Kanye West Yeezus
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
loveisamixtape
July 27th 2013


7077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

right

someguest
July 27th 2013


27009 Comments


Kanye knows how to rap about as well as loveisamixtape knows when to stop wiping.

You stink, dude!

loveisamixtape
July 27th 2013


7077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah dude i got that circular motion down you must be smelling your jokes

Gyromania
July 27th 2013


20736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i hate the media reaction to this

Ricochet
July 27th 2013


2566 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Grate album

Aids
July 27th 2013


24256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"i hate the media reaction to this "



^^^^^^

loveisamixtape
July 27th 2013


7077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"i hate the media reaction to this"



the gushing or the hating because there's a lot of both

Aids
July 27th 2013


24256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

exactly. both are equally annoying, though the hating is much more understandable and justifiable.





Aids
July 27th 2013


24256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Album Rating: 3.5 - Great"

Gwyn.
July 27th 2013


16724 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"though the hating is much more understandable and justifiable."



how

DirEnRefused
July 27th 2013


2937 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how


confirmation bias.

Gyromania
July 27th 2013


20736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"though the hating is much more understandable and justifiable."



how






because this is contrived and pretentious. i say pretentious because it really sounds, to me, like

kanye mixing genres for the sake of sounding more worldly than his contemporaries and refusing to

make another huge album like mbdtf solely because it's what's expected of him. the end result is him

alienating people who loved his last album for being so eccentric and grandiose by presenting us

with something intentionally difficult. the lyrics are the least compelling he's ever written, and

the music imitates death grips and other hip hop/industrial artists who came long before him, making

the media reaction - comments like "truly unlike anything else" - all the more frustrating (i get

this is indirectly kanye's fault if anything, but it's pretty blatant that he thinks he's created

something super individualistic). this is going to be remembered and mentioned in the future as

being a huge influences on artists' sound, even though, again, to me, it doesn't sound like kanye is

charting new territory here, and it's incredibly unfair to other artists whose contributions to the

genre have been grossly overlooked. it feels so forced to me, like he's trying too hard to redefine

himself, resulting in some high-art computerized drivel. he does what a lot of rising stars do: try

to constantly surprise their audience, but it just sounds to me like kanye forgot how to have fun

through the process of trying to reinvent his sound.





conversely, there are some great musical moments here, like the gorgeous last minute of new slaves

where i think, 'here's the emotionally naked side of kanye i know and love.' he's capable of making

lovely, catchy music when he isn't trying to reinvent himself, but this just reeks of pretension.

send it up is seriously one of the worst songs ever, and i cannot look past the blatant reznor

admiring. though there are good moments wedged in, i can't justify listening to really grating songs

just to get to cool little outros (new slaves, hold my liquor). and the most ironically perverse

thing about this album is that bound 2 is the final track, because it's so obviously a retreat to

his older sound, so it sounds so out of context on the album (but still indefinitely the best song

here). this just isn't for me, and i don't in the slightest understand how some critics are finding

it his most accessible work.

Cygnatti
July 27th 2013


29514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's not his most accessible work, it's by far his least accessible work

Gyromania
July 27th 2013


20736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the overtly sexual themes are off-putting if only because kanye has no tact here, and 'abrasive' beats aren't so much abrasive as they are inanely boring. dammit, my super long comment was at the bottom of the page and now it's gone

Cygnatti
July 27th 2013


29514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

his other work is extremely accessible. every one of his other albums are pop rap at their core except 808s which is synth pop.



the least accessible kanye isn't necessarily inacessible, it's still kanye we're talking about, lakes.

guitarded_chuck
July 27th 2013


8439 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

not accessible =/= not good



see: most music

Cygnatti
July 27th 2013


29514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"not accessible =/= not good"



no one here ever made that argument.



and yeah, I dig the beats here too, most of them anyways. and bound 2 is awesome, I don't mind that it's reminiscent of his old work, but I've noticed that other bands have done so with closers, and I tend to really like those closers.

Gwyn.
July 27th 2013


16724 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

because this is contrived and pretentious. i say pretentious because it really sounds, to me, like

kanye mixing genres for the sake of sounding more worldly than his contemporaries and refusing to

make another huge album like mbdtf solely because it's what's expected of him.




This has always been the case for Kanye. He has said in a couple of instances that he mixes styles into his music simply because he can and he thinks it's fun. I agree, however, with what (I believe) you try to tell me: He seemed to pour a lot more into his last two albums than this one, it seemed a lot more personal and it seemed more like he was using these styles to prove his point rather than showoff. Coming from that, it can be pretty grating, to an extent



the end result is him

alienating people who loved his last album for being so eccentric and grandiose by presenting us

with something intentionally difficult. the lyrics are the least compelling he's ever written, and

the music imitates death grips and other hip hop/industrial artists who came long before him, making

the media reaction - comments like "truly unlike anything else" - all the more frustrating




Firstly, I can't really understand when people say this is hard and difficult to get into

Baring a couple of songs and the occassional moment, I don't really find this all that more difficult to get into than, say, Runaway or Blame Game. I guess I could kind of see their analogy: The songs are slower and are more "barren" here, but I think it's presented in a poppy enough style to appeal to most people. That's just me, though.

Secondly, this point links directly with what I just said. A part of me would be inclined to agree with that reaction, to a certain extent (though certainly not completely). It's true a lot of this was done in the past, but again, I think the way is presented here is a lot more appealing and less "purposely" difficult as is presented in Death Grips' case (Note: I hate Death Grips, so I can't really speak without bias hahaha). I can definitely see why some would find it frustrating, though.



continued in other comment



Gwyn.
July 27th 2013


16724 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it feels so forced to me, like he's trying too hard to redefine

himself, resulting in some high-art computerized drivel. he does what a lot of rising stars do: try



to constantly surprise their audience, but it just sounds to me like kanye forgot how to have fun.





I partly agree with this, and at the same time I don't.

It's true, it really does feel like he's striving to go for something that changes his musical name

for good, and it's difficult to see whether he's trying too hard or not hard enough (he did, after

all, write like 3 songs in a period of around 3 hours. if that doesn't say "I don't care", I don't

know what does). But I don't really think he's forcing himself to do so, I think he is having a lot

of fun, especially during his performances in Black Skinhead, which to me sound like the most fun

Kanye has had since probably See Me Now (bonus track from Mbdtf) or even Late Registration.



Rest of the points are totally opinionated on the music, so no comment, but I do see where you come

from in most of your points. Still, I don't think either the gushing or the hating is more justified

than the other, at least about the music. the hating would be more justified against Kanye for not

caring/caring too much, if anything.

Gyromania
July 27th 2013


20736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

gwynbleidd: fair points. what's odd to me is how many genres mbdtf throws at the wall without ever coming across as pretentious or overstuffed. that album i can happily concede is revolutionary without ever compromising accessibility. it's so weird that something as emotionally raw as blame game could be on the same album as something as tribal and upbeat as lost in the world, or something as loungy and seductive as devil in a new dress, and yet it all works amazingly well together.



for the record, i don't find this incredibly difficult to get into (although it's pretty far from enjoyable to me because of how aggressively challenging it tries to be), i'm more so saying it's difficult when compared to his other stuff, and considering the general expectations of his fans.



good that my comment got at least one response lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy