American Football American Football
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There are a lot of progressive elements on here, especially on stay home and honestly?

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013


1626 Comments


I'm saying this cause its pretty clear that a lot of people like your review and I'm willing to bet you would appreciate a
little criticism.

This is a great piece of writing but, as someone who has never heard this album before, as a review it doesnt work.

If you swapped the only song title here for any other golden age emo songs ("Lucky Denver Mint", "In Circles", "Why Did
We Ever Meet", take your pick) this could have been uploaded to any of their respective albums and no one would have
noticed. This really doesn't give me any insight into what the album sounds like. I get its emotional and I'm sure as hell
not denying its importance to you but I don't come away from this with any particular desire to listen to it.

I applaud you for taking a risk with the formula and I wouldn't have commented if I didn't think you were a talented
writer but you can intertwine music and emotions pretty evenly without favoring one over the other.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is pretty insightful, I appreciate the time you took to pick out stuff like that. I'll take your advice, thanks, I'll keep this in mind for future reviews!

DurzoBlint
September 8th 2013


1180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review I enjoyed reading it a lot.

Never meant is easily my favorite song here though, it is just one of the best songs I have ever had the privilege of listening to.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thank you! And never meant is brilliant.

oatmeal
September 23rd 2013


1 Comments


This album is great, and so is this review.

avonbarksdale221
September 23rd 2013


8231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Never Meant is probs the best song ever.

demigod!
September 23rd 2013


44392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that 3.5 pains me avon

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks! and this thread has covered never meant to death, Im starting to really love Stay Home, but its been a few weeks since I listened to this entirely.

demigod!
September 23rd 2013


44392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the summer ends has always been a fav for me

gonna jam this tonight, might bump it to a 5

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@avon, some people see the album as a downward slope in quality after never meant, I guess you feel that way?

avonbarksdale221
September 23rd 2013


8231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Similar ton your 4 for TM&A.
I said this on the last page:
My only problem with this is that it seems to stay at the same tempo the whole time. Its still a good (at times great) record but it can't seem to hold my attention for the full duration.
So yeah sorry demi bro.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Demi, the summer ends has some of the most emotional horns ever

avonbarksdale221
September 23rd 2013


8231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah pretty much Hogan. It just sets the bar so god damn high and the rest can't really live up to it
for me.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I feel that the album is best listened to when you need some cheering up, but I remember the first time I listened to this I was psyched after never meant.

demigod!
September 23rd 2013


44392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

with a haaaaaaand
shaaake

everything after never meant is just such chill relaxation gold

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

At one point during my first listen.. I began thinking that after The Summer Ends there would be some kind of hardcore extravaganza following it up. Foolish me.

demigod!
September 23rd 2013


44392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i wanna do a screamo cover of never meant

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haha id love to see that, wonder who would do it?

demigod!
September 23rd 2013


44392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

an off minor one would rule so hard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy