Pond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chesse
August 12th 2013



529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i haven't listened to anything in this style but this has me interested.

rasputin
August 13th 2013



14516 Comments


the only thing more embarrassing about sharing a city with members of Pond is sharing a city with members of Tame Impala

CameoLover
August 13th 2013



415 Comments


This is really awesome, and I love how short it is. Great stuff.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This is really good. Ace review, Hernan. Xanman is one of the highlights, I don't care for the title track though.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

keyokeyo
August 13th 2013



328 Comments


My friend told me about this recently and I knew it was a matter of time before SgtPepper was on the case

Chrisjon89
August 14th 2013



3364 Comments


good review man. i might've missed some but good to see you reviewing again.

will try and check this out soon!

Digging: Ichiko Aoba - 0%

YoYoMancuso
August 15th 2013



10868 Comments


Hernan where have you been my friend

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2013



4380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@Chris
Hey Chris, how's life? and thanks, Hope you like it.

@Jack
I've been distracted with other stuff lately. But I'll be around a lot more in the upcoming days.

tombits
August 18th 2013



3469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Glad to see a review of this album, and especially in the staff section. Compared to "Beard, Wives, Denim" this just seems to have more meat on the bones; its jams are heavier ("aloneaflameaflower"), its grooves are more mind-melting ("O Darma") and Allbrook has finally stepped up to the plate to assert himself as a seriously capable lead vocalist ("Xanman"). Definitely take the opportunity to see these guys live, it's a pretty entertaining and raucous show.

JumpTheF**kUp
August 19th 2013



2710 Comments


the only thing more embarrassing about sharing a city with members of Pond is sharing a city with members of Tame Impala


came here to say exactly this lol

DrGonzo1937
August 19th 2013



5212 Comments


Gonna have to check this out

mindhelix
August 20th 2013



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Love this album. Nice writeup!

conesmoke
August 22nd 2013



5176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

xannnmannnnn. The psychedelic production at the end of giant tortoise is soo damn cool. Also, why do they stop a couple of
the songs JUST when it's getting tasty?

conesmoke
August 27th 2013



5176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHY DAMNIT?!

tombits
August 28th 2013



3469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"midnight mass" is deceptively tasty after consecutive listens.

in other news, went to a free show to see nick allbrook support king gizzard. his solo stuff is really eclectic and weird; he was playing guitar and singing over some backing tracks in combination with a drum machine. lots of bowie and rolling stones influences; definitely something to look forward to if he ever releases any of it (he might slot it under allbrook/avery). in person he's as cooked as you'd expect, but also a really lovely guy.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2013



4380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

I didn't know he did any solo stuff. but a bowie/stones mix sounds pretty cool.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2013



19978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Surprised this has a lower average than Beard, Wives, Denim. That album is great too but this is a step up imo. Definitely one of my favourite albums of the year so far.

RogueNine
January 15th 2014



1146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

FATHER, LOVER, SUPERVISAAAA

conesmoke
January 15th 2014



5176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the only thing more embarrassing about sharing a city with members of Pond is sharing a city with members of Tame Impala"

HAHA 100% agreed. Pond>Tame Impala tho. Tame Impala fans in Aus literally ONLY listen to tame impala... it's retarded.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2014



19978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Only a 3, Rogue?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy