Extol Extol
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
J0ckstrapsFTW
June 29th 2013



3582 Comments


Listened to the first couple songs and I was impressed must listen to the rest now

Friday13th
June 29th 2013



1215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the great review. I'm not a big death metal guy, but I really liked Undeceived and this is nearly as good.

Digging: Sebastian Hardie - Four Moments

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
June 29th 2013



19510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its good yea this is just better in every way

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing for Us Here

WhereSleepIsRest
June 29th 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Man bloc you do make me laugh!!!!! Anyone saying the riffs are boring clearly must name some bands with more interesting riffs than those found on this completely unique an amazing album.... I really love it especially the more progressive side absolutely amazing in all ways. And as someone who adores undecieved I dis agree with the production qualms. Undceived is just a clean sounding minus the clean vocals but never really have the cleans been layered and used as much during heavy parts. So in my opinion the really add a nice atmosphere to the sound overall.

WhereSleepIsRest
June 29th 2013



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Groggy it's because it isn't singing the Same vein as the rest, although every Extol album is different that one is so far from the others. You know, lol. But man once you let blueprint sink in its amazing and so glad the three decided to continue in the form of the band
Mantric

Spag
June 29th 2013



1669 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


i dont get the hate for blueprint dives it's really good

[2]

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
June 29th 2013



19510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cant say i hear how this and undeceiveds production are similar at all. undeceived had straight up gritty bm production, unless theres a remaster im missing or something

this is the only album of theirs i think is overproduced. it doesnt bother me much hence the 4 but its pretty damn polished for dm

JokineAugustus
June 29th 2013



4875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I had high expectations after hearing open the gates, and they topped them quite easily it seems.

Digging: Trash Talk - 119

Friday13th
June 30th 2013



1215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love that "Open the Gates" chorus in 5/4

jfromnj
June 30th 2013



3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I, for one, loved "the blueprint dives". I was a fan of "synergy" before it, but frankly, that Extol became technical for the sake of it, where I thought "blueprint" actually tried to mix that technicality with song-writing. This album is more like "synergy", and as a whole, in my opinion, more a step-back than forward.


Friday13th
July 1st 2013



1215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@jfromnj It's really not that technical. I actually thought many of the songs are concise and catchy.

DePlazz
July 1st 2013



43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album slays. It has the baritone vibe of Undeceived but also the jazzy/thrashy hooks and time signatures of Synergy, plus clear references to Blueprint and even Burial. The review should have mentioned the Yes influences in the clean vocals on this album, it is so obvious especially in Open the Gates.

xopethx
July 1st 2013



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

chorus/solo in Betrayal is absolutely perfect.

Undeceived15
July 1st 2013



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I agree

Spag
July 1st 2013



1669 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ministers is my least favorite on this.

wacknizzle
July 1st 2013



11909 Comments


This is pretty cool except for the damn choruses, ugh. I like Undeceived way way more.

Digging: Fall of Efrafa - Inle

Spag
July 1st 2013



1669 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn you chorus hater

wacknizzle
July 1st 2013



11909 Comments


I don't necessarily hate choruses, I'm just not really digging the ones on here.

CK
July 1st 2013



4530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just started listening, Betrayal rules beyond words

Spag
July 1st 2013



1669 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't necessarily hate choruses, I'm just not really digging the ones on here.

lol i know, im just fucking with you



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy