Causa Sui Euporie Tide
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jefflebowski
August 7th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well i guess that's my car playlist sorted for the next couple of weeks, thanks everyone

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2013



18168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My vinyl of this arrived today, along with Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound's "When Sweet Sleep Returned", which I recommend to anyone who likes this band.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

jefflebowski
August 19th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so tempted to get the vinyl of this, what's it like?

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2013



18168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haven't listened to it yet but it looks pretty sweet.

Mad.
August 19th 2013



2923 Comments


I'm pissed it's impossible to find CDs of Summer Sessions, I REALLY want one

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2013



18168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really want the vinyl box set of all three Summer Sessions albums but that seems to be ridiculously hard to find.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2013



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Mad. - try Discogs.com. you might find something used or even new.

Edit: nevermind, the prices are huge, if there are any.

Digging: Amplifier - Echo Street

CaptainDooRight
August 22nd 2013



26318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

JT will probably literally kill me but here's my honest rating. I'm glad they returned to the 'summer' style and all the foundations
are here for what I'm looking for in these guys however the actual riffs are too redone from previous works and the emotions
behind the new riffs just don't cut it for me. I like the new effect fusions and integrations and even patterns but again the same
problem still arises in that I'm not connecting to this. I know this may have not been meant to be a connective album in a
certain sense or whatever but all music should strive for that connective feel. With that being said there are some solid
moments that I really do enjoy and the drum work is top notch as usual but I feel the drums are wanting to carry the music
further but the ideas seem to be lost sometimes and a lack of dynamics really downplay this for me. This band should feel
really fortunate they have such a solid percussionist who knows what he's doing and who knows how to drive the music but if
there isn't much to drive then some may feel left in a bit of void. Now void is ok as long as its properly integrated and flows
into something dynamic, perhaps. This didn't live up to the summer sessions imo and I was personally/unfortunately let down
in my expectations.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2013



18168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Strangely I was able to connect with this more than the Summer Sessions albums. I found more moments of beauty on here (the last track for example) than I did on the individual Summer Sessions albums. I also like the way this this feels a bit more refined at times making the album as a whole feel slightly more well-crafted.

Different strokes I guess.

CaptainDooRight
August 22nd 2013



26318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, hopefully I can gain more enjoyment with this over repeated listens and trust me I plan to jam this several more times. I really want to get the most out of it.

Mad.
August 22nd 2013



2923 Comments


Yeah, it is kinda frustrating how similar this sounds to Summer Sessions, it would be great if they 'explored new territory'. I recommend Free Ride though, it's heavier and has VOCALS

Wolfhorde
August 24th 2013



11794 Comments


Whewt, new Causa Sui. I need to listen to these guys on a roadtrip through some desert-y place.

Underflow
August 24th 2013



2173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Take Jamie up on his Assemblehead recomendation, those guys kill it.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

CaptainDooRight
August 24th 2013



26318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sup Wolfe


MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2013



4107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

agreed cap'n. such a downgrade from Pewt'r Sessions 1

Digging: Oberman Knocks - Dilankex

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2013



18168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah this is definitely better than Pewtr Sessions. There are moments on here that seem to carry a lot of emotion (particularly towards the latter half of the album) which is really refreshing.

This also feels more refined than the Summer Sessions albums and as a result seems somewhat more cohesive.

MrElmo
October 17th 2013



1950 Comments


Just played the Juice and want more!

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2013



18168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This sounds so good on vinyl. One of their best albums for sure.

RadicalEd
October 17th 2013



2435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agree with jamie this smashes Pewtr Session.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2013



18168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Might bump this back up to a 4.5 soon. Not sure why I lowered it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy