Jon Hopkins Immunity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
June 23rd 2013


25089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that one song posted is awesome.

Digging: Carly Rae Jepsen - E MO TION

scissorlocked
June 23rd 2013


3517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Cygnatti



it is featured as AOTY contender in sites as pitchfork or resident advisor, and others too, and is generally a much-talked album in its "genre"



anyway, this is a pretty good record, and despite of me not being amazed, I find it to be subtly composed. It also gives the listener a proper space to breathe, and that is a rare thing too

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2013


10482 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys, especially Sleaper. Been working hard, glad you've noticed!



Scissor, been getting into electronic music more than ever these days.

Yotimi
June 23rd 2013


6771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good thing I judge all my music based on how much it sounds like The Field (which means I like this)

Thanntos
June 24th 2013


329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an amazing record. A grower for sure and possibly climbing to a 4.5

Imperial
June 24th 2013


1742 Comments


It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own. I enjoyed this record a lot.

Lucid
June 24th 2013


7051 Comments


Imaginative review, good job.

Sleaper
June 24th 2013


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is the most atmospheric album this year. Prob will bump this to a 4.5. Album of the year contender for sure

Digging: August Burns Red - Found in Far Away Places

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this one, but I kinda find it overhyped a bit. The production is great and there are some pretty good beats and atmospheres but I feel it's lacking a certain character or a definite vibe that could make it better or more focused.


Spot on

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013


31936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4



surprised nobody's talking about his album insides




Well, what about Opalescent or Contact Note as well? It's pretty fair to say that Pitchfork's review has led to a lot of people checking this guy out now. You just have to hope that they'll actually check out his earlier LPs now



It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own.




Would be interested to know how this made you think of idm. Not having a go, just genuinely curious

Digging: ASC - Imagine The Future

Typhoner
June 24th 2013


932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't come here because of Pitchfork (idk how I came across this) but his album before this one definitely sounds interesting

Digging: ASC - Imagine The Future

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


7506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The influence Pitchfork has on people and their opinions is bordering on unhealthy. I first discovered him through Diamond Mine (love King Creosote). I enjoyed his previous solo records but this is on another level imo.

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum. I discovered this on the latter.

balazs
June 24th 2013


481 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great job on the review! This album one of my favourites this year

treeqt.
June 24th 2013


13965 Comments


I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum.


You should try RYM man.

Digging: Carly Rae Jepsen - E MO TION

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You nuts? I can't even process all the music I want from two sites, let alone I start using a third.

Sleaper
June 24th 2013


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

resident advisor boysssss

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Also that. Forgot about that one.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013


10482 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks dudes.



And what in the world is Resident Advisor?

Typhoner
June 24th 2013


932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a site specializing in reviews/news/events etc. of electronic music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy