Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2013



950 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Basically my exact thoughts on the subject.

Digging: How to Dress Well - What Is This Heart?

30secondstocydonia
November 1st 2013



417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're being sort of unfair with all the comparisons to 2000 Eminem. Obviously this was never going to reach the heights of the original MMLP and any of his other early works, but looking at it on its own or against other recent rap albums its pretty good.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2013



1485 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

When I think of recent rap albums, danny brown comes to mind and I think oh.. I'd rather listen to that. This has some good material on it, but a plethra of shit as well.

30secondstocydonia
November 1st 2013



417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just saying this is better than Drake, Kanye, Tyler's (and more) albums from 2013.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2013



1485 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

True but let's not forget ghostface's album and there's a couple more I can't think off of the top of my head.. I'm not heavy into rap.

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2013



950 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

If you think that I based my rating on a comparison basis with the MMLP you obviously didn't read into my review very well. My reasoning for the rating has nothing to do with my thoughts on MMLP, it has to do with the musical quality of the music. And its really, really bad.

titlefightmeirl
November 2nd 2013



659 Comments


haven't had motivation to listen to em in awhile, and even if i did, it certainly wouldn't be anything
post-eminem show

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2013



950 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, this won't sway your opinions on post-Eminem Show Marshall.

XingKing
November 2nd 2013



10011 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree with everything in your review, though I feel you rated it too low. It's definitely not deserving of all of the praise it's getting. Pos'd!

Scoot
November 2nd 2013



17675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the thing is he fucking rules on bad meets evil

so it's not like he's forgotten how to make awesome tunes, he just can't do it consistently anymore

Digging: Unjust - Glow

Scoot
November 2nd 2013



17675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you guys should check that ep and forget this if you haven't

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2013



30863 Comments


Biggest problem with just about everything post The Eminem Show is that Em has forgotten how to be thematically consistent with his beats. Listen to TMMLP - yeah, there's a few different producers on there, but it all follows the same musical narrative to a tee. Now he's just beat mining from producers normally accustomed to producing more top 40 hip hop. He's trying to be the angry guy from 10 years ago, but he's doing it over a foundation not built to support it. If this should carry the same name as another album, it should have the old crew who made it - Bass Brothers, Mel Man, The 45 King and old school Dre

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

FourthReich
November 2nd 2013



17071 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

you hip-hop?

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)

Dunpeal
November 2nd 2013



3590 Comments


on occasion

Scoot
November 2nd 2013



17675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i miss the old funky dark clean guitars, they made those songs sound so ominous

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2013



950 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@Scoot, my friend and I were just talking about that actually. It's baffling, because on Hell: The Sequel he was ace. On his
solo material its like he loses any train of rational thought though.

Dev, I was thinking the same thing. In fact, the only song that even remotely sounds similar to the production style of
MMLP is Legacy. But because its the only song that has that MMLP sound, it makes it feel like it was more of an after
thought that Eminem decided to just throw on the album.

ScuroFantasma
November 2nd 2013



1108 Comments


Good review, pos'd.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

mynameisSlimShady
November 2nd 2013



102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Though I seemed to have liked this more than you guys, I agree with the fact that the beats are hit and miss. Also, Em, please just kill rihanna already.

Rastapunk
November 2nd 2013



715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I totally disagree with most of your opinions, especially on his flow on Berserk but damn that is well written. Have a pos!

Album will probably be a 3 or 3.5 for me.

Mookid
November 2nd 2013



1294 Comments


let's all just listen to some vnv nation and go home



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy