Dream Theater Dream Theater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sonictheplumber
April 27th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

black clouds shits all over systematic chode

TheRealVermicide9013
April 28th 2014


232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

black clouds has the count of tuscany and the shattered fortress, systematic is ok but far from being memorable

OmairSh
April 28th 2014


11034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Petrucci seriously needs to lose the 7 strings

Digging: Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes

Underflow
June 20th 2014


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Still amazed that they managed to botch the epic, which is typically their albums' saving graces.
Actually, it probably shouldn't be all that surprising.

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


7061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Illumination theory has the same problem as count of Tuscany where the first half is actually pretty good but then they have this way too long interlude and the laughably cheesy inspirational outro ugh

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

Underflow
June 20th 2014


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I actually really enjoy the count of tuscanny, and it might have been one of my favorite epics of theirs if not for the "Let me introduce...my brothurrr" part.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2014


20645 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Always though that the general consensus was that the second half makes The Count of Tuscany. The first half has those awful lyrics and cringe worthy moments like the one Underflow mentioned.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

tempest--
June 20th 2014


13439 Comments


the count of tuscanyyyyyyyyyyyYYYYYYYYYeeeeeyYYyyyyyyYeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyy

Underflow
June 20th 2014


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, the ending of that track is amazing. I'd also have enjoyed the track even more if Rudess could just let go of those horrendous SNES keyboard sounds.

Onirium
June 20th 2014


1966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah The Count of Tuscany is what made Black Clouds a great album. But Illumination Theory even drops the quality of the s/t. The moment when LaBrie screams: "Mothers for their children, husbands for their wives" made me laugh

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


7061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I prefer Count of Tuscany, it has more dynamics and the ending's not quite as cheesy as Illumination Theory

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


6159 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This albums a huge step back for DT. Simple structures sour coated in bland and uninspired solos.

the chorus of the count Of Tuscany is a bit over the top, but other than that, it's a perfect song, particularly the latter half. Best song they've done since Octavarium t/t

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


7061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can't though because the lyrics are just about a misunderstanding but the singing and music is so emotional at the end it's just funny to me. It's like "I thought you were gonna eat me" and the other guys like "no you can leave whenever you want" and john's like "oh ok cool." That's all Labrie is waling about at the end lol

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


11034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was happy they had simpler structures, we've had enough overly complex structures without any soul. The problem here is there is no passion or soul either.

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


7061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah it definitely grows off you with repeated listens, I have a review of this with a 4/5 but now it's probably a low 3/5 for me

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


6159 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, fair enough Omair. I can't ever imagining this growing on me. I'm just gong to pray for something completely different next year

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


7061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ugh are they already releasing another one soon already

Green Baron
June 20th 2014


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol what already?

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

ChoccyPhilly
June 20th 2014


6159 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Eyve done an album every two years for like a decade now. I don't expect them to all of a sudden stop tbh

OmairSh
June 20th 2014


11034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude they needed that break. Their next album won't be any better imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy