Ministry From Beer to Eternity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
pillowhard
September 7th 2013



23 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Good review but I really do not like the album... I don't know if it's because If its because I dont support hate-groups or simply just the tone of it.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Jacob - Yeah, it's classic Uncle Al, lol

@pillowhard - Well, I rated it a 3 mostly because it's better than Relapse. It's an average record for Ministry.

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

Wizard
September 7th 2013



19206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nailed this album with your review Insomniac.

Digging: Merzbow - Dust of Dreams

Tyrael
September 7th 2013



20713 Comments


Omaha's avatar always keeps me occupied for a few mins every time I see it

*stare*

Jamper
September 7th 2013



91 Comments


in the second paragraph it should be "FBTE" instead of "FTBE", i guess...

good review though

Digging: Quiet Company - We Are All Where We Belong

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh. My bad, I'll fix that.

I thought people would be more into this, since it's more diverse than their latest stuff, but it appears to have a lower rating so far than Relapse. Weird.

Wizard
September 8th 2013



19206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're talking to Sputnik insomniac, they don't like industrial tinged anything around here.

As for the diversity of this album, I love it. The slower riffs just take me back to the days when I first owned Psalm 69 and The Mind is a Terrible Thing to Taste. Even "T.V. 4" is really fitting to the original. I love when Jourgensen does that staccato type of industrial metal and mixes it with his media driven samples. Really solid record!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, the TV songs are all funny and cool. This demented attitude is what I love most about Ministry. I've just found a copy of The Land Of Rape And Honey at a record store nearby. It's the original pressing, I love it.

Nine Inch Nails' latest record Hesitation Marks and Front Line Assembly's Echogenetic totally eclipsed From Beer To Eternity.

VlacDrac
September 8th 2013



835 Comments


"You're talking to Sputnik insomniac, they don't like industrial tinged anything around here."

Sputnik worships Trent Reznor like a god, just look at the ratings of the NIN albums.

Wizard
September 8th 2013



19206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sputnik worships Trent Reznor like a god, just look at the ratings of the NIN albums.

They worship his shittiest albums (With Teeth and so on). I don't feel his stuff from the early 90s is worshipped at all.

Nine Inch Nails' latest record Hesitation Marks and Front Line Assembly's Echogenetic totally eclipsed From Beer To Eternity.

Dear sweet jesus, NIN's new album is an abysmal disgrace to music. It's not NIN, it's Reznor's faggy happy hour.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Right now I like Echogenetic a lot more.

Acanthus
September 8th 2013



9535 Comments


Cool to have this and NIN on the front page.

Haven't been a fan of most of Ministry's stuff, glad this doesn't ruin anything for me. People like
industrial (even the older, original sound) but it's not a budding genre by any means, nor an
innovative one at present (other than a few groups).

Honestly it gets boring hearing the same beats and the like, I pretty much gave up on finding newer
artists.

Digging: Die Sektor - Applied Structure In A Void

LittleStranger
September 8th 2013



481 Comments


great review. good farewell to a wicked band

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Stranger.

@Acanthus - Yeah, most of the industrial bands I'm listening to have started in the 70s, 80s or the 90s. Those have perfectly shaped the genre. I'm not really accustomed to the new bands.

sinsexsodomy
September 9th 2013



197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Dear sweet jesus, NIN's new album is an abysmal disgrace to music. It's not NIN, it's Reznor's
faggy
happy hour."

its painfully obvious that HM is miles better then this record, Al hasnt made anything listenable
since 03,04.

ok ill raise this a bit, not as horrible as i thought it was gonna be, not Dark Side or Psalm 69
great but a pretty solid release, surprisingly seeing how the last 3 albums were utter shit. The
lyrics for some of the more humorous songs are pretty funny as well (loving the 2 songs about Fox in
the middle of the album)

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have to say I enjoyed the Bush trilogy, not nearly as much as their 80s or 90s stuff, but it had some cool, demented songs. This record brings up some bits from everywhere, so it's a lot more fun. However, NIN's Hesitation Marks is better, no doubt about it. Still, FLA's Echogenetic is the best so far. (I have yet to truly delve into NIN's record)

sinsexsodomy
September 10th 2013



197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

^music wise I agree but his lyrics on Echogenetic are pretty shitty at times and just seem to get lost int he music or sound very cliche of Industrial bands. I think the best from the old guard thus far is a tie between Skinny Puppy's Weapon and NIN's new album

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, Leeb sticks to the basics with his lyrics and delivery, but Reznor isn't far either. Music wise, both albums are really cool, but Echogenetic is a lot more layered. It's cool though that all these bands decided to release new music in 2013.

sinsexsodomy
September 10th 2013



197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

agreed, I actually got a lot of records this year, The Stooges, NIN, Skinny Puppy, Ministry, Bowie,
Nick Cave, Depeche Mode, Sabbath, Front Line, Filter.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013



3321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep. 2013 has been an amazing year for music so far. It'll be a tough vote for that that end of the year list.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy