Dance Gavin Dance Acceptance Speech
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuahuntkc
October 16th 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dig this review and I dig that you addressed what the other reviews failed to address for the most part. I've sort of gone back and forth on this album. I've been a big fan of everything Tilian did with Tides and DGD has always been a band I have thoroughly enjoyed so I was excited to say the least when they announced this album.
When I picked up the album I went from really enjoying it to thinking that it probably will not have much replay value. Then every time I pick it back up and listen I become interested in a song I didn't care for previously which is sort of a good quality for an album I would guess.
But again, great review as expected.

nooshdeezy
October 16th 2013



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lodge doesnt play for them anymore

Hopelust
October 16th 2013



952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dat be true, I believe. I love Jon Mess but it's getting pretty repetitive hearing people judge this band/album based on the vocalists alone. This album shows the band moving back to their more "urgent" and moody sound, which I think is pretty fantastic considering it seems like they haven't really explored it much since DBM.

Chesse
October 16th 2013



529 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

nice review

pjquinones747
October 17th 2013



763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I made the mistake of scrolling down for a quick peek at some comments before I read the review and now all I can think about is Jennifer Lawrence. Won't be reading this one now, sorry.

Digging: Phinehas - The Last Word Is Yours To Speak

fagnutzzz
October 17th 2013



42 Comments


thank god, a staff member with some good taste!

OwMySnauze
October 17th 2013



949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Omaha you nailed this perfectly. This is exactly how I feel about the record.

One thing I don't get is most people disregard Mess' lyrics as "silly" or "non-sense" just because of his unique lyric compositions and content. I've seen Mess get questioned about his lyrics and he's always had an explanation/meaning for them on different songs. I personally think he's a genius lyrically.

Digging: Secret Band - S/T

DeMilQ
October 17th 2013



91 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Title track is the best thing on here. Even that one is a "Meh"

sniper
October 17th 2013



19048 Comments


have only heard this like twice i should give it more time

dgd is so hit and miss for me though.

Realm
October 17th 2013



2074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

snipe i cried when i listened to this


mess : (

sniper
October 17th 2013



19048 Comments


yeah but at least we'll always have dbm

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2013



7087 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I personally think he's a genius lyrically.


Shave it out, you need a break from hair
Coming out bald, I'm the eagle in the air
With the big ass braids and the folding chair
Just shave it out, you need a break from hair


Dolving999
October 17th 2013



1618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Spot-on review, man!

DeMilQ
October 17th 2013



91 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

But great Review nonetheless!

KoopahKnight
October 17th 2013



2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man.

Hopelust
October 17th 2013



952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I personally think he's a genius lyrically."


"Shave it out, you need a break from hair
Coming out bald, I'm the eagle in the air
With the big ass braids and the folding chair
Just shave it out, you need a break from hair."

Exactly.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2013



10056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

thanks guys! I enjoyed Eli's comical take on the album, and I loved Adam's educational review of it, but I also felt I had some viewpoints to share.

I guess I wanted to show that, even though the main thing wrong with the album is its production, that in itself is a fairly complex statement. And there are numerous reasons why it may be that way, and why we may not be content with hearing music constructed around Tilian's voice. Good talking points about the band in there, I guess.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

WatchItExplode
October 17th 2013



3221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Honey Revenge is the best, nice and stalkery. The album overall just makes me hope the new ALLB is tight.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2013



10056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

the new single severely rubbed me the wrong way, but i think it's just because the track doesn't work well outside of the album's context.

Mort.
October 17th 2013



3397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they said in an interview that a vid is coming out for strawberry swisher pt.3

Digging: Code Orange - I Am King



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy