is EXACTLY what I needed to balance my Death Grips discog shuffle!

MO
November 16th 2013


21188 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

poop

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013


53983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"starting to think the money store was a fluke"



No Love Deep Web is just as good

Digging: Old Gray - Slow Burn

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
November 16th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

i even like exmilitary too tbh, although everything is between a 3.3 and a 3.7 for me i think. this is

on the low end of that scale and tms is at the top. the other two fit in the middle somewhere.



dg is pretty consistently good i think, but not like amazing =/

Thane
November 16th 2013


2267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is it true that the thing in feels like a wheel is a sample of unwound - we invent you? it really sounds like it. would rule ass.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy