Dream Theater Dream Theater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JS19
September 21st 2013


4329 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

or ATOE... Or Octavarium (apart from the last track) ... Or Systematic Chaos ...

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

OmairSh
September 21st 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

....Or BCSL....Or this one. I don't know whether they're playing it safe intentionally or this is the
only way they can compose now.

Digging: Thin Lizzy - Nightlife

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Black Clouds wasn't anymore 'safe' than any of their other recent albums. At least that album had some really good moments.

OmairSh
September 21st 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'they're far more varied than the majority of bands out there'

They're more varied than linkin park yeah, easily, no competition

OmairSh
September 21st 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

BCSLs production is so dull that it ruins the album, and of course the mixing isn't balanced as is the
case for 90% of DT albums.....Plus the songwriting was pretty boring

Look at the average for this album, come on sputnik, really?

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The song writing was a lot better on Black Clouds than on most modern DT albums. I'm not talking about the lyrics, I mean the compositions.

OmairSh
September 21st 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not imo, bored me just as much as any modern dt. i skimmed through one jp interview and he was talking about how some of his tones were like mtallica. that says it all, he has been influenced by them his whole life and has tried to emulate them his whole life, talk about stagnating

OmairSh
September 21st 2013


11548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

" don't know why people keep expecting them to reinvent the wheel every time"

They're the "representative" progressive metal band, it comes with the territory

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Black Clouds is the exception in the mediocrity of their recent material imo. Petrucci actually puts in a great performance on that album (that solo in The Best of Times is one of the best things he's ever done).

aggelosm
September 21st 2013


471 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Black clouds was a waste of money. "A Nightmare to Remember" and "The Shattered Fortress" are just annoying. And these backing vocals by Portnoy..oh god!
I like DT more than any other album after ToT.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Portnoy's backing vox were terrible agreed but at least they managed to actually compose some memorable songs/parts on that album.

aggelosm
September 21st 2013


471 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dunno.. I think that behind the veil and the bigger picture are more memorable than anything they've done in their last 3 albums. I also smell some 'rush' parts in this one and an I&W feel in some parts. For example The looking Glass.

Illumination Theory is a great prog epic. Not their best of course.
Along for the ride is just awful..It sucks so much

TheNexus100
September 21st 2013


2542 Comments


i guarantee this is a 2

Digging: Nothing - Guilty of Everything

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's like a 2.5 - 3 for me.

BigPleb
September 21st 2013


37122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not much replay value.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013


21007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

At least it's better than A Dramatic Turd of Events.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2013


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Didn't need the first paragraph, but otherwise decent review.

FourthReich
September 21st 2013


17874 Comments


you just don like foosball

JS19
September 21st 2013


4329 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Spamming links'll get you reported decaying

ILJ
September 22nd 2013


6710 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this was really boring even by this band's standards



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy