Genesis We Can't Dance
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2013



1846 Comments


Funnily enough this was the first ever album I remember listening to by Genesis. Admittedly it was back when I was 6 and my dad had the album on vinyl, and I remember constantly humming along to "Jesus he knows me" and "No son of mine", and as far as I know it was rather enjoyable. I did the exact same thing with the "Shadowplay" album by Fish (That guy who was in Marillion a long, long time ago), but "We can't dance" is probably my fondest and earliest memory of actually listening to an album in its entirety and not getting bored. Obviously now I've shied away from it, instead focusing more on the band's 70s based records, but I just can't get the "Jesus he knows me" tune out of my head.

That little nostalgic comment aside, I thought the review was detailed and well written enough to inform everyone what this album is actually like. Good to see you're still "alive" too man

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

StallionMang
July 15th 2013



5237 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agree so hard with that summary.

Digging: TTNG - This Town Needs Guns

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this shit was my jam back in the day. my dad used to always blast this CD in his car on the way to soccer games.

then like five years later I discovered that they have GOOD albums too and I was like, dad what the fuck?

MO
July 16th 2013



18256 Comments


lol aids

nice review nag

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

KILL
July 16th 2013



70599 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fuck yes

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2013



49791 Comments


yeah my dad jammed false Genesis too but I always though it was shit

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

SitarHero
July 16th 2013



4604 Comments


Back when three unattractive middle aged men could have a hit pop song and music vide. The good ol' days.

Nagrarok
July 16th 2013



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The last album with Phil Collins, and really the last true Genesis album. We can't dance is a better way to say goodbye than the Calling All Stations album.


I agree, obviously. Thanks all.

SharkLasers
July 16th 2013



145 Comments


"and really the last true Genesis album. We can't dance is a better way to say goodbye than the Calling All Stations album."

Eh, in my opinion the last good/true Genesis album was Duke, but whatevs

Donchivo
July 16th 2013



404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

By far the best genesis pop-album, thou i have to admit that a huge nostalgia factor influenced my rating.

Btw: nice review, but who could have expected something else?

Digging: Exuma - Reincarnation

Jethro42
November 24th 2013



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you're expecting a resurgence in the classic sound of Genesis you'll be sorely disappointed with this effort, but if you more or less like the post Duke works from the group you should like this album as it has all the flare that those albums had.

Realm
November 24th 2013



2074 Comments


we cant prog

Jethro42
November 24th 2013



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are some great songs (''Dreaming While you Sleep'', ''Living Forever'' and ''Fading Lights'') mixed in with some truly mediocre pi├Ęces and or some Collins' solo stuff sounding tracks. One thing is sure; Album is too long.
It's good but non essential to an early Genesis fan's collection.

sonictheplumber
November 25th 2013



4268 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

m/

StallionMang
November 25th 2013



5237 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The sum of its parts is much greater than the whole. Here we've got a collection of some solid Phil Collins songs (I'd consider this more of a Phil solo disc than a Genesis LP), but being 70 minutes long, it's simply gonna bore the hell out of you without much variety or new/interesting ideas.

miketunneyiscool123
July 16th 2014



339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love prog Genesis, and I love pop Genesis. The ballads are stupid, but the rockier tracks are
awesome.

miketunneyiscool123
July 25th 2014



339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

MY JOKES ARE TERRIBLE. CAN YOU TELL ME WHY?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy