Dream Theater Dream Theater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Onirium
June 20th 2014


2988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah The Count of Tuscany is what made Black Clouds a great album. But Illumination Theory even drops the quality of the s/t. The moment when LaBrie screams: "Mothers for their children, husbands for their wives" made me laugh

Digging: Joni Mitchell - The Hissing Of Summer Lawns

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


15012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I prefer Count of Tuscany, it has more dynamics and the ending's not quite as cheesy as Illumination Theory

Digging: The Pineapple Thief - Your Wilderness

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


11382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This albums a huge step back for DT. Simple structures sour coated in bland and uninspired solos.



the chorus of the count Of Tuscany is a bit over the top, but other than that, it's a perfect song, particularly the latter half. Best song they've done since Octavarium t/t

Digging: Inter Arma - Paradise Gallows

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


15012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can't though because the lyrics are just about a misunderstanding but the singing and music is so emotional at the end it's just funny to me. It's like "I thought you were gonna eat me" and the other guys like "no you can leave whenever you want" and john's like "oh ok cool." That's all Labrie is waling about at the end lol

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was happy they had simpler structures, we've had enough overly complex structures without any soul. The problem here is there is no passion or soul either.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


15012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah it definitely grows off you with repeated listens, I have a review of this with a 4/5 but now it's probably a low 3/5 for me

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


11382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, fair enough Omair. I can't ever imagining this growing on me. I'm just gong to pray for something completely different next year

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


15012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ugh are they already releasing another one soon already

Green Baron
June 20th 2014


22356 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol what already?

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


11382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Eyve done an album every two years for like a decade now. I don't expect them to all of a sudden stop tbh

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude they needed that break. Their next album won't be any better imo.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


15012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah maybe Portnoy was right they should've taken that 5 year hiatus and come back as slightly different people to really progress their music

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If they had taken the hiatus I think they might have needed to "prove" that they are a heavy metal band and ended up treading down the same path anyway.

Green Baron
June 20th 2014


22356 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Do we expect them to be good anymore? Honestly.

NeroCorleone80
June 20th 2014


33659 Comments


Theres no need for them to be really. Just be happy with the good albums they have

Digging: Pissed Jeans - King of Jeans

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They have so much talent, and it's going to waste. That's what's frustrating

Onirium
June 20th 2014


2988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah Mangini is an awesome drummer but Portnoy fits so much better in DT (except for his shitty "growls" he did on BC&SL). A 5-year break would have been very useful to them, even though ADTOE was awesome imo

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"even though ADTOE was awesome imo"



Dam

Onirium
June 20th 2014


2988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ADTOE had everything an awesome DT album needs (except for the shitty ballads), and sounded very refreshing in their discog (I know I'm kind of the only one who thinks that but yeah)

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


15012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree to an extent, it's a very comforting album. But build me up break me down is dumb and lost not forgotten has dumb parts too, so that only leaves 4 great songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy