Karnivool Asymmetry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Minus.
August 3rd 2013


2680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Last night I popped this into the CD player of my car to give it another chance and the production is just too shitty for me. Listen to Sound Awake and then listen to this; there is a big difference in production quality.

Drummerboy123
August 3rd 2013


2354 Comments


Production ain't THAT bad. Damn, this aint the blackest beautiful. Plus Sound Awake is perfectly produced so...

tempest--
August 3rd 2013


13439 Comments


yea production isn't even bad wtf
but i don't even think Palms sounds that bad so what do i know ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Drummerboy123
August 3rd 2013


2354 Comments


Honestly, in terms of production, you can't win on this site. It either sounds like a pile of shit or it's overproduced.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well it could be better but it's not terrible. Production was flawless on sound awake so they went for a different sound on this one people don't seem to like.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

The production is not too bad. It's more what Karnivool does with it.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoy unique times signatures but some of them on this just don't make sense and are borderline annoying.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

Actually, wait, the production on this is fairly good some of you peeps are just being needlessly loud about it damn!

Haha. But really though, I don't think it's fair to call it ~awful~ when it sounds relatively similar to their earlier efforts. Someone just explain what about the production is off, and I may agree with you on some fronts. If you're basing it on, like, the use of vocoder in Nachash and weird choices like that, then I may be in agreement.

Drummerboy123
August 3rd 2013


2354 Comments


"the use of vocoder in Nachash and weird choices like that, then I may be in agreement."

Whaaaaaatt? Dude the vocoder is awesome! Opinions suck balls.

zuzek
August 3rd 2013


750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Damn solid review and I can only agree. Just given up on getting into the record after the umpteenth spin. The more I listen to it, the less I like it and more sterile it seems. Even tracks like Eidolon don't pull be back to listen anymore. Karnivool sound so lost.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've said this a million times but I just listened to Sky Machine again and it's just stunning. You don't like that one Zuzek?

Minus.
August 3rd 2013


2680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've said in the past, there are about 6 songs on this that are pretty good; the rest just falls short.

zuzek
August 3rd 2013


750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I wish I could make it to 6. Eidolon, Sky Machine, Aeons, We Are. I actually didn't like We Are at
all when it was released, but compared to the rest of Asymmetry it's still a pretty good track.

Sky Machine is definitely one of the better tracks on the record. The problem is that that's not
hard to achieve as the complete package is such a convoluted mess it just makes me wonder what the
hell happened. To add a little extra poison.. I've listened to Deadman. A lot. Why on earth would I
listen to Sky Machine when I can just pop Deadman back on? It flat out doesn't make sense to me to
do that.

Actually, putting these words here I realize I should probably drop this to a 2.5.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha maybe you should

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

I wish someone would answer my legitimate question =[ I am curious.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


10187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well my biggest problem with the production is the unusual emphasis on the snare drum. Goddamn that's intrusive especially in The Refusal.

zuzek
August 3rd 2013


750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

About the production? I'm not so sure the mix itself is bad. It's just all over the place. One track the drums overpower, the next the guitars overpower. Float has pretty lush sounding atmosphere but most of the record sounds incredibly dry and instruments often sound like they're covered by a blanket. One thing is certain, the snare sits terrible in the mix. No clue wtf mister producer was thinking with that one.

DrGonzo1937
August 3rd 2013


5661 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album has just been dispatched. Look forward to jamming this one out!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


7387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Cool write-up Jacob. I like it a bit more than Sound Awake.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Underflow
August 3rd 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Never thought I'd see those words on Sputnik.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy