Summoning Old Mornings Dawn
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Passname
July 10th 2013



301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and then the flute comes in as well on that song. it's like you are being lulled into the forest to be seduced by an elvish succubus. why didnt i include that in the review

Keyblade
July 10th 2013



14721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah it's really hypnotic...pretty great in the context of the album

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

Dodecahedron
July 10th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Flammifer, the title track, Of Pale White Morns and Darkened Eves, and The Wandering Fire, but the others are taking more work to really get into and appreciate fully. Don't get me wrong, I still think this is a great album, but I keep feeling a little disappointed for some reason whenever I listen to it.

Dodecahedron
July 10th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I kind of like the two bonus tracks more than the other half of the album

Keyblade
July 10th 2013



14721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Earthshine is just such an epic closer. I don't think I've ever enjoyed Protector's vocals more.

Dodecahedron
July 10th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I prefer Protector's vocals to Silenius' most of the time with the exception of The Glory Disappears, especially on the two tracks that sandwich that track on Stronghold.

Keyblade
July 10th 2013



14721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Silenius' vocals on Stronghold are just omg, especially on The Rotting Horse. They actually sound really different to all of his other performances for some weird reason (which is another reason why I love Stronghold the most). Protector was always kinda weak in comparison, but dude snapped on Earthshine.

Dodecahedron
July 10th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Idk, I just love the more melodic (at least to me it seems that way) nature of Protector's vocals.

Keyblade
July 10th 2013



14721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah it is more melodic. It's almost like he's singing on Earthshine. But as far as black metal vocals go, I always found Silenius' to be superior...and he put in another superb performance on this album.

Dodecahedron
July 10th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess I'm a melody fag, which is why I generally don't like the old-school raw style BM much. Most Burzum is an exception though.

Passname
July 10th 2013



301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yeh ur the guy who doesn't think dol goldur is good. pls leave the thread thx

Dodecahedron
July 10th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never said Dol Guldur isn't good.. just not one of my favorite Summoning albums.

Hawks
July 10th 2013



35675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Dol Guldur is my favorite Summoning.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

Hawks
July 14th 2013



35675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Double post bump.

Keyblade
July 14th 2013



14721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

OOOOOLD MOOOOOORNINGS DAAAAAAWN I AAAM NOOOT THE LIIIIIGHT YOU SEEEEEEEEEEEE

Hawks
July 14th 2013



35675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

What's your favorite song here Keyblade?

Keyblade
July 14th 2013



14721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

damn it's hard to pick

but probably Of Pale White Morns and Darkened Eves. It's pretty much a sum up of everything that's great about this album in one song.

Hawks
July 14th 2013



35675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Agreed it's very hard to pick, but I'd have to say either the title track or Earthshine.

Keyblade
July 14th 2013



14721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah those two are up there, and Flammifer too. The bonus track The Darkening of Valinor is pretty sweet too.

Hawks
July 14th 2013



35675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They all just rule.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy