Palms Palms
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JS19
July 17th 2013



4164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's hard to get enveloped in a cocoon of sound like shoegaze is supposed to do to you if the sound is coming at you in one dimension like a brick wall

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

breakingthefragile
July 17th 2013



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I see where you're coming from there. This album definitely goes head-on as opposed to engulfing you, but I honestly don't find an issue with getting lost in it. Idk maybe I'm just a sucker for Chino's voice. Yeah, most likely that.

Digging: Glassjaw - Everything You Ever Wanted To Know...

JS19
July 17th 2013



4164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I honestly really wanted to like this, so I did give it a lot of chances. Guess I'll just go back to Deftones to hear more sexy Chino voice.

Wait, that doesn't sound like a bad thing at all

JasonCarne
July 17th 2013



241 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, this fell pretty short of what I was expecting and what the members were capable of making.

scissorlocked
July 20th 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this could be far better

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

sjp55555
July 21st 2013



85 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not what I was entirely expecting first listen but it is a grower. The end of Tropics jams hard.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 25th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

would have been a 4 if it came out in 2001

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 25th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

holy wow the guitars sound TERRIBLE

johnnydeking29
July 25th 2013



8987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a pretty generious 3.5
Tropics is easily the best song

Digging: Naked City - Radio

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2013



8744 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

everything sounds terrible

the drummer should have left the mixing etc. to someone who can actually do it

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 25th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this sounds worse than most low budget demos

Cryogenix
July 28th 2013



114 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I fail to see how this is post rock, but then again categorizing music is stupid in general. Sounds bad though, especially the singing is terrible.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2013



8744 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this sounds like a low budget demo trying to pass itself off as a studio-grade masterwork which makes it sound worse than most low budget demos

johnnydeking29
July 28th 2013



8987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm sorry, this does not sound like a demo. The production is weak, agreed, but seriously...

hiyabootchie
July 28th 2013



338 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has its moments

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2013



8744 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah you're right, it sounds like a demo with shitty compression/mixing and an obnoxious EQ spike

johnnydeking29
July 28th 2013



8987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's better :]

InbredJed
July 28th 2013



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm a fan of chino's voice, I just expected him to experiment more

Minus.
September 12th 2013



2680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The mixing is terrible

Hopelust
September 18th 2013



946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review is great, but I have to disagree. While this album might not have the climaxes that ISIS possessed, songs fade off in such an unforgettable manner to me. Antarctic Handshake is one example of this. Not to mention I think Future Warrior is one of the better stand-alone songs I've heard in months. The guitar leads are entrancing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy