Ulcerate Vermis
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
liledman
August 28th 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

threatening like a storm front for six minutes via fragments of unresolved chord changes




Maybe 'fragmentary' would be better here.



It’s fairly safe to say that Jamie is one of few stickmen capable of marrying such delicate and eloquent cymbal work with precision blast beats close to 250 beats per minute (George Kollias, Gene Hoglan, and Inferno probably round out the list of contemporary comparables).




This kind of thing I just find unnecessary. BPM counts do not matter, and it does a disservice to Saint-Merat's drumming to quantify it in such a way. Those drummers are wayward comparisons otherwise, and it would be more fruitful to draw out the differences between them, or better yet, just stick with Saint-Merat and discuss his style, point to what makes his cymbal work so eloquent, etc.



On top of the music are Kelland’s mouth-of-hell vocals, which are generally more percussive than lyrical. Some phrases are more understandable than others, but the song titles tell you all you need to know about Ulcerate’s thematic vision




This makes it sound like you don't care about the lyrics with the 'all you need to know'. Quoting the band on the lyrics instead of the lyrics themselves is strange. Why go to the effort of bringing up the lyrics and mentioning a thematic vision, the quoting the band on it, without actually giving the lyrics any attention?

Greyvy
August 28th 2013


5535 Comments


waiting for this to officially come out to listen, but confronting entropy is a riff fest

Abrogation
August 28th 2013


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is pure fucking evil.

Motiv3
August 28th 2013


8958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Metal album of the year. Might even end up as a 5 for me.

PunchforPunch
August 28th 2013


6279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013


17494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed.

Digging: Carly Rae Jepsen - E MO TION

PunchforPunch
August 28th 2013


6279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, it certainly better than DoA!

Solbrave
August 28th 2013


501 Comments


I actually enjoyed the breaks in Weight of Emptiness a lot.

Digging: Remove the Last.fm Beta Website Design - Remove the Last.fm Beta Website Design

GiaNXGX
August 28th 2013


4867 Comments


unplausible, backdrop correspondance.

pedro70512
August 28th 2013


4151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Captain – Those were intentional and grammatically correct, but perhaps I could phrase them better.





With regards to liledman’s dissertation on why, I assume, he negged (not a problem since he

explained):



1. I meant the former, that the theory behind non-standard chords and scales is much more complex

than that used to fit traditional heterophonic music together. Perhaps it was too much a personal

opinion, as a music major, than a scientific fact.



2. That’s a good point. Thank you.



3. On the debut things were faster and more chaotic, so unpredictable, but on the latter releases

they have become more experimental on a larger scale with forms and structure.



4. “Bridge” is at best metaphorical here rather than a specific designation. I’ll find a better

word.



5. On second thought, I’ll just cut “fragment” entirely since they only sound incomplete.



6. It probably is unnecessary. I was trying to give people who’ve never heard the band an idea of

what his playing sounds like – BPM is a measure of speed, not a bragging point like Dragonforce

would have you think.



7. If you can decipher more than 10 percent of the vocals you’re a better man than I. Since they

haven’t to my knowledge released official lyrics, I went with their philosophy about it. I'll see

what I can find.



@Solbrave – Unto each his own. I found them distracting, as if the song’s momentum was stalled every

couple minutes as opposed to a more focused structure a la “Drown Within”



pedro70512
August 28th 2013


4151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Key points have been addressed. I'd appreciate if the neggers would take another look.

MO
August 28th 2013


19868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

liled killin it as always

pedro70512
August 28th 2013


4151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well he made some valid points. I wrote this late at night and ended up putting some vague and personal points in it, though 4/7 seemed pretty harsh. If this gets taken down at least it'll reset the voting with a better review.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2013


10506 Comments


It's a really good review, good job Alex

mindleviticus
August 28th 2013


8542 Comments


liistened to a bit of it. it was dam sweet dam sweet

pedro70512
August 28th 2013


4151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Omaha. I try real hard.

BigPleb
August 28th 2013


42173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Feeling a 4 on this.

TheNexus100
August 28th 2013


2696 Comments


i think its better than destroyers

Fluffer
August 28th 2013


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a great review. I'd been wondering what the first review of this was going to be like haha.



At first the album was a bit underwhelming because of such high expectations I had for it, but even as a seasoned listener to Ulcerate its hard to grasp where they're going before five listens or so. Only thing is I've always had a slight gripe with their track ordering.



m/'s hard

DarkNoctus
August 28th 2013


9259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think the last two albums are better but it's still great



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy