Porcupine Tree Stupid Dream
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Come back PT[2]

Artuma, what's so average about that song for you? It's cool how music affects people differently

KerfuffleinaHussle
October 5th 2013


764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I looked into what the lyrics of This Is No Rehearsal are about and it's fucked up beyond anything I've ever read

Seems kinda disrespectful, dont wanna sound like a dick but...

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"This song was directly inspired by a tragic UK event a few years ago. A child was taken from a shopping mall while his mother was momentarily distracted and was later found dead and tortured near a railway track. The most disturbing thing about the story was that the two abductors/murderers turned out to be children themselves."

I think it was in honor of that child honestly. You can't write a song like that and make it not sound fucked up. Wilson is a good guy and I don't think he meant for it to sound dick...

KerfuffleinaHussle
October 5th 2013


764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No, Wilson is a good guy. It's just strange to write such a jaunty, jangly pop tune about a kid who was abducted, suffered 42 injuries, had his foreskin forcibly retracted...you get the idea. It's just nasty stuff in a nice song.

Anyway, need to get back on Porcupine Tree. Listening to Recordings now, some great outtakes from this album. Must have been a productive time.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well lots of dark songs are covered up by upbeat music. I see what you mean and it is fucked up if you put it that way haha. I never know the backstory behind the song. Lots of Porcupine Tree's lyrics are dark shit. Take Strip The Soul for example.

KerfuffleinaHussle
October 5th 2013


764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, he loved to write about his serial killers and stuff on In Absentia. Like Index and Raider II from his solo albums. Hell, those are all great songs though. I guess if you find a subject interesting, it shows when you write about it

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well human psychology is interesting as fuck so I understand where he's coming from

dannyboy89
December 19th 2013


11960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

In addition to that, Slave Called Shiver is one of the only songs on the record that one could call boring because it never really climaxes and it just doesn't contain anything memorable about it like the other songs on Stupid Dream.


Disagreed hard. This was one of the songs that got me into the band. To each his/her own.

Nice review though.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 20th 2013


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh thanks bro. Idk song just doesn't spark my interest.

NeroCorleone80
February 20th 2014


28998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice to see the best PT album hit 4.2

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2014


20645 Comments


TSMS went up to 4.2? :D

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

NeroCorleone80
February 20th 2014


28998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah thats still at a 4

BigPleb
February 20th 2014


36568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its better than this hard.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

NeroCorleone80
February 20th 2014


28998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its not far off

dannyboy89
February 20th 2014


11960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Agreed, TSMS is better than this, but both are hard 4.5's for me.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2014


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel like UTD is extremely underrated

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2014


20645 Comments


Yeah, to be honest UTD is like joint best PT for me. I like it about as much as TSMS.

NeroCorleone80
February 20th 2014


28998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like TSMS quite a bit more than UtD, but that album is still in my top 5

BigPleb
February 20th 2014


36568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Into the Void >

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2014


20645 Comments


No comparison between UTD and this for me but you already know my opinion when it comes to post-Signify PT (well post-TSMS really, Signify was their transitional album).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy