Jon Hopkins Immunity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
June 23rd 2013


25833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that one song posted is awesome.

Digging: Darkthrone - Goatlord

scissorlocked
June 23rd 2013


3518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Cygnatti



it is featured as AOTY contender in sites as pitchfork or resident advisor, and others too, and is generally a much-talked album in its "genre"



anyway, this is a pretty good record, and despite of me not being amazed, I find it to be subtly composed. It also gives the listener a proper space to breathe, and that is a rare thing too

Digging: Max Graef - Rivers of the Red Planet

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2013


10497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys, especially Sleaper. Been working hard, glad you've noticed!



Scissor, been getting into electronic music more than ever these days.

Digging: bansheebeat - Lumine

Yotimi
June 23rd 2013


6813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good thing I judge all my music based on how much it sounds like The Field (which means I like this)

Digging: The Durutti Column - Vini Reilly

Thanntos
June 24th 2013


329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an amazing record. A grower for sure and possibly climbing to a 4.5

Digging: An Autumn For Crippled Children - The Long Goodbye

Imperial
June 24th 2013


1742 Comments


It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own. I enjoyed this record a lot.

Lucid
June 24th 2013


7066 Comments


Imaginative review, good job.

Sleaper
June 24th 2013


3475 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is the most atmospheric album this year. Prob will bump this to a 4.5. Album of the year contender for sure

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this one, but I kinda find it overhyped a bit. The production is great and there are some pretty good beats and atmospheres but I feel it's lacking a certain character or a definite vibe that could make it better or more focused.


Spot on

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013


32004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4



surprised nobody's talking about his album insides




Well, what about Opalescent or Contact Note as well? It's pretty fair to say that Pitchfork's review has led to a lot of people checking this guy out now. You just have to hope that they'll actually check out his earlier LPs now



It feels like a mix of IDM's greats, yet holds it's own.




Would be interested to know how this made you think of idm. Not having a go, just genuinely curious

Typhoner
June 24th 2013


933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't come here because of Pitchfork (idk how I came across this) but his album before this one definitely sounds interesting

Digging: bansheebeat - Lumine

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2013


7507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The influence Pitchfork has on people and their opinions is bordering on unhealthy. I first discovered him through Diamond Mine (love King Creosote). I enjoyed his previous solo records but this is on another level imo.

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum. I discovered this on the latter.

balazs
June 24th 2013


481 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great job on the review! This album one of my favourites this year

treeqt.
June 24th 2013


14386 Comments


I only go to two places on the internet for music: here and a Dutch forum.


You should try RYM man.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Abyss

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You nuts? I can't even process all the music I want from two sites, let alone I start using a third.

Sleaper
June 24th 2013


3475 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

resident advisor boysssss

clercqie
June 24th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Also that. Forgot about that one.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2013


10497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks dudes.



And what in the world is Resident Advisor?

Typhoner
June 24th 2013


933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a site specializing in reviews/news/events etc. of electronic music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy