Janelle Monae The Electric Lady
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
September 9th 2013


21888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ah. The only black gay guys I know listen to shitty house and scenecore. -_-

Digging: Chansey - Natural Cure

Cygnatti
September 9th 2013


21888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Hmm. "I shall." - Decayingmajesty

osmark86
September 10th 2013


4513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

guess that makes me a black, gay guy because this album sways and grooves. Janelle delivers yet again.

Digging: Emptiness - Nothing but the Whole

linkinmuse
September 10th 2013


132 Comments


"dating back to early demo recordings and culminating in critically acclaimed The ArchAndroind three years ago."

ArchAndroid*

ILJ
September 10th 2013


6729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I like AA better but this is still really really good.

beefshoes
September 10th 2013


4314 Comments


I might listen to this after class. Love this lady.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

Tyrael
September 10th 2013


20946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ughh this is sooooo good

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013


10362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

I really dislike the last song. So underwhelming.

Tyrael
September 10th 2013


20946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Now you die

Cygnatti
September 10th 2013


21888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

+1

Tyrael
September 10th 2013


20946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I might like this better than the Archandroid, even though the skits are getting a bit annoying

Cygnatti
September 10th 2013


21888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Now you die.

PenisforPenis
September 10th 2013


17 Comments


clever

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013


7432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

I definitely like it more than ArchAndroid. I'm also not a huge fan of the last track, probably the worst moment on here, still good enough.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

beefshoes
September 10th 2013


4314 Comments


I like Omaha's avi.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013


10362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

still good enough.

See, it's just hard for me to say that about Janelle. She's clearly capable of making some incredible music, and the fact that this record feels so fledgling towards its end really rubs me the wrong way. Suite III may have been a bit drowsy in some parts, but at least Monae ended it with Say You'll Go and ByeBopByeYa, two of her most comprehensive and satisfying tunes.

Granted, this is only after a single listen so my opinions will likely change a bit. I'm just hoping it grows on me.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
September 10th 2013


4951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

both of her LPs are bloated. Still doesn't beat her EP (chase suite). This is definitely a step up from archandroid though.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013


7432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

Suite V is more retrospective, stripped-down, and certainly less immediate. There's more poignancy there (in comparison to Suite IV) that unravels with multiple listens, though.

Ah yeah, I really dig her EP. Sincerely Jane may be still my favorite song of hers.

Cygnatti
September 10th 2013


21888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

idk why, I've never been impressed by her EP. I'll have to give that more spins, then.

PenisforPenis
September 10th 2013


17 Comments


wats yr legit rating for this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy