Havok Unnatural Selection
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
facupm
June 26th 2013


8607 Comments


worth checkin?? Never heard em cause i prefered to check Vektor since i was told is better.

mindleviticus
June 26th 2013


8331 Comments


vektor is so much better but this is pretty good too

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


20158 Comments


i like their last album better this one is pretty average minus about 2 songs

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


6563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for your input, everyone!
Atari: As an album, I think Unnatural Selection works better. Don't get me wrong, I love Time Is Up,
but I just think Unnatural Selection has more to offer.

Facupm: Definitely worth! Highly recommended for any thrash metal fan, old or new school. Don't get
me wrong, though. If you go into the album expecting another Master of Puppets or Reign in Blood,
you're going to be very disappointed. Just go into the album and have fun with it!

Raisehell: As for the big 4 of "Re-Thrash," the only two bands that I 100% believe are in the new
big 4 would have to be Havok and Warbringer. To be honest, I haven't really been able to get into
other "Re-Thrash" bands that much. From what I hear, though, Municipal Waste and Toxic Holocaust are
really popular, although I am personally not a fan. The di-di-di-di-di-do part was really bad, but
if you liked the first two songs you should like pretty much the rest of the album.

Alachlahol: You should check it out! If you like this album, Time Is Up is worth checking out too.


TheBigLebowski: Yes they are. I'm not sure if Havok is ever going to get a complete stylistic
overhaul.

Mindleviticus: Never listened to Vektor. I'll check them out now though, thanks!

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Mister Twister
June 26th 2013


1815 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I checked the rest of the album, it didn't get better from there for me. I couldn't feel it.

As for the "big 4" if you will, I would say it should be Vektor, Lich King, Warbringer and I don't know who could fit in the last spot. NOTE: I made that based purely on quality, not popularity.

Digging: Rorschach - Protestant

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


20158 Comments


a 1.5 seems a bit low i mean it wasn't awful just more of the same

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


6563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Raisehell: Sorry about that, we all have different tastes in music. I'm never listened to Vektor or
Lich King, but I will be checking them out. And Warbringer is awesome; they rule New School Thrash
along with Havok in my opinion.

Atari: It was a lot of the same stuff Havok has before, but I think Unnatural Selection brings more to
the plate and has more to offer than Time Is Up in my opinion.

bloc
June 26th 2013


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Solid as expected. This band is honestly one of the few genuinely carrying the thrash cross.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


6563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed, Bloc! When Havok promises thrash, they deliver.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


20158 Comments


I'll give it another spin later

KILL
June 26th 2013


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn was hopin for a bloc 4.5

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

bloc
June 26th 2013


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

In time, buddy

Mister Twister
June 26th 2013


1815 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I know 1.5 is harsh, but 2 seemed a bit too lenient. It feels mediocre to me, and unlike Time Is Up, nothing really stood out as good to me. I might have kept it at a 2 if the average rating wasn't a 4.1 at the time.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


6563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fair enough, Raisehell. I'm surprised nothing stood out to you though. Give Me Liberty...or Give Me Death is one the greatest Havok songs ever written in my opinion, up there with Prepare For Attack and DOA.

BlackLlama
June 27th 2013


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm going to channel my inner KILL here. This was horribly boring, and I found myself skipping a lot of tracks trying to find something worthwhile.

BlackLlama
June 27th 2013


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

facupm check out 'Time is Up'. Or even better go check out Angelus Apatrida.

BlackLlama
June 27th 2013


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Shotgun posting..

Witchery and Skeleton Witch are also definitely worth checking out.

Shiduba
June 29th 2013


424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet review, but... Children of the Grave is a Black Sabbath cover... you know that right?

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
June 29th 2013


6563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Shiduba! I knew that, I'd just forgotten. Makes sense though, it doesn't sound like a Havok song. Let me add that into the review.

ViperAces
June 29th 2013


12504 Comments


"the big 4 of Re-Thrash"

god what the hell



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy