Dream Theater Dream Theater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Davil667
October 26th 2013


431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe it's just that I have a kind of nostalgic affection for FII, but it's among my top 5 DT albums for sure.

Artuma
October 26th 2013


14430 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

well i can understand why people consider it underrated but there are just so many bad songs on that album

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2013


21029 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Falling Into Infinity is great and definitely better than Train of Thought. In fact I personally think its better than pretty much everything that came after Scenes. It's top 5 DT for me too.

Underflow
October 26th 2013


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'd agree that it's underrated, but not that it's better than everything post-Scenes.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Davil667
October 26th 2013


431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's better than everything after SDoIT, Six Degrees is almost on par for me.

Artuma
October 26th 2013


14430 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

actually everything post-scenes is better than fii except for the s/t imo

tempest--
October 26th 2013


13921 Comments


even systematic? dam

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2013


21029 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

FII has much more character than any of their post-Scenes albums. 6 Degrees is the only one that comes close.

Artuma
October 26th 2013


14430 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"even systematic? dam"

yeah. sc has the worst songs dt has ever made (forsaken and constant motion) but itpoe and ministry are both awesome

JS19
October 26th 2013


4333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The solo in Constant Motion is all right. I think I Walk Beside You, The Dark Eternal Night, Build Me Up, Break Me Down and You Not Me are all fighting for worst DT song tbh

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

manosg
October 27th 2013


6258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

FII has much more character than any of their post-Scenes albums. [2]

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

CaptainDooRight
October 27th 2013


29942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty accurate rating

I'm between that and a 2.5

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

TalonsOfFire
October 27th 2013


8220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

FII is underrated, but almost all the other albums are still better, even SC

The thing about SC is that most of the songs have some great sections, but also have horrible parts to every song too (EX. last 5 minutes of Repentance, the vocals in Dark Eternal Night and In The Presence of Enemies, all of Constant Motion except for the solo, and all of Forsaken and Prophets of War (which ripped off Muse)).

Digging: Stella Luna - Stargazer

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2013


21029 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol Systematic Chaos isn't even close to Falling Into Infinity. They're in completely different leagues.

TalonsOfFire
October 27th 2013


8220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Of course they sound different, they're at completely opposite ends of DT's sound, softer-prog rock/metal and heavier
more extreme prog metal of SC & BL&SL. But they're both among the worst DT albums, they have the same amount of
problems. FII has You Not Me and Burning My Soul as the worst songs, SC has Forsaken and Prophets of War. Both albums
also have a lot of filler, but they also each have some great songs too. FII has Hells Kitchen, New Millenium, Peruvian
Skies, Lines in the Sand and Trial of Tears. SC has Ministry of Lost Souls, Repentance, ITPOE, and Dark Eternal Night.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2013


21029 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I didn't mean they sound different (although they do) I meant FII is among their top 5 albums while SC is their worst. One rules, one sucks, that's what I meant by different leagues.

CaptainDooRight
October 27th 2013


29942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sup JT

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2013


21029 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hey Cap, not much bro, listening to Witxes - Sorcery/Geography on vinyl.

CaptainDooRight
October 27th 2013


29942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

best ever

dante1991
October 29th 2013


550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Interesting reading the discussion about FII.

I think while the high points are really good-excellent (Lines in the Sand, Trail of Tears etc) it's pretty inconsistent and has some of their worst songs (You Not Me, Take Away My Pain, Burning My Soul).

I do like the atmosphere it has though (when it gets it right), no DT album since has matched that

Digging: Haken - Restoration



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy