Karnivool Asymmetry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cipieron
August 24th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

iknowright? dunno what happened

KILL
August 24th 2013


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

still better than ur dig

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2013


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk man certainly not a lot of passion here.

percyforward
August 25th 2013


42 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also, what's up with those filler tracks damn. did they have to make it a certain length or what

digs795
August 28th 2013


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Float.

hiyabootchie
August 28th 2013


362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was a massive grower. Takes at least 10 times for a song like AM War to kick in, hated it at first but really dig it now.

YoYoMancuso
August 31st 2013


11189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I will defend this album until I die. A.M. War is the second best song here, such a jam

DrGonzo1937
August 31st 2013


6519 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Seriously disappointed me this album. The DVD is the best thing about it.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


10362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

Such a puzzling release this was

Underflow
August 31st 2013


2593 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't see the issue as a lack of passion, but rather numerous failed experiments. There's plenty of passion in We Are, Aeons, and Sky Machine for instance.

Drummerboy123
August 31st 2013


2418 Comments


Sound Awake Vol 2 now plz thanx k bye.

Digging: Skyharbor - Guiding Lights

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk there just isn't as much emotion to his voice on this one. Except on Sky Machine.

Rowan5215
August 31st 2013


27913 Comments


I never thought of Ian as a particularly emotional singer, his lyrics are kinda meaningless to me so I find it hard to connect with them.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I kinda do. Have you ever heard New Day and Simple Boy? I really connect with his lyrics on Sky Machine they're fantastic and delivered perfectly.

Rowan5215
August 31st 2013


27913 Comments


Of course I've heard them haha Karnivool were my favourite band before I joined Sputnik and I must've heard the first two albums 100 times. Personally I find the only lyrics of his I really like are in Change Part 1, my favourite Vool song.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If I'm gonna listen to Change I'll just listen to part two haha You don't like Illumine, Deadman, or New Day lyrically? I love them. Granted they're not "stunning" lyrics but they're pretty great imo

Rowan5215
August 31st 2013


27913 Comments


Both have some great lines mixed in but I don't find any parts of them emotional as such. Kenny always sounded kinda detached to me even though he's a great singer, he was never one to put a whole lot of meaning into his lyrics and vocals. So in that sense this album isn't too far behind imo.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aside from sky Machine this album just doesn't do it for me. I love his performances on SA and Themata. It's oddly fitting considering how heavy the music is. Agree to disagree in the meaning in his lyrics part bwahaha

Rowan5215
August 31st 2013


27913 Comments


Fair enough. Themata still remains my favourite by them regardless, and I'm still baffled at how people think SA is _THAT_ good.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

SA is epic, more meaningful, has better musicanship, better vocals. Just everything is loads better about it imo. Such a amazing follow up and New Day is so fuckin passionate. Themata is more accessible though so I can see why people like that one more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy