Jon Hopkins Immunity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
June 23rd 2013



19946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that one song posted is awesome.

Digging: Lo-Fang - Blue Film

scissorlocked
June 23rd 2013



3479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Cygnatti

it is featured as AOTY contender in sites as pitchfork or resident advisor, and others too, and is generally a much-talked album in its "genre"

anyway, this is a pretty good record, and despite of me not being amazed, I find it to be subtly composed. It also gives the listener a proper space to breathe, and that is a rare thing too

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2013



9464 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys, especially Sleaper. Been working hard, glad you've noticed!

Scissor, been getting into electronic music more than ever these days.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

Yotimi
June 23rd 2013



6269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good thing I judge all my music based on how much it sounds like The Field (which means I like this)

Thanntos
June 24th 2013



306 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an amazing record. A grower for sure and possibly climbing to a 4.5

Imperial
June 24th 2013



1681 Comments


It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own. I enjoyed this record a lot.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013



6956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Imaginative review, good job.

Digging: Wild Beasts - Present Tense

Sleaper
June 24th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is the most atmospheric album this year. Prob will bump this to a 4.5. Album of the year contender for sure

Digging: SpaceGhostPurrp - B.M.W. 2: Intoxxxicated

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this one, but I kinda find it overhyped a bit. The production is great and there are some pretty good beats and atmospheres but I feel it's lacking a certain character or a definite vibe that could make it better or more focused.

Spot on

Digging: Amatorski - From Clay To Figures

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013



30291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4


surprised nobody's talking about his album insides


Well, what about Opalescent or Contact Note as well? It's pretty fair to say that Pitchfork's review has led to a lot of people checking this guy out now. You just have to hope that they'll actually check out his earlier LPs now

It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own.


Would be interested to know how this made you think of idm. Not having a go, just genuinely curious

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Typhoner
June 24th 2013



738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't come here because of Pitchfork (idk how I came across this) but his album before this one definitely sounds interesting

Digging: A Made Up Sound - Night Owl

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013



7224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The influence Pitchfork has on people and their opinions is bordering on unhealthy. I first discovered him through Diamond Mine (love King Creosote). I enjoyed his previous solo records but this is on another level imo.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum. I discovered this on the latter.

balazs
June 24th 2013



478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great job on the review! This album one of my favourites this year

treeqt.
June 24th 2013



7802 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum.


You should try RYM man.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You nuts? I can't even process all the music I want from two sites, let alone I start using a third.

Sleaper
June 24th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

resident advisor boysssss

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Also that. Forgot about that one.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013



9464 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks dudes.

And what in the world is Resident Advisor?

Typhoner
June 24th 2013



738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a site specializing in reviews/news/events etc. of electronic music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy