Oranssi Pazuzu Valonielu
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
gbowles
October 24th 2013



70 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anything new and challenging will get low ratings from people who dont get it or refuse to

zaruyache
November 6th 2013



6273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I believe I enjoyed the first two songs quite a bit. After that, though, it kinda trails off quality-wise.

Digging: CHVRCHES - The Bones of What You Believe

RacoonSlayer50
November 7th 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think ill give this album a listen. psychedelic black metal might be an intersting combo.

JamesLentil
November 16th 2013



59 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Overall, I feel this album is poor. However, the second track "Tyhja Tempelli" is one of the best songs I've ever heard. I could play that song on repeat all day.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2013



6007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Heard some tracks in YT, the album is not "poor" by any stretch.

album stream: http://listen.20buckspin.com/album/valonielu

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

JamesLentil
November 16th 2013



59 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Heard some tracks in YT, the album is not "poor" by any stretch.

Perhaps I should have ellaborated more. When I say I feel this album is 'poor' I'm referring to the song-writing, not the production. In my opinion I feel the band would do better to stick with their psych bm formula because they do a much better job at that style as opposed to their straight bm writing. Their bm writing is definitely below average and their interchange of pysch/bm and bm is bringing the enjoyability of this down. I do appreciate them trying to experiment with different sounds but I don't feel they were successful here.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2013



6007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's just that they have a minimal/repetitive approach in terms of song writing. Early black metal also revolves around those two aspects. The songs are fine, they just need time to sink in and they must be heard in absolute silence and solitude.

JamesLentil
November 16th 2013



59 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's just that they have a minimal/repetitive approach in terms of song writing. Early black metal also revolves around those two aspects.

I personally have no issues with music being minimal/repetitive. Some of my favorite bm albums of all time worship that formula. The issues I have with song-writing here has nothing to do with them repeating riffs or being minimal.

The songs are fine, they just need time to sink in and they must be heard in absolute silence and solitude.

I appreciate your opinion. I've listened to this album about 8 times already and each time it has been in complete silence and solitude; which is how I usually listen to my music.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2013



6007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I feel the band would do better to stick with their psych bm formula... [...].

But that's exactly what the band is doing, at least from where I'm standing.

JamesLentil
November 16th 2013



59 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

But that's exactly what the band is doing, at least from where I'm standing.

I wouldn't say entirely. But maybe I'm being too picky. I really did approach it with an open mind, though. It just felt generic and poor. I didn't really hear anything I could connect with and I feel that happened because the song-writing approach seemed to be all over the place. I would say that the individual passages as were solid from time to time but when you put all those passages together and look at the album as a whole I feel it was poorly put together. I feel more detail was given to trying to do something different as opposed to making a record that is well-composed. Ofcourse what I feel as something that is 'well-composed' doesn't have to mesh perfectly with others opinions such as your self. Regardless, I still respect your opinion.

Wizard
December 3rd 2013



19339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you should check this out. as a musician, what they are able to do pull off rhythmically within the confines of 4/4 is something i think you'd get a kick out of.

You can say that again. They're the definition of subtle.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

osmark86
December 24th 2013



3937 Comments


well this is interesting

Digging: Schammasch - Contradiction

Tyrael
January 11th 2014



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't believe I only just recently heard about this fuuuck

emester
January 13th 2014



2855 Comments


Love this album. Definitely in my top ten of 2013. Anyways, nice review!

Digging: Horn of the Rhino - Summoning Deliverance

CaptainDooRight
January 13th 2014



28851 Comments


some serious legit debating in dis treed

osmark86
January 14th 2014



3937 Comments


aye. it's a well-appreciated rarity.

CaptainDooRight
March 26th 2014



28851 Comments


I need to revisit this

PuddlesPuddles
June 11th 2014



4772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is on the tip of a mountain. On either side, "really great" and "conclusively disappointing." It's just not what I was hoping for after their awesome last one, but it isn't a direct letdown. Hm



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy