Haken The Mountain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
rockandmetaljunkie
November 30th 2014


4534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

GIVE ME BACK MY RIIIIIIIGHT



my favorite track off of this record

LunaticSoul
December 16th 2014


568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the two bonus tracks as well, give a eff'n nice closure to this disc. It was a sleeper for me, it took me ages to reveal the grandiosity of probably the last damn fine proper prog metal band still doing something worth listening.





Digging: Glass Animals - Zaba

3NCrypt3D
January 9th 2015


107 Comments


I expected a louder and harder sound.

sam1oq
February 11th 2015


44 Comments


This album stands out for me this decade (2010+). It seems like there's some sort of general drop in form in metal in general this decade. Last decade and the one therfore you had progressive metal on the rise. Now it feels like we're in some sort of transitioning period to a new genre testing the boundaries of music. Anyway, I love this album. It's really good.

Oh, btw, Caligula's Horse made another good prog album in 2013. Definitely worth a listen.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2015


13124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the best albums of 2013 for sure.

TalonsOfFire
February 17th 2015


11646 Comments


I've been meaning to give this another try but I remember the vocals putting me off at first listen

Digging: Modest Mouse - Strangers to Ourselves

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2015


13124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's awesome you'll like it. Just the right balance of passion for what they do, great musicianship and glorious, well placed cheese :D

XfingTheSullen
March 7th 2015


2996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok, this album was fantastic. my only complaint is that the lyrics are a little bit too do-gooder. The vocalist must be a sensitive motherfucker, haha

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2015


13124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea it's a bit meh lyrically but musically it kicks ass.

Mythodea
March 7th 2015


2052 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How much greater this is from the new Arcane.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2015


13124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Like, a lot better haha

Mythodea
March 7th 2015


2052 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

indeed. It was a good and had potentials, but definitely not the prog album they said it is.

LunaticSoul
March 7th 2015


568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah no discussion. Arcane are so influenced by these guys.. But imho they lack the same musical proficiency, both technically and in the writing - it's a great disc for the prog lover but doesn't add much to what has been said before by some other bands. The Mountain is.. well, the name says it all.



Best prog metal disc of the 10s?



edit: it's objectively in the top 5.

XfingTheSullen
March 7th 2015


2996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I would say it's only considerably better than Arcane.

XfingTheSullen
March 7th 2015


2996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still need to listen to Rishloo though

Mythodea
March 7th 2015


2052 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Let's see, Rishloo, Haken, Steven Wilson, David Maxim Micic, Leprous, Riverside... The ones who keep prog known around the world....

Onirium
March 7th 2015


2550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the kscope label has achieved something great in that field. http://www.kscopemusic.com/artists/

Digging: John Coltrane - A Love Supreme

LunaticSoul
March 7th 2015


568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wait.. What? Tesseract are under Kscope now? How cool is that.



Yeah I'd add Tesseract to the list anyway, their second disc is criminally underrated around here. To be fair there are loads of bands that have been pushing boundaries in the last few years, some of them from the 'djent' scene (Micic, Disperse, Tesseract, AaL and so on). prog is alive and well, albeit in different forms, as it should be. Otherwise it's not prog.





Onirium
March 7th 2015


2550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Prog is definitely alive - and more so than during the past thirty years in my opinion - and I think the scene has garnered enough of a cult following to never actually fade away completely.

Mythodea
March 7th 2015


2052 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yipeeeee!!!! K Scope catalogue is a must for everyone digging prog. Many cool names in there. Quality stuff.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy