Avenged Sevenfold Hail to the King
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
unforgiven89
October 2nd 2013



89 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They might borrow a few too many riffs on this album but damn, the songs them self are solid as hell.

furpa
October 4th 2013



17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Haha love this review. Very original.

NorwichScene
October 4th 2013



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2013



1776 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

People know what I'm going to say just by looking at the rating I gave. Let's face it, 80% of this album is simply covers. Or the next best thing, if you like. However, that's not the reason why I dislike this album. It's just that A7X have now seemingly lost whatever talent or originality made 'Nightmare' such a good album (Good I say, not great, before everyone throws hate mail my way), and on 'Hail to the king', it doesn't even seem like they're trying. It sounds as if they took a step back and decided to stop, well, trying so hard to make the album they wanted to make. The band probably think that this is their career-defining record, but it's not even the least bit inspirational or original. That said, 'Crimson day' and 'Planets' are the two highlights of "Hail to the king", but that's not really enough to make the album itself any more than a tedious affair. The other problem I have is that none of the songs really explode, the pace never really speeding up. I know, I should have expected the album to sound like this before even listening to it, but that's the thing. I did believe that what people were saying about this album was sometimes a little unfair, so now I'm agreeing whole-heartedly with them. All in all, not an absolutely terrible album, just terribly bland and unoriginal.

ChopSuey
October 6th 2013



2383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

egg-zack-lee

TPM731
October 6th 2013



166 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's one thing to give a negative review, but this is just downright condescending toward the band. Personally, I would expect a little more professionalism from a Staff reviewer.

MortimusPrime
October 6th 2013



2031 Comments


"It's one thing to give a negative review, but this is just downright condescending toward the band. Personally, I would expect a little more professionalism from a Staff reviewer."


hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. that's one of the funniest things ive read on sput so far.



Digging: Gaza - I Don't Care Where I Go When I Die

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2013



7825 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

The butthurt in this thread is fucking hilarious

Ikarus14
October 11th 2013



519 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"It's one thing to give a negative review, but this is just downright condescending toward the band. Personally, I would expect a little more professionalism from a Staff reviewer."

Lol. But seriously, it's hard to blame them when this band is just being lazy with their songwriting by just copying everything else. First it's Black Sabbath, then it's AC/DC, then it's Guns N' Roses, then it's Metallica, then it's Dream Theatre, then it's NOFX.

See, if every song on the album reminds you of something you've heard before you know that they aren't being creative or inventive with their sources, or just disguising them poorly.

Mudvayne95
October 11th 2013



31 Comments


this band is complete shit. nuff said...

Owantjaaaa
October 11th 2013



2777 Comments


I like the song that copies bad religion

Digging: Oxbow - The Narcotic Story

Chesse
October 14th 2013



529 Comments


hey does anyone want a Synyster G8ts signature guitar? they're only $1149!

Voltia
October 18th 2013



1 Comments


Why is this review even up? The album isn't even worthy of sometimes time.

CaliginousColors
October 23rd 2013



159 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Pretty formulaic, doesn't travel off of the beaten path at all.

BillMurray
November 5th 2013



6 Comments


Lol are you fucking retarded?

Lowder91bird
November 19th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

To say that a shitty album being released is worse than thousands of innocent people dying is just bullshit. It is neither true nor funny.

Digging: Gamma Ray - Empire of the Undead

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2013



7825 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, don't be a prick

Spec
December 16th 2013



26833 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

rev of the year

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2013



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

#officialreviewoftheyearstepoffhaters05fuckem

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2013



48524 Comments


#badbitchalert

Digging: More Than Life - What's Left Of Me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy