Dead Letter Circus The Catalyst Fire
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2013


11464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think they took everything that made This Is The Warning so good and expanded upon it I love it

unforgiven89
September 16th 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They didn't really expand upon anything though. It's basically This Is The Warning but with really forgettable songs. I Am is an exception aswell as Lodestar and Burning Man to an extent.



Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2013


11464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nothing on TITW really blow me away. Stuff like The Veil, I Am, And Insiders are amazing.

unforgiven89
September 17th 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow, really? Not even Here We Divide or Big? Every song on TITW is just so god damn catchy. This also applies for their earlier E.P's.



Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2013


11464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Doesn't mean I thought it was bad in any way haha. I'll download it and listen to it again tomorrow. Only heard it once, but I remember thinking I wouldn't really come back to it. But I love this so much so I'll listen again.

unforgiven89
September 17th 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Aaaah ok. I feel the opposite. I'll always come back to TITW. I'll probably only ever listen to a few songs here and there off this.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2013


11464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

After listening that TITW again I've come to the conclusion I love them both equally. Idk what I didn't love about TITW the first time.

unforgiven89
September 18th 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

TITW is far better. Honestly, I think the worst song on TITW is better than anything on this album except probably I Am.

pjquinones747
September 18th 2013


766 Comments


This is so fucking good.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2013


11464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed

unforgiven89
September 18th 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

On the plus side, Kim benzie has cut back on his lyric recycling. There's less talk of life being a game, walking lines and wanting to change.

There's even an electronic song on here where they really try to recreate cage and fail miserably.


DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2013


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Following a couple of line-up changes, Australian alt-rockers Dead Letter Circus refine - rather than reinvent - their atmospheric sound on 2nd LP 'The Catalyst Fire'. With textured electronic flourishes being much subtler this time around, this is a progressive - yet accessible - album which has been slickly produced. The soaring vocal melodies of Kim Benzie once more captivate, as does Luke Williams' thumping drums. It may not reach the individual heights of its predecessor, but 'The Catalyst Fire' is another satisfying grower that should contain something for everyone. Recommended Tracks: Alone Awake, The Cure, Insider & Lodestar.


RadicalEd
October 3rd 2013


2761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Kinda disappointing release. Not bad. But just feels like a lesser version of the Warning.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 3rd 2013


11464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They're both just as good to me. The Veil and I Am kick ass.

peartnoy
October 3rd 2013


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite is Lost Without Leaders right now. Say Your Prayers and Lodestar are awesome too.

unforgiven89
October 4th 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Kinda disappointing release. Not bad. But just feels like a lesser version of the Warning."

Exactly. Every song on TITW was ridiculously catchy and memorable. There are actually a fair few boring songs on this.

They really need to progress their sound and and get out of their comfort zone. It'd be interesting to see what they come up with if they were forced to write a song without the delay pedal.

Drummerboy123
October 4th 2013


2418 Comments


Goin to see these guys tonight! Should be sweet. Both albums are 4's IMO.

Excellent stuff. Alone Awake is my fave by far.

Digging: Skyharbor - Guiding Lights

LilLioness
October 31st 2013


2727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As someone who loves "Here We Divide", "One Step", "The Drum", "Cage" and "This Long Hour", this
release is just as disappointing as "Lodestar" made me think it would be.

As a whole it is pretty good, but nothing really stands out.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2013


11464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is so great. It has so much energy to it and I feel the same way about TITW.

Drummerboy as a drummer what you think of the drumming on here? I think it's top notch and one of the highlights of the record

unforgiven89
November 2nd 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, when i heard Lodestar i thought "pretty average, i hope it's the worst song on the album".

Little did i know it'd actually end up being one of most memorable lol.

I was kind of hoping the Karnivool/DLC tour would help me appreciate this album more but they're not coming to Adelaide so oh well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy