Psyclon Nine [Order of the Shadow: Act I]
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2013



8318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuckin' magnus m/

will read and listen just for you
Thanks brother m/

@Necro
If you like the band this shouldn't disappoint (I'm still disappointed that Acanthus doesn't like it, being a modest fan, but oh well).

Gwyn.
November 15th 2013



14896 Comments


It's all written here my friend. In other words, he hasn't ruled out adding an EP like thing to this in the future, but as far as writing full albums with new ideas go, Psyclon Nine will be done for.


I see. That's pretty dumb to me to be honest, if they're going to call it Act I an Act II shouldn't be just a "maybe"

Then again, we live in a world where a series called 'Final Fantasy' is allowed to have thirty billion sequels... So w/e, lol


Nice review.

Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2013



8318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not going to argue with you on either point haha. I do agree that it would've made more sense for Nero to call it Psyclon's last work and be done with it if he knows he doesn't want to release any more full-length albums under this name. It's not like he's going to draw back from music in general (I think...) so he could just as easily release new EP-length stuff under a new name if he has any plans to do so.

AlanVext
November 15th 2013



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gloriously beautiful album - Order of the Shadow [The Heretic Awakened]
just might be the greatest industrial metal song of all time.

LifeFeedsOnLife
November 15th 2013



81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I heard they were releasing an album comprised of remixes... Perhaps that's the "Act 2" ?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2013



5921 Comments


Excellently written review, will try to listen to the album if I have the chance.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

DrGonzo1937
November 19th 2013



5226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Man, oh man, this is some stella Industrial metal! Been a long time since I heard it like this. Soo good.

Amebix
November 19th 2013



240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a very nice review for a very nice album.

DrGonzo1937
November 19th 2013



5226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Honestly, the instrumental tracks are so fucking sinister and disturbing.

Vespiion
November 19th 2013



1221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy fuck.

Digging: BADBADNOTGOOD - BBNG2

DrGonzo1937
November 20th 2013



5226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Take my hand while I take my life, Use once and destroy and Remains of Eden were instant highlights.

Seriously blown away by this album.

Vespiion
November 20th 2013



1221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I would add Suffer Well and Glamour Through Debris to that list. Hell, pretty much the whole album hit me instantly.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2013



8318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Honestly, the instrumental tracks are so fucking sinister and disturbing.
The best part is they're real. Sure, distorted and modified in the studio, but the spoken-word parts themselves are taken from real life, not from movies or anywhere.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2013



5921 Comments


2013 has not been a good year for industrial metal. Highlights have been few and far between and the only records that truly impressed me were by Mechina and The Amenta – two bands who can’t be fully defined with the "industrial" denominator

One pretty decent industrial metal album is the debut from France's Slave Machine, streaming right here:

http://www.terrorizer.com/news/streams/slave-machine-stream-new-album-disconnected-full-terrorizer/

DrGonzo1937
November 20th 2013



5226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The best part is they're real. Sure, distorted and modified in the studio, but the spoken-word parts themselves are taken from real life, not from movies or anywhere.

No way. Just shows how talented these guys are. Bittersweet that this is their last album, but what a way to go!

DrGonzo1937
November 20th 2013



5226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice find Voivod, but I wouldn't really call it Industrial. :/

MetapodUsedHarden
November 20th 2013



41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I slightly prefer We the Fallen but this still fucking slays

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



5921 Comments


@DrGonzo1937

That's why I wrote it's industrial metal, not "pure" industrial.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



10010 Comments


your first paragraph is a little repetitive in one regard:

[Order of the Shadow: Act I] will be the last full-length Psyclon Nine record according to frontman Nero Bellum.

in recent interviews Nero Bellum has clearly suggested that as far as albums go, this will be the last full-length record to grace our ears.

so if you could find a way to cut out one of those with it flowing well, that would benefit your review for sure.

It is only fitting then that this vessel is Psyclon Nine’s most well-polished and fierce work to date.

good sentence, but it doesn't exactly follow from the previous one. it seems to be founded upon the idea that a band will tend to have its release be its most polished, which sounds shaky at best. maybe you could say it would make sense for the record to be as cumulative as it sounds, if you believe that to be true. minor grievance though

The black metal that feeds Psyclon Nine’s dark industrial flames has never before been shoveled into the mix in such quantities, consequently making Order of the Shadow the band’s meanest album to date.

best sentence of this review, hot damn. love the imagery

This is no ordinary industrial metal album, but another fine musical representation of the dark arts by Psyclon Nine.

pure gold here as well

to be continued

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



10010 Comments


i]it’s from the contrastingly catchy single "Use Once And Destroy" that the album really takes off and adroitly exhibits the many sides of Psyclon Nine[/i]

this sentence shows why i don't use adverbs much. i find that they add unnecessary clutter-- here, for instance, i already understand that something catchy contrasts the dark feel of the album, y'know? and i'm not quite sure what adroitly means, which is a bit of a problem as well. you could take out these adverbs and the sentence would be much more readable, although that's personal preference

really like the end to your third paragraph. you do a particularly good job of summing up thoughts in this review.

the only records that truly impressed me were by Mechina and The Amenta

i'm not opposed to using first-person in reviews--quite the contrary-- but I do feel as if when you do use it, it should be to add something special to the review. with a sentence like this, where you could just as easily say "the only truly impressive records have been _______," i feel your point would be conveyed more strongly with the third person removed. in the last few sentences, though, the first-person does bring a lot to the table since it's about your feelings regarding the band's departure from this scene.

Nero Bellum and co

Co.*, or just 'company' if you'd like

good ending too, i can see why you enjoy this band even if i haven't heard a second of their music. as i said before, nice work man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy