Dream Theater Dream Theater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
September 17th 2013


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yea thats my fav 1

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2013


20984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Amen

Feeling like a 3 for me too.

thespaceforthis
September 17th 2013


518 Comments


3.5 tops

KILL
September 17th 2013


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

could go 3.5 if illumination becomes breakin all illusions lvl i gota let it grow as annie haslam once sung

Dimor
September 17th 2013


1778 Comments


So dissapointed in this, i actually had some serious faith that they would bring back the stuff that made the band magical in the old days. Also fuck the production on this thing, how could they seriously mess it up so badly?

Parallels
September 17th 2013


6641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm happier with this and with Mangini's performance than that last album, but holy crap Rudess take a seat and shut up for once

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2013


20984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agreed about Rudess. He ruins parts of this album.

Dimor
September 17th 2013


1778 Comments


Yeh his choice of keyboard sounds are bordering on ridiculous this time around.

NeroCorleone80
September 17th 2013


29274 Comments


They've always sounded too much like video game music

Parallels
September 17th 2013


6641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like KILL's definition:

nintendo sounds

NeroCorleone80
September 17th 2013


29274 Comments


You just cant take those sounds seriously

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2013


20984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah and somehow they're even harder to ignore than usual on here.

Thor
September 17th 2013


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Listening to this for the first time and I must say it's one of the shittiest things I've heard in a long time

chug73
September 17th 2013


1144 Comments


JP has officially become the new Portonoy.
He is taking the band in a direction I'm not too big on, his interpretation of metal is as lame as portonoys.
The production is nothing but JP and Jordan and sounds compressed to hell.

dante1991
September 17th 2013


550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Rudess take a seat and shut up for once"

Tbh, I think this is probably the most restrained and tasteful Rudess has been on ANY DT album he's been on.

I can't believe the low rating on this. I'm guessing some people have only listened once? This is a grower and far stronger than the past 4 albums without a doubt. And a 1.0 is just ridiculous. You're entitled to your opinion, but it's ratings like this that are clearly done to simply drag the rating down which are ruining the integrity of this site.

dante1991
September 17th 2013


550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^ Not meaning to fanboy rant or anything, I get that I'll get more out of this than most here, but
surely 1.0 is saved for the likes of Crazy Frog, Lulu and Dedicated to Chaos level bad, and you can't
seriously say this is at that level. The same thing happened with Sevenfold's latest (ok, that was
pretty weak, but nowhere near as bad as people are making out)...

tempest--
September 17th 2013


13872 Comments


who cares

dante1991
September 17th 2013


550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I know it's all subjective and a rating on here doesn't take your enjoyment away in the long run, just seem to be seeing a lot of extreme reactions to things lately.

It's like on IMDB when people rate "1" or "10" to a film to raise/lower it's rating. Silly stuff

tempest--
September 17th 2013


13872 Comments


who cares [2]

Parallels
September 17th 2013


6641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"the most restrained and tasteful Rudess has been on ANY DT album he's been on."

Dude Train of Thought he would vanish for several minutes and then jump in, like Portnoy and Petrucci kicked his ass in a cage and only let him out for air to solo. Also nobody is saying he is tasteless, but rather that he is overbearing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy