Trivium Vengeance Falls
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
zaruyache
October 14th 2013


13042 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

A 3 is fair if you enjoy painfully bland music.

Digging: Numenorean - Home

Emyay
October 14th 2013


6261 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

to me ac/dc is the definition of painfully bland so i think we'll agree to disagree on this one.

Jade
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2013


10660 Comments


Hey man! I meant to leave advice awhile ago, sorry about the delay. Overall, this is definitely one of your better reviews. I know you feel like this may be a bit too similar to your others, but from what I've read of your past work, this seems to be a much more natural piece.

First off, there's a bit of redundancy in the beginning. Look at the first and final statements here-- I'd find a way to switch up your wording, to make it more insightful.

"I’ve always believed that bands will make the music they want to make. No matter of label influence or the calibre of a production/recording team – the band will make the music they feel like making."

"Scientific studies have shown that if you eat before you shop for groceries, you’re likely to buy less and therefore save money. Continuing with this vague metaphor, I've eaten. In fact, I’m bloated to a point of sickness and as you could imagine I’ll also be saving my hard-earned dollars."

I could argue this is a bit silly, but honestly, I enjoy the change of pace. You do a good job of switching it up, and for some reason or another I don't mind that you brought up groceries into a Trivium review.

"Vengeance Falls is child safe, clean and unadulterated, a huge step back from the potential they showed."

Very good sentence. I think you should make it even stronger by ending it with opposite words of 'clean', if that makes sense. The previous albums, instead of being child-safe and clean, were gritty and ___ . Make sense? Direct comparisons like that are great in reviews like this.

"it’s more or less unfair to say that Draiman’s influence is creating a cloning effect but as it lies, the music feels half-assed, lazy and uninspired."

You could cut out the 'more or less', as it doesn't add anything. Also, half-assed, lazy and uninspired mean nearly the same thing-- I'd say pick one you like and cut the rest!

These are mainly suggestions to clean up the review just a little bit, but overall, I definitely think this is one of your best reviews. Nice work, bud!


D41V30N
October 14th 2013


949 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Great suggestions, but album still sucks. TY.

NocteDominum
October 14th 2013


7286 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks Jacob, I left a couple of questions with you on facebook.



: ]

Sollyz
October 14th 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

biased reviews.

slidenslip
October 14th 2013


1016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

actually the widespread opinions of a couple dozen, soon to be couple hundred, people who dedicate their time to listening a range of music is considered to be an objective opinion. Maybe this single review is biased, but the overall rating for this album will just become more and more objective as more people vote. In other words this album is objectively mediocre

SmokyPeat
October 14th 2013


19 Comments


I never found Trivium all that interesting although Ascendancy did catch my attention for a bit back in the day.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2013


23953 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is so bad

JokineAugustus
October 14th 2013


8406 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Ember is awesome

climactic
October 14th 2013


21766 Comments


that album cover is hilarious lol looks like an ad for transformers

InbredJed
October 14th 2013


6478 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Yay this finally dropped so I can give it a 1.



Everything double D touches turns to shit, and Trivium have always been K-mart ready poofs.

Toondude10
October 14th 2013


9673 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

have you seen the full picture yet? lol



I honestly think it's kinda cool looking but it is kinda stupid.

Digging: Silent Planet - Everything Was Sound

slidenslip
October 14th 2013


1016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

about.com gave this a 4/5 WOW

Toondude10
October 14th 2013


9673 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, for some reason critics have been really raving about this one. What in the world have they been smoking?

zaruyache
October 14th 2013


13042 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Because critics get *paid* to give good review to crap albums.

slidenslip
October 14th 2013


1016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

can i get paid i gave it a 3?

NocteDominum
October 15th 2013


7286 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

for some reason critics have been really raving about this one.




Yeah, I'm raving about this non-stop.



Because critics get *paid* to give good review to crap albums.




The hell they do,



InbredJed
October 15th 2013


6478 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUctElGXEXo

Asmodeuss1990
October 15th 2013


327 Comments


So fucking boring. They should leave their god damn comfort zone and do something else. Not make safe music. So disappointed because EVERYONE KNOWS Trivium can be a million times better but they just make shit like this.... ugh.

Go figure dude.

Digging: First Fragment - Dasein



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy