letlive. The Blackest Beautiful
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Azn.
July 5th 2013


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Legit 320 on newalbumreleases for all those wondering."



It's not the legit 320. It's a transcode of the stream

Azn.
July 5th 2013


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

all the fakes are around 100-109 mb

iChuckles
July 5th 2013


174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Way too much hyperbole, the review reads as completely subjective with far too much "I was," "I think," etc. The "Jason, you crazy maniac" paragraph completely destroys your credibility for the rest of the review by outright saying "I was so hyped to hear this that I was going to 5 it regardless," not to mention "I've just breezed through the stream ..." indicating that you only listened to the album once, in a bad quality stream, no less, before deciding it's a "Classic." The review uses the word "masterpiece" 3 times, and was submitted when the album had been streaming for about two days.



It's really not a terrible review, and the writing's good, it's just way, way too obviously biased to be taken seriously as a critique of the album."



Aight! I appreciate the feedback!



On that note, you're right, this review IS subjective and yet in spite of the hyperbole, I still stand by every word uttered in this review and I'll happily take the backlash provided it is --as was the case with you-- formal and constructive.



Like I said, many of the reviews out already feature no less hyperbole, I guess given how many shitty post-hardcore bands are currently flooding the scene it's tough not to get overwhelmingly enthusiastic when a band like letlive. swoops along and does it completely right.



I really hope more bands start to allude to this 90's-inspired approach to post-hardcore, but that's just me.

Drummerboy123
July 5th 2013


2683 Comments


"It's not the legit 320. It's a transcode of the stream"

They put (transcode) if it is one. Unless their lying.

Calc
July 5th 2013


14427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

define allude please

Digging: Sithu Aye - Set Course for Andromeda

Azn.
July 5th 2013


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah. they're lying.

TooManyFriends
July 5th 2013


1662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

who cares, the 256 is out now and it sounds fine

Azn.
July 5th 2013


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

where did you find it?

MrElmo
July 5th 2013


1955 Comments


"I really hope more bands start to allude to this 90's-inspired approach to post-hardcore, but that's just me."

This definitly doesn't sounds like Fugazi, Girls Against Boys, Drive Like Jehu or The Jesus Lizards. Stop bullshiting us and yourself mate.

MrElmo
July 5th 2013


1955 Comments


Banshee (Ghost Fame) is amazingly average, thank god the video for it was ridiculous enough for chuckles

iChuckles
July 5th 2013


174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"This definitly doesn't sounds like Fugazi, Girls Against Boys, Drive Like Jehu or The Jesus Lizards. Stop bullshiting us and yourself mate."



"Banshee (Ghost Fame) is amazingly average, thank god the video for it was ridiculous enough for chuckles"



Wow, tough guy here!



Whoever said I meant Fugazi and Drive Like Jehu? This band clearly has a Glassjaw-Refused-At The Drive-In vibe going for it -- all of whom are bands who arose during the mid-to-late 90's.



Quit being a jerk.



Cygnatti
July 5th 2013


28599 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

you said 90s post-hardcore. what is the biggest 90s post-hardcore band (if not refused) then fugazi. I don't think this band particularly sounds like fugazi, but they do rip off from countless other post-hardcore bands.

Drummerboy123
July 5th 2013


2683 Comments


Almost everyone on Sputnik is a jerk Chuckles. Welcome to the site.

People will be elitist and complain over everything and anything.

FearThyEvil
July 5th 2013


14316 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

you said 90s post-hardcore. what is the biggest 90s post-hardcore band (if not refused) then fugazi. I don't think this band particularly sounds like fugazi, but they do rip off from countless other post-hardcore bands.



Fake History sounded so much like Glassjaw. I enjoyed it but damn.

iChuckles
July 5th 2013


174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Almost everyone on Sputnik is a jerk Chuckles. Welcome to the site.



People will be elitist and complain over everything and anything."



'Almost everyone' is generalising a bit, but yeah, I see your point!



JesusaurusRex
July 5th 2013


63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's only generalizing if it's not true.

Azn.
July 5th 2013


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't understand how you can give this a 5 but ALLB a 4

Calc
July 5th 2013


14427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so you dont know what allude means?

iChuckles
July 5th 2013


174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I don't understand how you can give this a 5 but ALLB a 4"



Well, then that simply means our opinions don't align to a hundred-percent (:



But yeah, both two of the greatest post-hardcore albums I've heard in years, can't wat for ALLB's sophomore this fall!



FearThyEvil
July 5th 2013


14316 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

ALLB should be a 5? lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy