Sithu Aye 26
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AnimalsAsSummit
July 1st 2013


740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This shit gets stuck in your head like no other. ending melody on Mandalay. Gaaaadaaaaaaammmmmmm

Digging: Bolzer - Soma

JumpTheF**kUp
July 1st 2013


2710 Comments


"It’s about the notes played, not the way they’re arranged."

it's stuff like this that makes me hate your reviews. you use a lot of nice words but most of your reviews just end up saying either nothing at all, or something that doesn't mean anything. stop trying so hard and just write man, you're not a bad writer. fuck, it annoys me to no end trying to read you meandering around a point but never getting there or, worse yet, realising at the end that you didn't have a point to begin with.

SadAndHolyGlow
July 1st 2013


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review, Mr. Royal. Yet again.

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - You're a Woman, I'm a Machine

SadAndHolyGlow
July 1st 2013


1521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review, Mr. Royal. Yet again.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2013


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Well, someone's mad!!

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

JumpTheF**kUp
July 1st 2013


2710 Comments


you're right dude, i'm not sure why i bothered to give you some criticism either. if you're content with writing shitty reviews then so be it.

JumpTheF**kUp
July 1st 2013


2710 Comments


double postin' like what

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2013


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Hey man, I'm glad to hear criticism! If you see my other reviews, I actively have other people that point out
improvements on everything I write, so that's about as moot a point you could get.

I'm definitely going to keep in mind what you said, but most of your comment-- i.e., calling my reviews shit--
is useless to me. Why don't you focus your efforts on pointing out specific examples I could improve, instead of
telling me how much you hate it? That kind of comment's utterly useless, and you're just needlessly being a
dick.

Honestly, man, my reviews always have some improving to do. I've written maybe 10 or 12 in the last month
because I've had a lot of obligations to fulfill, and some have been better than others. I make efforts in every
review to be a better writer, and at some point I just have to say fuck it. I'm working on my writing through each
write-up, and I-- as well as you-- have to accept that if I'm going to get all these albums some attention, then
there's no feasible way I can write superbly for each write-up. I'm looking forward to when I have more time to
focus on my reviews, but in the meantime? Let's just accept I'm not the writer I want to be quite yet.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2013


8357 Comments


I'm working on my writing way more than any other staffer here
I don't believe it's fair of you to say that you work way more on your writing than any other staffer here. Some of us international guys really have to push ourselves to catch up to/keep up with you native speakers and from personal experience, it ain't easy.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2013


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Sorry-- you're right Magnus, that was wrong of me to say. Writers like you improve by leaps and bounds with just one single review, whereas it takes me a lot longer to get to that point.

Tyrael
July 1st 2013


20877 Comments


Magnus you're already one of the best reviewers this site has to offer bro

nothing left to prove :]

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2013


8357 Comments


I do think that are constantly improving and your production rate is well worth envying, Jacob. I just wanted to point out that we all have to (and do) continuously work on our writing. No hard feelings, man :]

@Tyr
Your compliments are appreciated, but I respectfully disagree. I think I still have a lot to learn/prove.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2013


10204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks, man, but I'm looking forward to when I can focus more time on each write-up. I've had to post a couple when I've simply been "pretty content" with them, and I don't like doing that. I think i need to sign up for fewer albums-- I find that my writing is the best when it isn't demanded, if that makes sense. Props to you for knowing your limits, as I think I've stretched myself rather thin as of late.

We all have ways we can improve, that's for sure. I think that as long as we stick to music we're passionate about, we'll be bound to take positive steps.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2013


8357 Comments


I think i need to sign up for fewer albums-- I find that my writing is the best when it isn't demanded, if that makes sense.
It does and if you yourself feel that you could do better, then I agree that you should sign up for fewer albums. Write only about albums that you really want to discuss/dissect in a review. Nobody's going to demote you when you review a little more sparsely, if that's what you are afraid of. It's all about quality, plus you can be an active staff member in other areas as well (blog, news, improving the site, improving the database etc.).

Acanthus
July 1st 2013


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know how you guys do it, my "best" work comes when I feel inspired and that happens few and far between; can't imagine how it must be to be assigned/take on albums en masse to review.

Digging: Falls of Rauros - The Light That Dwells in Rotten Wood

Gyromania
July 2nd 2013


15713 Comments


@Tyr
Your compliments are appreciated, but I respectfully disagree. I think I still have a lot to learn/prove.


this is what's so great about magnus. he isn't just being modest, he recognizes that there's still a lot to learn - there always is. as cliche as it sounds, if you don't learn to fail, you'll fail to learn.

MO
July 2nd 2013


18683 Comments


yea this is good shit

that picture of him on his site is awesome

TheSpaceMan
July 2nd 2013


2355 Comments


very inspiring review man, you tend to rec some great music!

ShovelThrash
July 2nd 2013


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Same ol' Sithu, as strong as ever!

Calc
July 2nd 2013


12196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a good review and everything but did it really need to get featured?

Digging: Jizue - Shiori



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy