Brother Dege Folk Songs of the American Longhair
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mad.
October 14th 2013


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think so, but Dege has side-lined them for his solo stuff...
Their guitarist Primo left though which sucks :

Mad.
April 23rd 2014


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The man is a genius.

Mad.
June 21st 2014


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The atmosphere in Old Angel Midnight holy shit

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2014


8363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

He can craft a great atmosphere all right. I think the new album especially highlights that, as it's not super impressive on a technical level, but Dege makes simple ideas work really well.

Mad.
June 23rd 2014


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, his solo stuff is all pretty simple but that's absolutely not a bad thing. I need to listen to How To Kill A Horse again. I still think he peaked on Santeria's Year of the Knife

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2014


8363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I think this is a better album as a whole than How To Kill A Horse, but they're both really good. HTKAH's middle section isn't as great as its first and last third.

Mad.
June 24th 2014


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Black Sea and the t/t are stunners though. I remember Crazy Motherfucker being quite fun as well

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2014


8363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Crazy Mofo was one of those tracks that I didn't really dig to be honest. The two others you mentioned rule hard, as do Darker Side of Me and The River.

Mad.
June 24th 2014


3844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah and Wehyah too, forgot about that one. Definitely listen to Santeria - Year of the Knife if you can, I uploaded the whole thing to youtube here: http://youtu.be/Uhn1Q1A8eCc



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy