Moderat II
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
songsforthedeaf
November 16th 2013


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review Jacob. As much as I love pop, I wish Moderat hadn't made the effort to make this a more accessible poppy album. In doing so I think they have lost some of their inventiveness.



Happy Birthday is one of my best albums I can think of that is, to steal a word of you, totally schizophrenic, with no overall soundscape or theme. Moderat I was pitched at the perfect level between accessible danceability and freedom of ideas, but this goes too poppy for me. I want to see what these guys can come up with when they push themselves sonically - not force themselves to make a pop record.



So, despite rating this a 4, im kinda disappointed with it.

clercqie
November 16th 2013


6515 Comments


Terrific review

Typhoner
November 16th 2013


920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Happy Birthday is one of my best albums I can think of that is, to steal a word of you, totally schizophrenic, with no overall soundscape or theme. Moderat I was pitched at the perfect level between accessible danceability and freedom of ideas




Kinda agree, except that I think Happy Birthday! is a bit too long and basically inconsistent in quality. (With the first Moderat album being almost as diverse, but just better.)

scissorlocked
November 16th 2013


3517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review Jacob





mindleviticus
November 16th 2013


8467 Comments


yawn snore

good review though, jacob

FourthReich
November 16th 2013


19511 Comments


i really don't want to listen to this, but you make it sound so good

Digging: Cities Aviv - Your Discretion Is Trust

ronburgandy
November 17th 2013


271 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bad Kingdom and Milk are great

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2013


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Thanks a ton, guys. This is a very interesting album to me, and I wanted to help explain that a little.



Alex, I definitely think this has the capacity to grow on you. Did you did get much out of the deeper cuts here, like "Milk" or "Therapy"? If not, I suppose it may not be your thing.

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 17th 2013


5355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not sure why this gets hated on so hard

Digging: Nicolas Jaar - NYMPHS II

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2013


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

never see it being hated on, but a fair bit of people think it's a bit boring. and i can see that for sure, because i was quite turned off from this on the first listen

livingisland
December 15th 2013


527 Comments


Great review man. I might check it out although I barely remember the first one

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2013


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

thanks bud =] think this is more memorable, as it's more rooted in pop this time around. but if nothing else check out Milk, it is just incredible

KILL
December 15th 2013


73775 Comments


check the rolling stones dudes

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Let the Light In and Therapy, man. Fuckin' kill me

Emyay
March 10th 2014


6146 Comments


thought my tracklist on my ipod was fucked with the album starting with an interlude. it appears its all good tho

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2014


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

this is so good!

zakalwe
July 31st 2014


10689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has taken longer than it should have to really hit home but it's fuckin amazing.

Digging: David Crosby - If I Could Only Remember My Name

dcalderon
September 25th 2014


338 Comments


Whut, where is this hated?

frigyourgenre
October 24th 2014


1974 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its tight

NorthernSkylark
October 29th 2014


6535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're a cow



gimme milk

Digging: Matt Elliott - Drinking Songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy