Erra Augment
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
October 29th 2013



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, the ever-present ghost neggar.

Dunpeal
October 29th 2013



3663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

careful with the n word bro

Winsomniac
October 30th 2013



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoa, neg got removed. Ghost indeed o.o

OwMySnauze
October 30th 2013



989 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The Neg Bandit strikes again!

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Koffiiing
October 30th 2013



1123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

bake em away, toys

nononsense
October 30th 2013



3376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Impulse was a better record as a whole while as on Augment I feel like there are more standout tracks but the album itself isn't better and a little boring at times.

Digging: Invent, Animate - Everchanger

Koffiiing
October 30th 2013



1123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think Alpha Seed destroys White Noise as an opener, aside from that i havent listened to it enough to compare it to Impulse

Winsomniac
October 30th 2013



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno, Rebirth is a pretty fucking phenomenal song.

nononsense
October 30th 2013



3376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

White Noise is the band's best song imo. Hybrid Earth is up there too.

nononsense
October 30th 2013



3376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll take that back. Vaalbara is their best song.

Koffiiing
October 30th 2013



1123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

everyone likes vaalbara more than me ffs
cant say a favorite, but my top 5 would be Alpha Seed, Seven, The Architect, Pulse, and Pattern Interrupt

the list changes like every two minutes sooo

paradox1216
October 30th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

vallbara is pretty good but i've always been partial to enter the void

Digging: Weatherbox - Flies In All Directions

Koffiiing
October 30th 2013



1123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

render*?

paradox1216
October 30th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sorry i'm horrible with song titles haha

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2013



10160 Comments


Great review, though I'm not much a fan of the definition at the piece's beginning. Won't the average reader know what a simple word like 'augment' means? ;]

Cool to see a good review for this, though, especially since I won't be able to get around to it. Great production helps these guys out for sure, not to mention that they have a knack for writing memorable tunes.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Winsomniac
October 30th 2013



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It just struck me as an idea to start it off. I'm not nearly as bad at intros as I am at summaries, but they tend to take me a long time to decide on an approach to, so when the idea of just plopping the definition struck me, I just mentally went "YOLO" and stuck with it.


Was also going to do a joke review, still might.

JeetJeet
October 30th 2013



725 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If Andromeda had the same production as this album, it'd be the best Erra album.

joshuahuntkc
October 30th 2013



1583 Comments


Great review. I haven't really listened to this much and I'm not the biggest fan of the style but in comparison to what I've heard of their previous material this is substantially better.

Winsomniac
October 30th 2013



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Jeet: I haven't actually heard too much of Andromeda. I may check it out if I get a hankering for more Erra. Right now Augment is tiding me over nicely.

@joshua: Thanks! I didn't necessarily think it was substantially better personally, just more well-composed and cohesive. There were still some riffs of justice on Impulse.

joshuahuntkc
October 30th 2013



1583 Comments


that was supposed to read not the biggest fan of this style just to be clear, I'm editing that as well.
Composition makes a huge difference in the long run and the clean vocalist sounds a lot more tolerable on this release than previous imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy