AFI Burials
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FadedSun
October 19th 2013


1304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And Sinking Night could possibly be their best opener next to Miseria Cantare. Powerful.

GreyShadow
October 19th 2013


526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

In truth, "The Sinking Night" really hyped me up for everything else. I thought the rest of the album would match that darkness but oh well. Still, I liked it more than every opener except Miseria Cantare (and it just beats out Strength Through Wounding) and it flowed very nicely into IHYS.

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

FadedSun
October 19th 2013


1304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think Miseria Cantare matched the whole tone of STS either. There are definitely some poppy tracks on STS like Girls Not Grey and This Celluoid Dream. I would say both STS and Burials both flow together tone-wise.

AmericnZero02
October 19th 2013


3360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review, I'm looking forward to picking this up. Especially after reading everyone's positive reception. And yeah, Miseria Cantare rules.

Feather
October 19th 2013


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ thank you sir

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

Feather
October 19th 2013


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Very true. Honestly only I hope you sufferer truly fits it. Love the opener though and I was very happy to hear AFI do it again.

FadedSun
October 20th 2013


1304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What I meant was; there are some songs on STS that didn't match Miseria Cantare as well. So it's similar to Burials in the sense that not every song fits the tone of the opener.

Feather
October 20th 2013


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TRUUUUU

Mabbitt
October 21st 2013


1378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"AFI has finally learned to channel the energy and emotion of pre-Decemberunderground AFI into the
more accessible, radio-ready sound they have grown into." This seems like it should be the summary.

Anyways, the preview tracks make this album seem like it will be my favorite one since Art of
Drowning. Gotta wait til I buy it before I listen though. I need the full experience.

Feather
October 21st 2013


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was considering that for the summary line, I may change it. I like the summary line I have now too though.

SaintAndrews
November 4th 2013


105 Comments


Heart Stops is one of my favorite songs from this album. Rewind sounds like a My Chemical Romance song. Since they're not a band anymore, I'll take it lol. Great album. I only skip a few songs.

Feather
March 20th 2014


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked this, but I'm excited they released Xtrmst too

Mabbitt
September 1st 2014


1378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So the only song from this album I don't love is No Resurrection, which I don't hate, but it doesn't really do much for me.

FadedSun
September 2nd 2014


1304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the guitar lead in that song though.

fallenbird
September 2nd 2014


4057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what about wild and rewind?

Digging: As Tall As Lions - As Tall As Lions

GreyShadow
September 2nd 2014


526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I hate this album for being a "great" album and nothing more. Every song is pretty fantastic but nothing breaks the barrier that past AFI songs have shattered (some came pretty close).

GreyShadow
September 2nd 2014


526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

and This Celluloid Dream may be poppy, but it sure does have its darkness. One of my all time favorite songs.

Feather
September 3rd 2014


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Celluloid dream is one of my favorite songs from AFI. GreyShadow I completely agree that this is a great album, but nothing more. Nothing keeps me coming back to it.

FadedSun
September 3rd 2014


1304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can still put it on and rock out to it, but yeah - something important is missing. There's obviously a lot of heart and emotion in these tracks, but it's not as cohesive as Sing the Sorrow. Some of the album feels disjointed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy