Counterparts The Difference Between Hell and Home
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNexus100
July 28th 2013



2518 Comments


breakdown in compass made me vomit

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2013



6097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it's actually really silly but the rest of that song is pretty great

TheNexus100
July 28th 2013



2518 Comments


lol the rest of the song is pretty bad

silly isnt how id describe it

the word 'nauseating' better illustrates my view of it

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2013



50119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeh

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

joshieboy12345
July 28th 2013



5370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Just checked the lyrics for The Constant. So fucking great.

pepster50
July 28th 2013



328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

TCWCU is an amazing record but so is this, for different reasons. The guitar is definitely not as skilled as their previous stuff on here. I've learned quite a few songs from Counterparts, including most of The Constant(which is a fucking amazing song), and I have begun to learn Lost and Wither on here, and the guitars are alot more simple. Its a huge difference from John Locke to Wither, or the Constant to Lost. So much easier to learn.

That being said, is it really a bad thing? The guitars, while more simple, are still extremely interesting and catchy. They still continue to pump out weird grooves and melodic lead guitars. I can't complain because this record is great. Another thing that's sets this album apart from their previous work is how varied the album is. Some songs sound like Prophets era and some TCWCU. Every song has its own identity and feel. The songs on their previous albums seemed to bleed together.

I love this band.

pepster50
July 28th 2013



328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree that loving TCWCU and then 2.5ing this seems ridiculous.

Hopelust
July 28th 2013



965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The second sentence in this review is a doosy. Might need some shortening.

kingjulian
July 28th 2013



1297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album's got some great moments, but it's pretty inconsistent. Compass is grossly out of place.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2013



6097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hopelust: yeah that one I remember reading a couple times and wondering if it was going to work. I might split it into two. Thanks!

botb
July 28th 2013



9655 Comments


remember that time proggy changed all his ratings and started trying to be elite

loveisamixtape
July 28th 2013



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

All the leads are that same 3 note hammer on/pull off and that bending shit they ripped from Misery Signals but shit


lmao are you kidding

paradox1216
July 28th 2013



455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this and current are pretty awesome, prophets is too but i found myself listening to current more

Digging: The Helix Nebula - Meridian

Scoot
July 28th 2013



17734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

remember that time proggy was a mouthbreather

loveisamixtape
July 28th 2013



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

remember that time proggy actually had something intelligent to say

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2013



6097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no wtf

loveisamixtape
July 28th 2013



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

me neither

ChuckyTruant
July 28th 2013



15710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lmao

Digging: Palm Reader - Bad Weather

joshieboy12345
July 29th 2013



5370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've gotten into Current lately. Mind you, l only heard of this band due to this site hyping the absolute shit out of this.

ChuckyTruant
July 29th 2013



15710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Current is better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy