Ulcerate Vermis
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
climactic
August 28th 2013



18638 Comments


holy shit need this

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



13981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh and superb review.

Digging: Abigor - Leytmotif Luzifer

liledman
August 28th 2013



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fitting together layers of dissonance in a way that makes sense is one of the hardest tasks in music


Do you mean that the layering of voices which are in and of themselves dissonant is such a task, or that a dissonant counterpoint of individually consonant voices is such a task? Could you elaborate on what would 'make sense'? In either case this is a broad claim that would perhaps be better replaced by a more appropriate comment on their dissonance and/or counterpoint. An exploration of the evolution of their contrapuntal style over the last few albums would also be interesting, as it has no doubt changed, not in the least now I think because of their increased focus on being a trio on stage as well as in studio.

After the band’s 2007 debut Of Fracture and Failure, bassist/vocalist Paul Kelland was brought aboard to complete the current lineup,


Kelland played on that album, only he wasn't yet the vocalist.

there came increased emphasis on complex and unpredictable songs, and the band’s trademark sound began to crystallize


I would say that the complex and unpredictable nature of their songwriting was apparent from their debut, and they proceeded to tone it down in places on EiF and especially on TDoA.

post-metal stylings; each lengthy song contained two or three furious peaks, but also bridges of sparkling cymbals and sparse, resonant guitars in equal measure.


I don't particularly like that post-metal or atmospheric-whatever is brought up with that album, but either way I don't really see the idea of multiple peaks bing used in their songwriting; generally they stay at a high intensity, every now and then reaching an even high intensity, though more often dipping back to those spare moments you mention. However, I would not use the term 'bridge' as it makes it sounds like the change of pace was from 'complex and unpredictable' to some kind of verse-chorus arrangement.


liledman
August 28th 2013



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

threatening like a storm front for six minutes via fragments of unresolved chord changes


Maybe 'fragmentary' would be better here.

It’s fairly safe to say that Jamie is one of few stickmen capable of marrying such delicate and eloquent cymbal work with precision blast beats close to 250 beats per minute (George Kollias, Gene Hoglan, and Inferno probably round out the list of contemporary comparables).


This kind of thing I just find unnecessary. BPM counts do not matter, and it does a disservice to Saint-Merat's drumming to quantify it in such a way. Those drummers are wayward comparisons otherwise, and it would be more fruitful to draw out the differences between them, or better yet, just stick with Saint-Merat and discuss his style, point to what makes his cymbal work so eloquent, etc.

On top of the music are Kelland’s mouth-of-hell vocals, which are generally more percussive than lyrical. Some phrases are more understandable than others, but the song titles tell you all you need to know about Ulcerate’s thematic vision


This makes it sound like you don't care about the lyrics with the 'all you need to know'. Quoting the band on the lyrics instead of the lyrics themselves is strange. Why go to the effort of bringing up the lyrics and mentioning a thematic vision, the quoting the band on it, without actually giving the lyrics any attention?

Greyvy
August 28th 2013



4251 Comments


waiting for this to officially come out to listen, but confronting entropy is a riff fest

Abrogation
August 28th 2013



38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is pure fucking evil.

Motiv3
August 28th 2013



8921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Metal album of the year. Might even end up as a 5 for me.

PunchforPunch
August 28th 2013



6191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



13981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed.

PunchforPunch
August 28th 2013



6191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, it certainly better than DoA!

Solbrave
August 28th 2013



233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I actually enjoyed the breaks in Weight of Emptiness a lot.

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

GiaNXGX
August 28th 2013



4867 Comments


unplausible, backdrop correspondance.

pedro70512
August 28th 2013



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Captain – Those were intentional and grammatically correct, but perhaps I could phrase them better.


With regards to liledman’s dissertation on why, I assume, he negged (not a problem since he
explained):

1. I meant the former, that the theory behind non-standard chords and scales is much more complex
than that used to fit traditional heterophonic music together. Perhaps it was too much a personal
opinion, as a music major, than a scientific fact.

2. That’s a good point. Thank you.

3. On the debut things were faster and more chaotic, so unpredictable, but on the latter releases
they have become more experimental on a larger scale with forms and structure.

4. “Bridge” is at best metaphorical here rather than a specific designation. I’ll find a better
word.

5. On second thought, I’ll just cut “fragment” entirely since they only sound incomplete.

6. It probably is unnecessary. I was trying to give people who’ve never heard the band an idea of
what his playing sounds like – BPM is a measure of speed, not a bragging point like Dragonforce
would have you think.

7. If you can decipher more than 10 percent of the vocals you’re a better man than I. Since they
haven’t to my knowledge released official lyrics, I went with their philosophy about it. I'll see
what I can find.

@Solbrave – Unto each his own. I found them distracting, as if the song’s momentum was stalled every
couple minutes as opposed to a more focused structure a la “Drown Within”


pedro70512
August 28th 2013



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Key points have been addressed. I'd appreciate if the neggers would take another look.

MO
August 28th 2013



18451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

liled killin it as always

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

pedro70512
August 28th 2013



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well he made some valid points. I wrote this late at night and ended up putting some vague and personal points in it, though 4/7 seemed pretty harsh. If this gets taken down at least it'll reset the voting with a better review.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2013



10043 Comments


It's a really good review, good job Alex

mindleviticus
August 28th 2013



8201 Comments


liistened to a bit of it. it was dam sweet dam sweet

pedro70512
August 28th 2013



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Omaha. I try real hard.

BigPleb
August 28th 2013



35521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Feeling a 4 on this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy