Causa Sui Euporie Tide
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2013



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There are so many bands in the psychedelic/stoner genre, you'll never know when you find the right one. I wasn't aware of these guys either until this year. I listened first to Soledad off Summer Sessions, Vol. 1 and didn't pay much attention. Now, I really like that songs and the band.
Besides the few classic bands, it's mostly about patience and mood when listening for the first time, but I guess this goes out for every genre.

Digging: Amplifier - Echo Street

RadicalEd
August 6th 2013



2435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dam this really good. I really dig the lack of vocals.

Album art is glorius

Streaming on Spotify btw.

jefflebowski
August 6th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love this so far, sounds a bit like a much lighter kyuss with a 60s bent

Fckdfromthestart
August 7th 2013



21 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is good, really really good.

Mad.
August 7th 2013



2923 Comments


Samsara Blues Experiment artwork >>

jefflebowski
August 7th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah, this lot have a much more consistent and less cliched aesthetic

jefflebowski
August 7th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn, i've had this and summer sessions 1 on repeat all day, seriously considering getting a vinyl of
it which'd be the first one in ages

Piglet
August 7th 2013



4644 Comments


look like a weawwy fun albums i hope is good/10

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2013



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, these are the band's best records. I also like Summer Sessions Vol. 3 more than the remaining records.

jefflebowski
August 7th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

any chance you could point me toward more stuff like this? aside from the obvious stuff like colour haze et al

leddanny
August 7th 2013



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hi, Jeff... Have you tried Oresund Space Collective (if you're more into space rock), or maybe Papir (brother band of Causa Sui)?

jefflebowski
August 7th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've tried neither, so thanks for the recs!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2013



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess you've heard Samsara Blues Experiment, so try Siena Root, Monkey3, Sungrazer,My Sleeping Karma, Rotor or Methadone Skies (my band hehe).

Underflow
August 7th 2013



2174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My Brother the Wind, too.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

jefflebowski
August 7th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeh, SBE are not quite this level but still really enjoyable, but again thanks for all the pointers

nothing wrong with plugging your own band once in a while either :P

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2013



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, but sometimes I feel weird doing this.

jefflebowski
August 7th 2013



6841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you gotta get the name out somehow though right?

anyway i've been listening and it's really nice - if you'll allow me some constructive criticism it slips into standard-issue stoner rock cliches once in a while, but the tracks where you explore a more murky, leftfield sound like versus evil are fecking great. also mudstar is a nice change in pace in the overall flow of the album, 's got some lovely lead lines too.

what instrument do you play btw?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2013



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's why I bring our band when possible, to make people listen to it and share their opinion. Fortunately, most have expressed interest in our stuff, which is awesome.

I play guitar and on the record, I usually play leads. I wrote most of Mudstar (I hate this title, the drummer really wanted to name it this way) :D, happy to hear you dig it. My personal favorite is Exit The Void, I believe it's really encompassing.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2013



18171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

or maybe Papir (brother band of Causa Sui)?


Papir are great, their new album is really good.

You might also wanna check out Follakzoid and Black Bombaim, jeff.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

DrGunther
August 7th 2013



172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That Mudstar track is good! Especially like the spacey outro, very cool.

@jefflebowski: 35007 are another similar band to SBE, Causa Sui, Sungrazer etc. I've only heard the album "Liquid", but seen some of the others mentioned in lists on here a couple of times.


Digging: Sungrazer - Sungrazer



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy