Janelle Monae The Electric Lady
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


10393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

I feel many vibes on PrimeTime, all of them being pure gold.

Digging: Francis Harris - Minutes of Sleep

ILJ
September 9th 2013


6755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

" I'm going to hope that it'll be just like Suite III was for me, that one grew massively after a while even though I didn't dig it the first few times."

i was that way too, hoping it happens here too.

ChubButternickJr
September 9th 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the booty don't lie but it does tend to stink a bit. the interludes kill the momentum of the record. overall its just to close
to archandroids and kind of a let down for me.

3.5

WatchItExplode
September 9th 2013


3332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been waiting for this album to come out. I really hope it's on par with suites II & III if not better. Janelle has the potential to put out a true classic imo.

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


10393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

I disagree about the interludes. They really add a sense of uniformity to the record for me



greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


7489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

They are annoying when you listen to them for the nth time.

Digging: Bjork - Vulnicura

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013


10393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

ah, yes, i can understand that more

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2013


7458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah the interludes are a little irritating here, but I'm liking what I hear otherwise.

dylantheairplane
September 9th 2013


2175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

She is from my city, saw her at our art museum yesterday just down the street from my place.

botb
September 9th 2013


9808 Comments


i hate that every time a pop star uses an "alter ego" it's regarded as groundbreaking or something but it's such a beaten to death concept

Digging: Black Sheep Wall - I'm Going to Kill Myself

Anthracks
September 9th 2013


3804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mmm, I think this is less ambitious and creative, but to each his own. This whole album kind of blends together, whereas ArchAndroid felt like such a motley medley. I'm not saying either design is superior or inferior, but I certainly prefer AA and would consider it more creatively ambitious.

Digging: Of Montreal - Aureate Gloom

Anthracks
September 9th 2013


3804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^Plus, no pop alter ego will ever compare to Kevin Barnes turning himself into a black transsexual prostitute.

wabbit
September 9th 2013


7040 Comments


Is this important right now?

TooLateToGoBack
September 9th 2013


1783 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome, very excited to listen to this.

larrytheslug
September 9th 2013


1315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i wasnt completely sold on this until i found out that jm was actually the electric lady!!

RosaParks
September 9th 2013


15186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

possible aoty

Gwyn.
September 9th 2013


15392 Comments


didn't listen 5/5

Cygnatti
September 9th 2013


22939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Agreed with anthrax. This feels bloated, and mushy compared to archandroid. Still dig it hard, tho.

Digging: Sweet Trip - Velocity : Design : Comfort

Cygnatti
September 9th 2013


22939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

No sure if alter ego is even the right term here. It's not like she's superman or eminem/slim shady, where on minute she's janelle monae and the next she's condo mayweather. Slim and Em, and Clark and superman live in the same universe with one another. In the universe of this album, she's always cindi mayweather.

Cygnatti
September 9th 2013


22939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't really know lotta black people who like her but hmm.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy