Extol Extol
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Friday13th
July 3rd 2013



2190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No definitely no djent. It's progressive death metal with hints of black and technical thrash.

Digging: East of Eden - Mercator Projected

AnimalsAsSummit
July 3rd 2013



623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is just solid riffs and choruses out the ass. Love it.

Digging: Downstate - Night Colour

Spag
July 3rd 2013



1714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice avatar you dengus

Digging: Septicflesh - Titan

TrueBlood
July 3rd 2013



1388 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wat about me

DePlazz
July 4th 2013



48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

There's some hints of djent in the hooky baritone opening riffs of Open the Gates and A Gift Beyond Human Reach, but by no means is this a djent record. Also, vocal harmonies remind of Yes but even more of Crosby, Stills & Nash. This album is a real gem.

AnimalsAsSummit
July 6th 2013



623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks sprag

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2013



20650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

um calling anything on here djent is a bit of a stretch

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

WhereSleepIsRest
July 9th 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"cant say i hear how this and undeceiveds production are similar at all. undeceived had straight up gritty bm production, unless theres a remaster im missing or something "

I completely disagree, undeceived is not gritty or bm sounding at all! not even one bit. maybe you are thinking of Burial, because that def has little more gritty sound and much more bm sounding. id say Undeceived is probably one of the best recording quality dm albums ever... and you can actually hear the bass all through the entire album, the drums also are so clean and pristine

WhereSleepIsRest
July 9th 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah ive seen the "djent" reference a few places, and totally don't know where that's coming from.. gotta agree with the progressive death metal with black metal and thrash stylings. LOVE Ole's clean vocals

FearThyEvil
July 19th 2013



12280 Comments


um calling anything on here djent is a bit of a stretch

Fucking wiki has them labeled as that. Lol

WhereSleepIsRest
July 31st 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

album of the year!!!
yeah bitches

WhereSleepIsRest
July 31st 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

oh and by the way only 4 songs on this album have choruses and not all are completely sung.. the harsh vox are hardly 50/50 .. id say more like 75/25 and even that is stretching it, although there are plenty of clean vocals to go around.

terminusest
August 13th 2013



96 Comments


you'd have to be completely fucking deaf to think that undeceived sounded fuck all like opeth. COMPLETELY deaf.

you'd have to be completely fucking retarded to not immediately realize that a band basically named "Praise" was a christian band.

shit review because the reviewer is a moron

JokineAugustus
August 13th 2013



5700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I didn't think everyone on the planet knew what the word Extol means. The Opeth INFLUENCES are clearly there on Undeceived.

Digging: The Chariot - One Wing

Spag
August 13th 2013



1714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Year: Extol

Friday13th
August 14th 2013



2190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I extol those who extol to "Extol" from Extol by Extol. I win haha

JokineAugustus
September 6th 2013



5700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Still amazing! Solo at the end of Behold The Sun is pretty great for an outro.

Spag
September 6th 2013



1714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album kicks ass. My second favorite from them. Undeceived being my #1 favorite.

JokineAugustus
September 24th 2013



5700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can never give David enough credit. He slays 90% of drummers that I've heard.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2013



13529 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So, this is actually kinda boring as shit.

Digging: Krusseldorf - Fractal World



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy