Pond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chesse
August 12th 2013


529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i haven't listened to anything in this style but this has me interested.

rasputin
August 13th 2013


14550 Comments


the only thing more embarrassing about sharing a city with members of Pond is sharing a city with members of Tame Impala

CameoLover
August 13th 2013


415 Comments


This is really awesome, and I love how short it is. Great stuff.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This is really good. Ace review, Hernan. Xanman is one of the highlights, I don't care for the title track though.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

keyokeyo
August 13th 2013


329 Comments


My friend told me about this recently and I knew it was a matter of time before SgtPepper was on the case

Chrisjon89
August 14th 2013


3731 Comments


good review man. i might've missed some but good to see you reviewing again.

will try and check this out soon!

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

YoYoMancuso
August 15th 2013


11149 Comments


Hernan where have you been my friend

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2013


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@Chris
Hey Chris, how's life? and thanks, Hope you like it.

@Jack
I've been distracted with other stuff lately. But I'll be around a lot more in the upcoming days.

tombits
August 18th 2013


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Glad to see a review of this album, and especially in the staff section. Compared to "Beard, Wives, Denim" this just seems to have more meat on the bones; its jams are heavier ("aloneaflameaflower"), its grooves are more mind-melting ("O Darma") and Allbrook has finally stepped up to the plate to assert himself as a seriously capable lead vocalist ("Xanman"). Definitely take the opportunity to see these guys live, it's a pretty entertaining and raucous show.

JumpTheF**kUp
August 19th 2013


2710 Comments


the only thing more embarrassing about sharing a city with members of Pond is sharing a city with members of Tame Impala


came here to say exactly this lol

DrGonzo1937
August 19th 2013


5897 Comments


Gonna have to check this out

Digging: Ilenkus - The Crossing

mindhelix
August 20th 2013


26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Love this album. Nice writeup!

conesmoke
August 22nd 2013


5240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

xannnmannnnn. The psychedelic production at the end of giant tortoise is soo damn cool. Also, why do they stop a couple of
the songs JUST when it's getting tasty?

conesmoke
August 27th 2013


5240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHY DAMNIT?!

tombits
August 28th 2013


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"midnight mass" is deceptively tasty after consecutive listens.

in other news, went to a free show to see nick allbrook support king gizzard. his solo stuff is really eclectic and weird; he was playing guitar and singing over some backing tracks in combination with a drum machine. lots of bowie and rolling stones influences; definitely something to look forward to if he ever releases any of it (he might slot it under allbrook/avery). in person he's as cooked as you'd expect, but also a really lovely guy.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2013


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

I didn't know he did any solo stuff. but a bowie/stones mix sounds pretty cool.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2013


20987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Surprised this has a lower average than Beard, Wives, Denim. That album is great too but this is a step up imo. Definitely one of my favourite albums of the year so far.

RogueNine
January 15th 2014


1331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

FATHER, LOVER, SUPERVISAAAA

conesmoke
January 15th 2014


5240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the only thing more embarrassing about sharing a city with members of Pond is sharing a city with members of Tame Impala"

HAHA 100% agreed. Pond>Tame Impala tho. Tame Impala fans in Aus literally ONLY listen to tame impala... it's retarded.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2014


20987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Only a 3, Rogue?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy