Karnivool Asymmetry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SitarHero
August 2nd 2013


4678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You can hear the music on the AM Radio?

Philalethes
August 2nd 2013


245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Great Review. I think it sums up very well the sentiment that many people who were previous fans of the band are probably feeling with this record. It is a very different and challenging approach they took, and it probably caught a lot of people off guard.

Its funny how truly subjective music can be, because the way you describe A.M. War alienating via pure music theory is probably the main reason it might be my favorite song on the record. I should probably clarify that I studied music theory in college, so I obviously have a bias towards this type of thing in music. However, I think it is very cool that you picked up on how the same dark and unsettling main riff that is played throughout the song, is presented in the middle of the song with new harmonic content (chords) "one more day..."part. Even though it is presented in a very abstract, non-diatonic manner through most of song, the same riff works with more traditional, diatonic chords. To each their own.

I would like to think however, that this record just might take some time to sink in with people, especially previous fans of the band since it is such a departure from their previous work. I truly think they are producing incredibly unique music, and this record just exemplifies all the original facets that the band has previously hinted at in their music, combined into one beautifully cohesive, even though at times, unsettling package.


UnnamedOcean
August 2nd 2013


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really agree on most of your points. I don't think any song in particular is bad, but the record is very poorly arranged.

CrazyBrave1982
August 2nd 2013


22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I agree that at times the drumming gets a little too clever, I end up craving a simple drum loop just to let a track stabilise instead of trying to figure out what the drummer is trying to acheive.

JS19
August 2nd 2013


4305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this album needed a review like this, but 3.2 is a bit nice for how harsh you were!

Digging: Lights - Little Machines

KerfuffleinaHussle
August 2nd 2013


764 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I even cut out more than a paragraph on why The Refusal is terrible"

Put that shit back in ; )

Great review and I gotta agree with most of this. The band's been bragging on their Facebook page about how "complex" the album is. What they don't seem to understand is that a shitty sounding song is still a shitty sounding song in 3/32 or whatever

JS19
August 2nd 2013


4305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These songs aren;t in complicated time signatures because they don't settle in them for long enough to actually establish them as time signatures. They just add extra beats here and there.

That isn't complex. It's not musically clever or anything (think Oceansize and their 11/8 obsession that they actually use properly). It's just throwing in a random beat now and then. It might make them feel good about being all clever but it's counterproductive. A song works much better when a beat/groove is established then departed from with reason and cleverly. This is not that

tempest--
August 2nd 2013


13615 Comments


Heard this nearly 10 times and I'm seriously still unsure on what to rate it.

KerfuffleinaHussle
August 2nd 2013


764 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"That isn't complex. It's not musically clever or anything"

Try and tell the band that!

JS19
August 2nd 2013


4305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Band is now the Axl Rose of prog

botb
August 2nd 2013


9689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is real good.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2013


10211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

JS19 this album isn't awful and it is easier to talk about the bad things than the good you know?

And thanks guys. Damn it, yeah, I accidentally called AM War AM Radio... Everclear on the mind, I suppose.

Mike08
August 2nd 2013


608 Comments


Excellent review Jacob, I don't know what to think of this record. It is not nearly as catchy, and the standout tracks are too far apart. On the other hand, I like complex drumming, so.... I think I'll stick with Sound Awake

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2013


10211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

Thanks man. I love complex drumming too (Bedlam in Goliath is one of my favorites,) but much of the parts here don't serve much purpose. Make sure to pay attention to the better songs here, though-- there are some gems.

JS19
August 2nd 2013


4305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'JS19 this album isn't awful and it is easier to talk about the bad things than the good you know?'

yeah absolutely. Plus, anything less than amazing would be disappointing from these guys so i can see why a negative review probably better reflects what people think about the album.

never thought i'd get a karnivool album where I have to skip half the tracks for being totally awful

Arron
August 2nd 2013


57 Comments


New dead letter circus is better. This is a 3.5/4... Sound awake is just too perfect.

Spokklett
August 2nd 2013


98 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really nice review.

Digging: Earth - Primitive and Deadly

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 2nd 2013


10373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed sound awake is perfect

JS19
August 2nd 2013


4305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I realise why i haven't listened to Sound Awake in weeks before now. It made me sad

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 2nd 2013


10373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I currently have Deadman playing in my car now haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy