Washed Out Paracosm
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SalteyBacon
August 14th 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This review was excellent except that the reference to 'The American' too much. I understand you want to change up the
name but that namesake you used to death.

Anywho, this album is such a different path, as exactly how I see ChillWave going into. Greene seems to take a sound
colleague of more organic sounds and goes for, well what the cover art is. Retro greenery with all colors. I'm proud to own this
and will be in my top list for the year. He should go into this direction of DreamPop/Ambient. My only issue with this album is
no guest vocals.... REALLY dude? I was surprised since he commented a while back on not loving his voice. Sub Pop I'm
sure has some good singers, use the Label you're on to your advantage!

I'm very disappointed to ChillWave as a whole, and yes another complaint on your review popularizing this notion. The last
best year in ChillWave was easily 2011 with Washed Out's Debut and Neon Indian Sophomore album, Toro Y Moi, other
artists I forget their names, etc. I'm lazy to look them up but still. I don't think the genre is dead, but it can only morph into
things people know and have a fan base, and Washed Out pulled this one off to make a bridge to Ambient, Dream Pop, and
Sound Collages.

Digging: Liquid Liquid - Liquid Liquid

Hopelust
August 14th 2013


1082 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I heard a glimpse of this on rdio the other day, sounded pretty good. Your review encourages me to glimpse with my ears a little further.


Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2013


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm very disappointed to ChillWave as a whole, and yes another complaint on your review popularizing this notion. The last best year in ChillWave was easily 2011 with Washed Out's Debut and Neon Indian Sophomore album, Toro Y Moi, other artists I forget their names, etc. I'm lazy to look them up but still.


I didn't say this was chillwave's best year I just said it was having a great year. 2011 was definitely better than 2013 - you won't get any argument from me there.

craycraig
August 15th 2013


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album slays. "Paracosm/Great Escape" might be some of the best songs i've heard all year.

Digging: Revocation - Deathless

craycraig
August 15th 2013


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This review was excellent except that the reference to 'The American' too much."

haha, agreed.

Good review regardless though

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2013


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah somehow that slipped through my edits. It's symptomatic of overwriting, if nothing else. But thanks for pointing it out peeps - will edit it when I get home.

808muzik
August 15th 2013


955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

better than the last. i always seem to enjoy this well enough listening but forget how the songs sound when it's over.

Digging: Vince Staples - Hell Can Wait

Fckdfromthestart
August 15th 2013


21 Comments


Great album plain and simple.

SabertoothMonocle
August 15th 2013


493 Comments


This sounds like neon indian

which is AWESOME

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2013


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Word =)

asaf
August 16th 2013


888 Comments


nice review. I just think the last line is a little silly.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
August 16th 2013


13339 Comments


i had that 20 min thing he did it was k

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

RuanCSC
August 16th 2013


131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really nice. I loved it. I have to admit I didn't know much chillwave, but, God, this record is good.

mindleviticus
August 16th 2013


8292 Comments


Probably lame like his other album

PunchforPunch
August 16th 2013


6280 Comments


qt av

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2013


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

nice review. I just think the last line is a little silly.


Funny you should mention that haha - I just discovered today that that last line is what Metacritic are choosing to use as their blurb for Sputnik's rating of this album. All of a sudden I'm fervently hoping they don't share your opinion LOL =S

Valixous
August 16th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Way different to Within and Without. Not a bad thing though, I really enjoy this album.


Rev
August 18th 2013


9436 Comments


this made for really awesome sex tonight


gonna listen to it again later with headphones

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2013


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

gonna listen to it again later with headphones


That's what made it for me.

this made for really awesome sex tonight


Glad I could help!

omik1116
August 18th 2013


522 Comments


Not even into this stuff but that summary makes it seem interesting



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy