Future of the Left How To Stop Your Brain In An Accident
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DWittisarockstar
November 4th 2013



1501 Comments


I've listened to a couple songs of this so far. It's definitely pretty neat.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2013



7326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Saw them last night... just beginning to reacquire my hearing. Brilliant as always.

jefflebowski
November 5th 2013



8089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how to spot a record company is god tier

Digging: Pantha Du Prince - This Bliss

omnipanzer
November 6th 2013



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, color me impressed.
Great review Greg.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2013



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, man. Appreciated.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

roverspun
November 18th 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Couple comments on this review. I dunno if this was mentioned, but the album closer is 'Something Happened', not 'Why Aren't I Going to Hell'. Also I don't find 'Donny of the Decks' to be rockabilly-influenced; it seems to be pretty Stranglers-esque, especially if you listen to 'The Men They Love to Hate' off La Folie.

There seem to be more Stranglers leanings on this record actually, not to take away from it or say it isn't brilliant. I waited a while to listen to this record (How to Stop Your Brain..) after how much I loved TPACS, but it's pretty damn good.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2013



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks. My version of the album ends with 'Why Aren't I Going To Hell.' I've changed the piece with 'Donny of the Decks' though. I also hear the Stranglers' influence on this track. Good catch.

roverspun
November 18th 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, if anyone hasn't read this, it's a beautifully cunning tidbit from Falkous, blogging a
response to the superficially attuned Pitchfork writer who reviewed 'The Plot Against Common Sense':


'In twelve years of releasing records I have only twice felt compelled to respond, privately in
those cases, and was reasonably set on a similarly benign course until two bells (figuratively
speaking) resonated in the heart of the sodden internet. Firstly, obviously satisfied with the ebb
and cod-ebb of your piece you tweeted a link to the review. In fine repose you sat, and introduced
'I suppose the problem is that most touring funk bands had to get sober'. Well, I see you that and
raise you 'I suppose the problem is that Ian Cohen is effectively reviewing an album from ten years
ago by a band that no longer exists. His burning nostalgia for a lost teenage love has been replaced
by an uncontrollable hatred for her and her new, happy life even though she went to college (Masters
in Ancient History, specialising in the early to mid Roman Republic) and grew into those tits like
you wouldn't believe. In fact, he hates her so hard (yet helplessly) that he once applied for a Visa
card in her name, badly, in order to somehow affect her credit rating and thus deny her the home she
had dreamed about for so many years'."

http://futureoftheleftv2now.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/based-on-novel-of-same-name.html

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2013



7326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is Why Aren't I Going to Hell? a bonus track or something?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2013



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No, it isn't. The tracklist in the database for this is correct.

jefflebowski
November 18th 2013



8089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yup, that's the one i have

osmark86
December 4th 2013



3938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn that blog retort is hilarious

Digging: Schammasch - Contradiction

Funeralopolis
December 7th 2013



11230 Comments


damn this is fun

Digging: Banks - Goddess

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2013



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anthony Fantano has just posted a really good review of this.

demigod!
December 11th 2013



44152 Comments


yeah he convinced me to check it out


and damn, am i glad i did

Digging: Failure - Magnified

Kman418
December 11th 2013



10226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

travels is bettr

actually if you dig this just get mclusky because theyre basically the same thing but better

Digging: OutKast - Aquemini

Cygnatti
December 11th 2013



21350 Comments


[2]

need to czech dis

demigod!
December 11th 2013



44152 Comments


dont worry i plan on checking mclusky soon

jefflebowski
December 11th 2013



8089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this isn't really like mclusky at all though

jefflebowski
December 11th 2013



8089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

way more textured and diverse, if not as straight up badass



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy