Janelle Monae The Electric Lady
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
September 9th 2013


21826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

whoa now!

Digging: Autechre - Chiastic Slide

gosk8n
September 9th 2013


1058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Anybody else feel those Pixies vibes on the track 'Primetime'?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


10354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

I feel many vibes on PrimeTime, all of them being pure gold.

ILJ
September 9th 2013


6728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

" I'm going to hope that it'll be just like Suite III was for me, that one grew massively after a while even though I didn't dig it the first few times."

i was that way too, hoping it happens here too.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

ChubButternickJr
September 9th 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the booty don't lie but it does tend to stink a bit. the interludes kill the momentum of the record. overall its just to close
to archandroids and kind of a let down for me.

3.5

WatchItExplode
September 9th 2013


3292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been waiting for this album to come out. I really hope it's on par with suites II & III if not better. Janelle has the potential to put out a true classic imo.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


10354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

I disagree about the interludes. They really add a sense of uniformity to the record for me



greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

They are annoying when you listen to them for the nth time.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


10354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

ah, yes, i can understand that more

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2013


7401 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah the interludes are a little irritating here, but I'm liking what I hear otherwise.

dylantheairplane
September 9th 2013


2171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

She is from my city, saw her at our art museum yesterday just down the street from my place.

botb
September 9th 2013


9756 Comments


i hate that every time a pop star uses an "alter ego" it's regarded as groundbreaking or something but it's such a beaten to death concept

Digging: Solstafir - Ótta

Anthracks
September 9th 2013


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mmm, I think this is less ambitious and creative, but to each his own. This whole album kind of blends together, whereas ArchAndroid felt like such a motley medley. I'm not saying either design is superior or inferior, but I certainly prefer AA and would consider it more creatively ambitious.

Digging: Ariel Pink - Pom Pom

Anthracks
September 9th 2013


3774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^Plus, no pop alter ego will ever compare to Kevin Barnes turning himself into a black transsexual prostitute.

wabbit
September 9th 2013


7020 Comments


Is this important right now?

TooLateToGoBack
September 9th 2013


1779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome, very excited to listen to this.

larrytheslug
September 9th 2013


1315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i wasnt completely sold on this until i found out that jm was actually the electric lady!!

RosaParks
September 9th 2013


14951 Comments


possible aoty

Gwyn.
September 9th 2013


15249 Comments


didn't listen 5/5

Cygnatti
September 9th 2013


21826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Agreed with anthrax. This feels bloated, and mushy compared to archandroid. Still dig it hard, tho.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy