Avenged Sevenfold Hail to the King
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
unforgiven89
October 2nd 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They might borrow a few too many riffs on this album but damn, the songs them self are solid as hell.

furpa
October 4th 2013



42 Comments


Haha love this review. Very original.

NorwichScene
October 4th 2013



1409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album

Digging: Flood of Red - Throw

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2013



1846 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

People know what I'm going to say just by looking at the rating I gave. Let's face it, 80% of this album is simply covers. Or the next best thing, if you like. However, that's not the reason why I dislike this album. It's just that A7X have now seemingly lost whatever talent or originality made 'Nightmare' such a good album (Good I say, not great, before everyone throws hate mail my way), and on 'Hail to the king', it doesn't even seem like they're trying. It sounds as if they took a step back and decided to stop, well, trying so hard to make the album they wanted to make. The band probably think that this is their career-defining record, but it's not even the least bit inspirational or original. That said, 'Crimson day' and 'Planets' are the two highlights of "Hail to the king", but that's not really enough to make the album itself any more than a tedious affair. The other problem I have is that none of the songs really explode, the pace never really speeding up. I know, I should have expected the album to sound like this before even listening to it, but that's the thing. I did believe that what people were saying about this album was sometimes a little unfair, so now I'm agreeing whole-heartedly with them. All in all, not an absolutely terrible album, just terribly bland and unoriginal.

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

ChopSuey
October 6th 2013



2392 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

egg-zack-lee

TPM731
October 6th 2013



217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's one thing to give a negative review, but this is just downright condescending toward the band. Personally, I would expect a little more professionalism from a Staff reviewer.

MortimusPrime
October 6th 2013



3017 Comments


"It's one thing to give a negative review, but this is just downright condescending toward the band. Personally, I would expect a little more professionalism from a Staff reviewer."


hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. that's one of the funniest things ive read on sput so far.



Digging: Secret Band - S/T

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2013



9722 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

The butthurt in this thread is fucking hilarious

Ikarus14
October 11th 2013



532 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"It's one thing to give a negative review, but this is just downright condescending toward the band. Personally, I would expect a little more professionalism from a Staff reviewer."

Lol. But seriously, it's hard to blame them when this band is just being lazy with their songwriting by just copying everything else. First it's Black Sabbath, then it's AC/DC, then it's Guns N' Roses, then it's Metallica, then it's Dream Theatre, then it's NOFX.

See, if every song on the album reminds you of something you've heard before you know that they aren't being creative or inventive with their sources, or just disguising them poorly.

Mudvayne95
October 11th 2013



31 Comments


this band is complete shit. nuff said...

Owantjaaaa
October 11th 2013



3206 Comments


I like the song that copies bad religion

Digging: 411 - This Isn't Me

Chesse
October 14th 2013



529 Comments


hey does anyone want a Synyster G8ts signature guitar? they're only $1149!

Voltia
October 18th 2013



1 Comments


Why is this review even up? The album isn't even worthy of sometimes time.

CaliginousColors
October 23rd 2013



159 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Pretty formulaic, doesn't travel off of the beaten path at all.

BillMurray
November 5th 2013



6 Comments


Lol are you fucking retarded?

Lowder91bird
November 19th 2013



481 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

To say that a shitty album being released is worse than thousands of innocent people dying is just bullshit. It is neither true nor funny.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2013



9722 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, don't be a prick

Spec
December 16th 2013



27062 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

rev of the year

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2013



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

#officialreviewoftheyearstepoffhaters05fuckem

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2013



49801 Comments


#badbitchalert

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy