Moderat II
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
songsforthedeaf
November 16th 2013



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review Jacob. As much as I love pop, I wish Moderat hadn't made the effort to make this a more accessible poppy album. In doing so I think they have lost some of their inventiveness.

Happy Birthday is one of my best albums I can think of that is, to steal a word of you, totally schizophrenic, with no overall soundscape or theme. Moderat I was pitched at the perfect level between accessible danceability and freedom of ideas, but this goes too poppy for me. I want to see what these guys can come up with when they push themselves sonically - not force themselves to make a pop record.

So, despite rating this a 4, im kinda disappointed with it.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2013



6369 Comments


Terrific review

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

Typhoner
November 16th 2013



808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Happy Birthday is one of my best albums I can think of that is, to steal a word of you, totally schizophrenic, with no overall soundscape or theme. Moderat I was pitched at the perfect level between accessible danceability and freedom of ideas


Kinda agree, except that I think Happy Birthday! is a bit too long and basically inconsistent in quality. (With the first Moderat album being almost as diverse, but just better.)

scissorlocked
November 16th 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review Jacob



Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

mindleviticus
November 16th 2013



8171 Comments


yawn snore

good review though, jacob

FourthReich
November 16th 2013



17071 Comments


i really don't want to listen to this, but you make it sound so good

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)

ronburgandy
November 17th 2013



249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bad Kingdom and Milk are great

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2013



10012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Thanks a ton, guys. This is a very interesting album to me, and I wanted to help explain that a little.

Alex, I definitely think this has the capacity to grow on you. Did you did get much out of the deeper cuts here, like "Milk" or "Therapy"? If not, I suppose it may not be your thing.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 17th 2013



5194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not sure why this gets hated on so hard

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2013



10012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

never see it being hated on, but a fair bit of people think it's a bit boring. and i can see that for sure, because i was quite turned off from this on the first listen

livingisland
December 15th 2013



524 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review man. I might check it out although I barely remember the first one

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2013



10012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

thanks bud =] think this is more memorable, as it's more rooted in pop this time around. but if nothing else check out Milk, it is just incredible

KILL
December 15th 2013



70718 Comments


check the rolling stones dudes

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014



10012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Let the Light In and Therapy, man. Fuckin' kill me

Emyay
March 10th 2014



5804 Comments


thought my tracklist on my ipod was fucked with the album starting with an interlude. it appears its all good tho

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2014



10012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

this is so good!

zakalwe
July 31st 2014



6745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has taken longer than it should have to really hit home but it's fuckin amazing.

Digging: Bob Mould - Beauty & Ruin



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy