Dream Theater Dream Theater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was happy they had simpler structures, we've had enough overly complex structures without any soul. The problem here is there is no passion or soul either.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


14762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah it definitely grows off you with repeated listens, I have a review of this with a 4/5 but now it's probably a low 3/5 for me

Digging: Animals As Leaders - The Madness of Many

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


11527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, fair enough Omair. I can't ever imagining this growing on me. I'm just gong to pray for something completely different next year

Digging: Wartime Sweethearts - So Long Sparta

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


14762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ugh are they already releasing another one soon already

Green Baron
June 20th 2014


22807 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol what already?

Digging: Misery Signals - Controller

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


11527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Eyve done an album every two years for like a decade now. I don't expect them to all of a sudden stop tbh

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude they needed that break. Their next album won't be any better imo.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


14762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah maybe Portnoy was right they should've taken that 5 year hiatus and come back as slightly different people to really progress their music

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If they had taken the hiatus I think they might have needed to "prove" that they are a heavy metal band and ended up treading down the same path anyway.

Green Baron
June 20th 2014


22807 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Do we expect them to be good anymore? Honestly.

NeroCorleone80
June 20th 2014


33999 Comments


Theres no need for them to be really. Just be happy with the good albums they have

Digging: Dog Faced Hermans - Those Deep Buds

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They have so much talent, and it's going to waste. That's what's frustrating

Onirium
June 20th 2014


3010 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah Mangini is an awesome drummer but Portnoy fits so much better in DT (except for his shitty "growls" he did on BC&SL). A 5-year break would have been very useful to them, even though ADTOE was awesome imo

Digging: Van der Graaf Generator - Godbluff

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"even though ADTOE was awesome imo"



Dam

Onirium
June 20th 2014


3010 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ADTOE had everything an awesome DT album needs (except for the shitty ballads), and sounded very refreshing in their discog (I know I'm kind of the only one who thinks that but yeah)

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


14762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree to an extent, it's a very comforting album. But build me up break me down is dumb and lost not forgotten has dumb parts too, so that only leaves 4 great songs

Green Baron
June 20th 2014


22807 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

BC&SL was crap, yeah

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


14762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's better than at least 5 of their others

Green Baron
June 20th 2014


22807 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nah not for me



6DOIT > TOT > 8varium > ADTOE > s/t > BC&SL > SC > FII > WDADU

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2014


14762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Missin a few entries there, here it is:



I&W/Scenes>Awake>6Deg>BC&SL>ADTOE>Octavarium>TOT>SC>FII>S/T>WD&DU



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy