Haken The Mountain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
StormChaser
November 15th 2013


444 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

That was some deep (throat) shit!



lol

SirDrumsalot
November 18th 2013


1745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Listened to this all weekend long and have come to the conclusion that it deserves more than my initial rating of 3.5. This is an incredible album with just a few shortcomings. Definitely glad I decided to give it a second chance.

Pennywise_M
November 18th 2013


7454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed. Modern proggy goodness

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2013


17629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well it's a mix of old and new prog which is why it sounds different imo

SirDrumsalot
November 18th 2013


1745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed. Reminds a lot of stuff out of the...60's 70's era. Mixed with present stuff.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2013


17629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Kinda reminds me of Yes because of the corny vocal style.

Pennywise_M
November 18th 2013


7454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

".. That actually manages to sound different from other major prog metal acts"



True.



I don't know many older prog acts so i can't say much about it. But they're definitely more the "traditional" prog kind, not the "muh Periphuries" prog. lol

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2013


17629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is definitely more traditional but I hate the person who coined the term "faux prog" on this site

lol

Pennywise_M
November 19th 2013


7454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The acapella sections are wonderful. I'm surprised of how much i love this album taking in account everything that goes on in it + Cockroach King is a fucking jam imo m/

TronaldDump
November 19th 2013


517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best prog of 2013

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2013


17629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed hard

JamesLentil
November 19th 2013


59 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Have you guys had a chance to hear the new Fates Warning yet?

SirDrumsalot
November 19th 2013


1745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yep. This is better imo.

JamesLentil
November 19th 2013


59 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm still deciding on that. I really enjoy the new FW. This is really good though. I may bump my rating up to a 3.5.

SirDrumsalot
November 19th 2013


1745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dont stop at 3.5

I'll be honest this one took me a few listens to really let it sink in. But once it did, man... I love this album.

tommygun
November 27th 2013


26250 Comments


this is kinda bad idk

StormChaser
November 27th 2013


444 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well there are some parts where the instrumentation is it's own purpose, but those are few. And I'd say they're much more focused on the "rock" side of things than metal here at least. Which I love. You just have to look at each song individually, read the lyrics (which are admittedly cheesy in some instances) and see how well they fit with the music, you'll see it makes much more sense that way. The vox are an acquired taste, but I've learned to love them. Especially the a cappella stuff here

JokineAugustus
November 27th 2013


8409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

A light 4.5 for me. Kinda grew off a bit.

KILL
November 27th 2013


77191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

storm check genesis

SirDrumsalot
November 27th 2013


1745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Vox were hard for me at first too. And the album as a whole took a few listens to really get into it. But this is in my short list for AOTY now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy