Carcass Surgical Steel
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Solaire
September 18th 2013


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Take a person's Heartwork rating and minus by .5 (if Melodeth fan). Usually gives you a good idea of what rating they will have.

keyserfunk
September 20th 2013


288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Swansong, but it is widely reported that Sony execs influenced the sound much to the band's dismay and wound up pushing out the album with the aforementioned name.

Wizard
September 20th 2013


19820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

When you sell 80,000 on your debut major label, you had better live up to it more on the next record.

Digging: Prurient - Through the Window

Remer17
September 21st 2013


914 Comments


"what Heartwork did for melodic death metal is what Death’s Human did for more forward thinking death metal"

Did you mean more "straight forward" death metal instead of more "forward thinking" death metal? Good review either way.

Wizard
September 21st 2013


19820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

What I was going for was both albums had a more polished sound and yet homed in on their skill set to a tee. Both albums are amazing examples of cleaning up your sound and never forgetting your extreme metal roots. Make sense?

Solaire
September 21st 2013


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I got what you wee getting at. Those are defiantly two prime examples of good production albums that pack a heavy punch.

innn
September 27th 2013


1 Comments


6 0 2 6 9 6 1 THE GRANULATING DARK SATANIC MILLS is I N S A N E

I A G R E E.
and 6 0 2 6 9 6 1 has to be the best sung verses I've heard since quite a while.

someguest
September 28th 2013


22516 Comments


I'd argue this is the best of the metal comeback albums this year.

Wizard
September 28th 2013


19820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I agree with that.

Solaire
September 28th 2013


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I rated Gorguts at 4.5 as well



That being said I enjoyed the return of Carcass more than Gorguts.

DrHouseSchuldiner
September 28th 2013


5643 Comments


new gorguts>
but ya this is sweet m/

Solaire
September 30th 2013


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not too sure anymore. I like the old school melodeth that Carcass is serving up.

demigod!
October 9th 2013


46771 Comments


this is good

Digging: My Alias - Light

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2013


6591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

but it is widely reported that Sony execs influenced the sound much to the band's dismay and wound up pushing out the album with the aforementioned name.



In an interview for the album back in the '90s, the band said Sony suits rejected Swansong, because they wanted to be even more mainstream that it already was (!!!!)



Then Carcass took their work to Earache, which released the album right away.

Digging: Aelter - IV: Love Eternal

Wizard
October 9th 2013


19820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You should read the interview they did with Decibel Magazine when they inducted Heartwork into their Hall of Fame (100th one at that). The interview really set the tone for what was going on at the time before and after that record (hence how Swansong came to be). That's kind of what inspired me to write this review.



One of the dumbest things I've ever read about Swansong was on Metalsucks. It was a rebuttal review for the fact that the reviewer admittedly never listened to Swansong before going into this record and yet he said it was a suckhole of an album. He proceeded to back it up afterwards by writing the most bias piece of shit review to further prove his word was fact.

Smial
October 9th 2013


800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

holy flints captain that rating

ZippaThaRippa
October 9th 2013


2457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Then Carcass took their work to Earache, which released the album right away"



Aka 'The Great Rock n Roll Swindle'

Smial
October 9th 2013


800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

a 2.5 rating for a carcass album that isnt swansong and it is hurting my eyeballs

ZippaThaRippa
October 9th 2013


2457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh no, opinions!

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2013


16080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Dammit Cap.

Digging: Peste Noire - Ballade cuntre lo Anemi francor



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy