Jon Hopkins Immunity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
June 23rd 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that one song posted is awesome.

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

scissorlocked
June 23rd 2013


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Cygnatti

it is featured as AOTY contender in sites as pitchfork or resident advisor, and others too, and is generally a much-talked album in its "genre"

anyway, this is a pretty good record, and despite of me not being amazed, I find it to be subtly composed. It also gives the listener a proper space to breathe, and that is a rare thing too

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2013


10211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys, especially Sleaper. Been working hard, glad you've noticed!

Scissor, been getting into electronic music more than ever these days.

Yotimi
June 23rd 2013


6506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good thing I judge all my music based on how much it sounds like The Field (which means I like this)

Digging: Chrome Sparks - Goddess

Thanntos
June 24th 2013


320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an amazing record. A grower for sure and possibly climbing to a 4.5

Imperial
June 24th 2013


1731 Comments


It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own. I enjoyed this record a lot.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


7026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Imaginative review, good job.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Sleaper
June 24th 2013


3393 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is the most atmospheric album this year. Prob will bump this to a 4.5. Album of the year contender for sure

Digging: Thom Yorke - Tomorrow's Modern Boxes

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


6457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this one, but I kinda find it overhyped a bit. The production is great and there are some pretty good beats and atmospheres but I feel it's lacking a certain character or a definite vibe that could make it better or more focused.

Spot on

Digging: Thom Yorke - Tomorrow's Modern Boxes

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013


31218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4


surprised nobody's talking about his album insides


Well, what about Opalescent or Contact Note as well? It's pretty fair to say that Pitchfork's review has led to a lot of people checking this guy out now. You just have to hope that they'll actually check out his earlier LPs now

It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own.


Would be interested to know how this made you think of idm. Not having a go, just genuinely curious

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Typhoner
June 24th 2013


861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't come here because of Pitchfork (idk how I came across this) but his album before this one definitely sounds interesting

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The influence Pitchfork has on people and their opinions is bordering on unhealthy. I first discovered him through Diamond Mine (love King Creosote). I enjoyed his previous solo records but this is on another level imo.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


6457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum. I discovered this on the latter.

balazs
June 24th 2013


481 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great job on the review! This album one of my favourites this year

treeqt.
June 24th 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum.


You should try RYM man.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


6457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You nuts? I can't even process all the music I want from two sites, let alone I start using a third.

Sleaper
June 24th 2013


3393 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

resident advisor boysssss

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


6457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Also that. Forgot about that one.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013


10211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks dudes.

And what in the world is Resident Advisor?

Typhoner
June 24th 2013


861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a site specializing in reviews/news/events etc. of electronic music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy